View Full Version : Fear Series Question

04-15-09, 09:34 AM
Hey folks,
Was thinking of picking up FEAR and wanted to verify the series layout.

1. F.E.A.R. First Encounter Assault Recon
2. F.E.A.R. Extraction Point
3. F.E.A.R. Perseus Mandate
4. F.E.A.R. 2: Project Origin

Should they also be played in that order to get the story?

Thanks in advanced

04-15-09, 10:11 AM
2 and 3 were done by a different studio and when the original studio got it back for #4, I believe they decided to ignore the ones they didn't do, so I think there are two story arcs: 1, 2, 3 and 1, 4.

04-15-09, 10:29 AM
That is correct, however extraction point and perseus mandate are not part of the intended storyline. Therefore, none of the events in those two games ever took place in the FEAR universe. So the story starts from FEAR 1 and at the moment ends at FEAR 2.

04-15-09, 12:41 PM
avoid 2 and 3, quite bad

04-15-09, 01:09 PM
Yeah, I wouldn't bother with the expansion since they are more of the same and non-cannon. If anything they ruin the story, in my opinion.

Just play FEAR and FEAR 2.

04-15-09, 02:06 PM
Extraction point was good.

04-15-09, 02:30 PM
Extraction Point was OK. Perseus Mandate was absolutely horrible. It was like a bad mod, which is funny since the same studio did Extraction Point.

Just play F.E.A.R. and F.E.A.R. 2. Both have their issues, but they're both good.

04-15-09, 02:46 PM
Extraction was cool.

Mandate was awful