PDA

View Full Version : The Witcher and Windows 7


musman
05-13-09, 01:27 PM
I can't run The Witcher on Windows 7RC. I get a message that says some driver is not compatible with this version of Windows. It looks like some kind of CD key protection driver?

Anyone else have this trouble?

LurkerLito
05-13-09, 02:31 PM
IIRC if you have the non-Enhanced Edition based Witcher game then the one on the disc runs TAGES or something copy protection. If you go to the Witcher site and get the Enhanced edition version patch it will remove the tages protection.

musman
05-13-09, 03:06 PM
IIRC if you have the non-Enhanced Edition based Witcher game then the one on the disc runs TAGES or something copy protection. If you go to the Witcher site and get the Enhanced edition version patch it will remove the tages protection.

I have the patch downloaded but it will not let me install it. I just get the same message :(

yehuda
05-13-09, 06:21 PM
Running fine here, just make sure you update the tages driver:
http://www.tagesprotection.com/main.htm?page=minimum.htm

357MAG
01-08-11, 02:55 PM
I have tried everything i read and still cant get it to work. You would think if so many people are haveing this problem it would e easy to fix but that is not the case so if anyone could help me plez let me know. It tells me it is incompatible, i have windows 7 and i went thru all the steps to run it in the right mode and evey setting it trys i get the same results PLEZ HELP

ViN86
01-08-11, 06:40 PM
I have tried everything i read and still cant get it to work. You would think if so many people are haveing this problem it would e easy to fix but that is not the case so if anyone could help me plez let me know. It tells me it is incompatible, i have windows 7 and i went thru all the steps to run it in the right mode and evey setting it trys i get the same results PLEZ HELP

You've installed the TAGES driver, as instructed to in the post above yours?

Alternatively, assuming you purchased the game legally, you could contact tech support and I'm sure they would help you fix your problem.

weevil
01-09-11, 08:34 AM
Mus make sure you're running all executables and shortcuts under the Compatibility options (right-click on the executable you're running (witcher.exe or something) - maybe compatibility with Win98. This advice is for all programs and applications you're running under Win7

Then run the program/executable/batch file with the Run As Admin(istrator) option, right-click again on the executable for that important option

UAC can be disabled too if you're au fait with security

Albo
01-09-11, 08:50 AM
Sorry, this isn't really helpful, but this thread is pretty popular. 20,000 views. I think it's 1st in google for this problem. :thumbsup:

Johnny C
01-09-11, 09:58 AM
To solve the tages problem go to the tages website, install the x64 or 32 driver, then go to control panel and uninstall it.(don't ask me why this works, it just does)

This will solve the issue with TAGES.

In order to install the enhanced edition patch, the directors cut, or any of the awesome free stuff they include you need a cd key and an electronically registered copy of the game.

If you purchased the witcher and didn't receive a CD key, like me. I had to contact tech support, explain the situation, and get a key from them.

If you can't install the patch...chances are you don't have a registered copy. Simply register your legally obtained copy of the witcher and you will be able to install the EE patch. Also keep in mind that the EE patch requires you to downloads both the EE patch and a language file before it will install.

GL

ViN86
01-09-11, 11:47 AM
Just so people know, this thread is almost 2 years old. I don't know if musman fixed his problem or not, but 357MAG has not fixed his.

weevil
01-09-11, 01:09 PM
this thread is almost 2 years old

Older than Win7

He must have known something :)

Johnny C
01-09-11, 01:50 PM
this thread is almost 2 years old

Older than Win7

He must have known something :)

Windows 7 RC.....

weevil
01-10-11, 08:11 AM
Trust you to put the dampeners on I was working towards a Nostrodamus theme :)

musman
01-11-11, 11:10 AM
Yes I have fixed this problem. Don't remember how, but I did. Probably a mix of getting Windows 7 Ultmate and buying The Witcher through STEAM. I originally got this game from purchasing a video card on newegg. STEAM had it on sale for $5-6 so I just purchased it.

Earnestlatty
01-27-11, 12:48 PM
SOULUTION FOR RUNNING THE WITCHER ON WINDOWS 7

The problem is not with the game client or windows 7, it is the copy protection software used on the game. if you update the copy protection to 64-bit it should work.

The game uses Tages their site is http://www.tagesprotection.com/main.htm update this driver then run as administrator without any compatibility modes active, and if it says anything about the disk not being found click try again and it should open the game.

UziUzi
05-15-11, 10:09 AM
IIRC if you have the non-Enhanced Edition based Witcher game then the one on the disc runs TAGES or something copy protection. If you go to the Witcher site and get the Enhanced edition version patch it will remove the tages protection.

Incorrect.
I had a copy of Witcher I had purchased some time ago that was never installed.
I opened the package the other day to install it.
Installed from disk.
Went to upgrade to 1.4 .
Installer informs me I must register first before 1.4 patch will install.
I run the game exe to register.
I provided email and login and pass.
Waited two days. No email. Checked spam folders at gmail. Nothing.
I go to the Witcher.com to find help. Nothing of use for Witcher 1 there. See for yourself. No support. NO registration page. NOthing.

I tried to register again via the game launcher means. Now the client says can not contact
the web site (or words to that effect).

I am not going to go to some jack ass Tages site and install at admin level some god forsaken unknown crap to get around this clusterfck of a install.

