PDA

View Full Version : Win 7 - annoying/weird CRT problem


Pages : [1] 2

j0j081
05-23-09, 08:22 AM
Until I decide on what new lcd I want (sold the one I had) I'm stuck using an old 19 inch Samsung CRT which despite it's lack of screen space looks pretty good for gaming and whatnot. Due to some eyestrain problems I've been having while reading in Vista I run it at 1024x768 and all is fine and dandy. When I try to do this in Win 7, something really weird happens. It draws my 1024x768 desktop inside of the 1280x1024 resolution my CRT is meant to be used at with black bars around the whole thing. I haven't been able to find any setting to adjust this. Therefore I've been forced to run 7 at a higher resolution than I'd like and increase my font size instead. This is working okay but I feel I should be able to use my CRT like I do in Vista. Any ideas? I have the latest driver. Thanks.

GitDat
05-23-09, 11:18 PM
Until I decide on what new lcd I want (sold the one I had) I'm stuck using an old 19 inch Samsung CRT which despite it's lack of screen space looks pretty good for gaming and whatnot. Due to some eyestrain problems I've been having while reading in Vista I run it at 1024x768 and all is fine and dandy. When I try to do this in Win 7, something really weird happens. It draws my 1024x768 desktop inside of the 1280x1024 resolution my CRT is meant to be used at with black bars around the whole thing. I haven't been able to find any setting to adjust this. Therefore I've been forced to run 7 at a higher resolution than I'd like and increase my font size instead. This is working okay but I feel I should be able to use my CRT like I do in Vista. Any ideas? I have the latest driver. Thanks.

I have this same type of problems in games on my CRT. It maxes out my resolution on the monitor but runs the set resolution in a window.. sort of :headexplode: Strange.

j0j081
05-25-09, 09:16 AM
hopefully someone has a fix for this. it is the main reason I haven't switched to 7 full time.

bmg
05-26-09, 04:20 PM
I had the same problem with with my Mitsubishi 2070SB. Dropping back to the 182.50 drivers fixed the problem for me.

In my case my monitor was "stuck" at 1600x1200. For awhile 1280x960 would be "scaled" and look terrible. I'd see 1280x960 as the selected res in win 7, but the OSD of my crt would verify it was still running at 1600x1200. Then for some reason it flipped to "unscaled" and just showed the 1280x960 in the middle of the display.

j0j081
05-27-09, 09:08 AM
okay maybe I'll try those thanks.

Sazar
05-27-09, 06:02 PM
When I had my old CRT's way back in the day, occasionally this would happen.

I would have to manually scale the display, not sure if that works for you.

j0j081
05-29-09, 09:37 AM
I had the same problem with with my Mitsubishi 2070SB. Dropping back to the 182.50 drivers fixed the problem for me.



those worked for me to! :)

GitDat
06-02-09, 11:54 PM
182.50 works for my CRT but now I can't use NVIDIA 3D Vision on my LCD :( doh lol

sillyeagle
06-03-09, 09:18 PM
I've got this problem as well, however I also created a fix. You have to go to the NV CP and set a custom resolution. The key is to check the box to allow non standard resolutions. The only down side is that in order to select the custom resolution you must do it by opening the CP, and through the Windows control.

bmg
06-05-09, 04:14 PM
Anyone know if the 186.08 drivers still have this problem?

j0j081
06-05-09, 05:53 PM
Anyone know if the 186.08 drivers still have this problem?

that is what I'd like to know to because the fix above didn't work so I'm stuck using the older drivers.

bmg
06-06-09, 12:54 AM
186.08 has the same crt problems as the 185's.

j0j081
06-06-09, 05:00 AM
186.08 has the same crt problems as the 185's.

lame. I'm pretty sure this proves it is Nvidia's fault. How do you report a bug I guess we better cause not many people use CRTs now so who knows if they'll fix it on their own.

GitDat
07-25-09, 12:40 PM
Even the latest NVIDIA 190.38 drivers don't fix this CRT resolution crap :mad: How long does it take? The only working drivers that i know of are still the 182.50 :thumbdwn:

Mathesar
07-30-09, 06:59 AM
Win 7 CRT support is pretty wacky it thinks the native res on my CRT is 2304x1440 (Which is the max supported resolution) but I haven't had any problems changing it to whatever resolution. (currently using 190.38 drivers & Win 7 RC 7100)

Cant you just go to Custom resolutions and setup a res you want? I was able to add 1600x1000 @ 85hz without any issues, Ive been using this as my desktop resolution lately.

http://ded.zenblue.net/FW900/Win7_FW900_Customres.jpg

bmg
07-30-09, 04:20 PM
The problem isn't that you can't pick a lower resolution, the problem is that when you do that the CRT's still running at what it thinks it's "native" res is and the drivers are just scaling down, so nothing looks "sharp".

I've worked around this, but it can be moderately complicated to do. Basically the nvidia drivers are reading the EDID info from the CRT and getting what it considers to be it's native resolution from that. I made a couple of mods to my CRT's EDID info using an Override in the drivers before the driver install. Basically I changed the "native" res to 1280x960 from 1600x1200. When I set a resolution above the "native" it handles it fine without scaling. If I pick something below "native" the drivers still scale. If I cared about anything below 1280x960 I'd set the "native" res lower in the EDID override. I like to run my desktop at 1280x960 (old eyes) and games at 1280x960 or 1600x1200.

I also force my 1280x960 and 1600x1200 resolutions to only have a refresh rate of 85hz, with no other options available. I could go higher, but I'm used to 85hz. This was a combination of another EDID override (getting rid of the 75hz there) and setting 1280x960,8,16,32,64 1600x1200,8,16,32,64=8055; in the drivers. That sets 85hz. I also had 75hz for 1600x1200 showing up until I changed 1600x1200x75hz to 1600x1200x85hz in the EDID info.

