PDA

View Full Version : can't run pc3200 DDR memory with 3000+ XP


munkeyu4
06-11-03, 10:53 AM
I just bought a 3000+ XP cpu and 512mb of Cosair pc3200 and i can't run the memory at 400mhz, it stays at 333mhz. I have an Abit KD7-g motherboard. I found this site where they test Cosair pc3500 in the same motherboard http://www.overclockercafe.com/Reviews/cooling/Tt_Giant_II/pg_3.html. I don't know whats the deal.Could someone tell me why its doing this?

madthumbs
06-11-03, 11:03 AM
Mine's running at 400. Not sure what your bios settings are, but have you tried running at "speed", or "user defined"?

|JuiceZ|
06-12-03, 09:01 PM
When was the last time you updated yer bios? Most boards currently out that do support 400mhz cpu's are via a recent bios, not sure if you checked that yet....

Dazz
06-15-03, 04:39 AM
Are you sure you an't setting you FSB to 400MHz? If so then you computer won't boot for 2 reasons, 1 CPU clock is way to high, 2 KT400's can't handle such a high FSB they top out about 185MHz & can't even hit 200MHz like the nForce boards.

jAkUp
06-15-03, 12:23 PM
rememeber to set the memory to 200mhz... not actually 400... since ddr doubles the number, 200mhz is actually 400mhz

Dazz
06-15-03, 03:21 PM
Yeah but 400MHz looks better then 200Mhz :D but yeah i ment 200MHz FSB