THe CORRECT solution, for me, is to throw the GD disk and package in the garbage and
to tell the devs of Witcher 2 to fck off and die. I mean it. Die.
No way I will buy that package after this horse ****.

I WAS looking forward to trying witcher. I had heard good things but had never got around
to installing it.
Well. I'm sure some wise ass will have another useless solution out there.
Mine is far cleaner.

Ignore Witcher2 and trash the old disk and eat the dollars. I'm sure the Russian mafia won't give a **** anyway.

UziUzi
05-15-11, 10:20 AM
I have tried everything i read and still cant get it to work. You would think if so many people are haveing this problem it would e easy to fix but that is not the case so if anyone could help me plez let me know. It tells me it is incompatible, i have windows 7 and i went thru all the steps to run it in the right mode and evey setting it trys i get the same results PLEZ HELP

The problem is not you. It is this game and the devs behind it.

I just went thru a nightmare and my solution was to toss the DVD and package in the trash. That is the most expedient solution.

I'm not a computing moron. I've been building my own PC computers and maintaining them since the early 80's when the hot thing was a 8088 turbo at 12mhz with a massive 640KB RAM running some incarnation of MSDOS or DIgital Research DRDOS. I do all my OS installs, I FIX all my issues over the years. If I have a problem I research it on the net when I have to.

Over the years I've come across software that can require heroic efforts to make work, and sometimes it was worth it. I can spend countless hours puzzling things out.

The install on this game and upgrade path AS OF THIS WRITING is the among the worst
I've seen in the 20 plus years of my computer era life. (I'm old).
As of this writing you can't even attempt to register Witcher as the servers refuse connection. I had managed to get the client to contact them the other day but never got
any emails from them (yes I had double checked to use correct email and tried twice that day).
I would have loved to try the game, really. I only tried to install due to the imminent
release of Witcher 2 and wanted to see what the fuss had been about Witcher 1 before I purchased W2 via Steam.

Well, bottom line is Witcher 2 boys lost a sale. Learned my lesson.


I suggest anyone else that had problems with this do the same. Sink them. They do not deserve your dollars.

Peoples-Agent
05-15-11, 02:57 PM
I've been playing the Steam version without problems. Really enjoying it, never had the pleasure when it first came out.

LurkerLito
05-15-11, 07:04 PM
I am not going to go to some jack ass Tages site and install at admin level some god forsaken unknown crap to get around this clusterfck of a install.

The patch requires you to have a valid activated Witcher install, that cannot be done in Win7 x64 and probably Win7 x32 without the newer tages driver as the one included on the disc was pre-Win7. The registration is irrelevant, that should probably read "activated" and not "registered". Tages is removed by the patch but with the disc version at least, it must be installed and activated before the patch.

The steam version has been stripped of Tages already and only has Steam DRM now. The one offered for sale now for $5 on GoG is completely DRM free from the start. I am not sure how the other digital distributors are doing it though. I already bought the GoG version so I have a DRM free version of the game that won't require tages to be installed and activated albeit temporarily till the patch removes it when I install the game again at a later date.

FastRedPonyCar
05-24-11, 03:31 PM
Hi all, new to this forum, first post here!

I was facing the same "Tages Protection" problem with "The Witcher" and Windows 7. Came here looking for a solution but did not find one. However, i found some clues as to how to solve the problem. And yes, now I am able to run the game. [I have an Enhanced version of the game by SkidRow].

Heres how to do it --

1. Update the Tages Protection driver to the latest version here (http://www.tagesprotection.com/5.5/TagesSetup.exe).

2. If you have the same version that i do, (The Witcher Enhanced Edition by SkidRow), inside the second disc you will find a folder called "SkidRow". Inside, you will find a file called "witched". Just copy the file and go to the directory where you have game installed. Inside, you will have a folder called "System". Inside there will be a similar file called "witcher". Just paste the copied file here (You will be asked if you want to replace the existing file or keep both files -- choose replace).

3. Run the game!

Viola! It works! Njoy!

Annnd enjoy your vacation (lee)


THE GAME IS FIVE F-ING DOLLARS FROM GOG!!!! FIVE DOLLARS Who in the **** pirates a 5 dollar game.. .especially one that's as good as the witcher!?!

HiCZoK4
05-25-11, 03:45 AM
Its great game. Ive just reinstalled my Enchanced edition which is 1,4 stock version. So all I needed to do was to install 1,5 patch from the official Withcer site and it works great. I still have the same pc as on release day but game works like 3times faster and loading isnt taking 9999999seconds like it did.

Also I found that cutscenes and dialog are blurred. This is a bug caused by Lighting option. Just tune it down

FastRedPonyCar
05-25-11, 08:27 AM
I need to go update to 1.5. Teh version I got from amazon's digital download was 1.4 something.

The BIGGEST COMPLAINT though is that I can see lens flares through walls. torches and most annoyingly, the SUN I can see through the ground.

I have no idea how to fix it and it really bums me out because it's a huge distraction. I tried setting the SLI alternate rendering mode to "2" which I read fixed it for some people but not on mine. didn't try rendering mode 1 yet though.

:(

HiCZoK4
05-25-11, 09:20 AM
Just get that 1,5 patch
http://www.en.thewitcher.com/the-witcher/1/
it might help.