I learned enough to do this mostly from Blahman's posts on [H]ardOCP and baarod and bobdynlan's posts on sevenforums.

Mathesar
07-30-09, 05:27 PM
The problem isn't that you can't pick a lower resolution, the problem is that when you do that the CRT's still running at what it thinks it's "native" res is and the drivers are just scaling down, so nothing looks "sharp".



Hm thats odd because when I push the OSD button on my CRT its showing whatever resolution & refresh I have it set to, so its not doing any scaling here. It looks blurry at first if Win 7 chooses the wrong refresh rate when I switch resolutions but thats it.

bmg
07-30-09, 05:32 PM
Hm thats odd because when I push the OSD button on my CRT its showing whatever resolution & refresh I have it set to, so its not doing any scaling here. It looks blurry at first if Win 7 chooses the wrong refresh rate when I switch resolutions but thats it.

Cool. When I pick a resolution lower than "native" the OSD always showed the CRT was still actually running at 1600x1200, which was consistent with the fuzzy, scaled look I was seeing. Hopefully nvidia eventually fixes whatever's wrong. The current drivers are fine with Vista 64, and the 182.50's were fine with Win7. Current (190.38) drivers are fine in Win7 with my EDID override.

I've worked around the issue, but hopefully there's a long term fix.

j0j081
07-31-09, 04:32 AM
yeah sucks I installed the newest drivers last weekend and was surprised they hadn't fixed it yet.

GitDat
09-06-09, 09:51 AM
This is STILL a problem even in the RTM version and latest NVIDIA drivers! :rant:

GitDat
10-07-09, 04:42 PM
The problem isn't that you can't pick a lower resolution, the problem is that when you do that the CRT's still running at what it thinks it's "native" res is and the drivers are just scaling down, so nothing looks "sharp".

I've worked around this, but it can be moderately complicated to do. Basically the nvidia drivers are reading the EDID info from the CRT and getting what it considers to be it's native resolution from that. I made a couple of mods to my CRT's EDID info using an Override in the drivers before the driver install. Basically I changed the "native" res to 1280x960 from 1600x1200. When I set a resolution above the "native" it handles it fine without scaling. If I pick something below "native" the drivers still scale. If I cared about anything below 1280x960 I'd set the "native" res lower in the EDID override. I like to run my desktop at 1280x960 (old eyes) and games at 1280x960 or 1600x1200.

I also force my 1280x960 and 1600x1200 resolutions to only have a refresh rate of 85hz, with no other options available. I could go higher, but I'm used to 85hz. This was a combination of another EDID override (getting rid of the 75hz there) and setting 1280x960,8,16,32,64 1600x1200,8,16,32,64=8055; in the drivers. That sets 85hz. I also had 75hz for 1600x1200 showing up until I changed 1600x1200x75hz to 1600x1200x85hz in the EDID info.

I learned enough to do this mostly from Blahman's posts on [H]ardOCP and baarod and bobdynlan's posts on sevenforums.

How do you modify the monitor's EDID? I thought I could just wait it out for driver updates but I can wait no more! :headexplode:

emig5m
10-31-09, 10:58 PM
I agree with everyone - I hate the problems with CRT monitors and Windows 7/Nvidia drivers. I'm currently using the 182.05 with not much hassle and they let me choose 100Hz refresh. I'm using a 21" Sony Trinitron that I paid $700 for and it still works like brand new after all these years. I have no problem spending money, hell I spent $10,000 in home theater speakers alone within the last year, but I also won't throw a perfectly working monitor away. I hope future drivers add in more features and compatibility for CRT monitors. If one set of drivers can do it, why not all? I love the value of some nvidia hardware (like the 8800GT), but their drivers can really annoy you sometimes... Broken feature, this not working, that not working. What I learned from nvidia from using them for the past nine years is that you'll find one in twenty drivers where everything just works on your system, and then after that, it's always downhill from there. And strangely enough, it's the WHQL drivers that normally break more features and lower image quality and performance for me.

pakotlar
11-08-09, 11:44 AM
This is the most annoying problem ever. Completely unnecessary. Why the **** is nvidia using LCD scaling on my GWD-FW900? I switched from BNC cables to VGA and booted up Crysis. Looked AWFUL @ 1680 * 1050. Just a blurry mess.

GitDat
11-08-09, 02:25 PM
This is the most annoying problem ever. Completely unnecessary. Why the **** is nvidia using LCD scaling on my GWD-FW900? I switched from BNC cables to VGA and booted up Crysis. Looked AWFUL @ 1680 * 1050. Just a blurry mess.

I hear ya man. I've tried creating an account on the nvidia website so I could email them about this CRT crap but I can't even get that to work! lol

pakotlar
11-10-09, 03:49 PM
I fixed the CRT issue. PM me for more details. It involves hard modding your DVI-I connector to remove DDC signaling to your nvidia card.

1) Remove nvidia driver, shut down

2) Bend the 2nd pin of first row of the DVI-I connector, down to the floor, making sure it isn't shorting other pins

3)Reboot

The device should now be detected as Non-PnP device. Reinstall your driver of choice. Reboot. Then install the default Microsoft provided driver for your monitor. Reboot.

Now try setting custom resolutions. It should replace whatever resolutions they have with the refresh that you set for that res in custom. Play with the refresh rate settings. Sometimes when it fails to set a certain res/refresh, a non-integer refresh will work.

For example: On my FW900 @ 2304*1440, 80 hz, 79hz didn't work, 81 made my monitor go out of range, but 80.5hz worked, and custom resolution was resolved.

Tested on 186.18, with VGA cable, DVI-I adapter connected to a GDM-FW900.