PDA

View Full Version : Any way to get SSAO working w/ the new drivers with an 8 series GPU?


3DBrad
04-10-09, 06:27 PM
Anyway to get the SSAO (screen-space ambient occlusion) to work w/ the 8-series GPU?
http://www.nzone.com/object/nzone_ambientocclusion_home.html
:D

The Who
04-11-09, 11:42 AM
I'm not 100% but you could try downloading one of the 185's and use a modded inf file that supports the 8 Series (this will allow you to install the driver) and see if you can enable it and use it.

esir
04-11-09, 12:17 PM
If you gonna try custom driver,this one is not bad.
there you go

http://www.laptopvideo2go.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=23676

Slayblaze
04-20-09, 06:12 PM
If you gonna try custom driver,this one is not bad.
there you go

http://www.laptopvideo2go.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=23676

Yep, that works perfectly - and yes the ambient occlusion option is present in the cp and works great on my 8800GTS 640MB (G80). Tested it so far in HL2, UT3, WoW and TF2 and it works beautifully with only a small performance hit in UT3 and TF2. No performance hit at all in HL2 and WoW, maybe because they use an older engine than the others.

Reynaldo
04-23-09, 10:52 PM
I couldn't get AO working, I went as far as flashing my 8800GT's BIOS to a 9800GT. The AO can be enabled in the CP, but it's not working in the games.

esir
04-24-09, 06:57 PM
I couldn't get AO working, I went as far as flashing my 8800GT's BIOS to a 9800GT. The AO can be enabled in the CP, but it's not working in the games.

Are tried the modded driver?

Reynaldo
04-24-09, 11:49 PM
Yup, tried the drivers posted here, and AO is only working for me in Lost Planet and DMC4, in DX10 mode. Tried also Fallout 3, Dead Space and Fear 2, but it's not working.

maciekish
01-11-10, 04:37 AM
For those who couldnt get it to work, i found that in World of Warcraft i myself was the problem. I run windowed mode and maximize the window as soon as i launch WoW and thats what breaks it. Either keep the pre-set window size or run full screen and you will get SSAO on the 8800GTS 512!

I found this after three hours of driver hacking and bios flashing.................:thumbdwn:

NaitoSan
01-13-10, 05:40 PM
It didn't work quite right for me so I went to set it via profile for specific games that supports AO. It works now.

keLston
01-15-10, 03:47 PM
No performance hit at all in HL2 and WoW, maybe because they use an older engine than the others.

How do you manage to get it without a performance hit?

I remember when it was first introduced, I tried it and it was a huge performance hit. So based on your post alone, I figured maybe they did it better now so I tried it in WoW.

I went from 40fps in Dalaran to 17fps. I think that's a pretty substantial performance hit.