PDA

View Full Version : Question regarding Windows Upgrade


Medion
06-27-09, 01:55 PM
I currently run Vista Ultimate (32-bit) OEM. I plan to move to Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit. I know that you cannot do an in place upgrade from 32 to 64. However, I wanted to do a clean format and install anyway.

When you purchase the upgrade version, what does it do to verify that you own the previous version? What are the limitations? I would rather get the Windows 7 Home Premium $49.99 discounted price, over the $199.99 retail price, if at all possible.

nekrosoft13
06-27-09, 02:27 PM
you can only go from concurrent versions, meaning from ultimate 64 to ultimate 64, hp 32 to hp 32 etc...

so you are going to run into two issues, 1, 32/64 bit and diffrent versions. Upgrade process requires previous OS to be already installed.

but there is a simple workaround. Buy what ever version of Win7 you want. Install that version on your PC, clean install. When installer ask for CD-Key, don't enter it, on next screen choose the correct version. When installer is done, insert the DVD again and select upgrade. Then enter your CD-Key, and do the install process again.

That is the only way.

betterdan
06-27-09, 05:25 PM
but there is a simple workaround. Buy what ever version of Win7 you want. Install that version on your PC, clean install. When installer ask for CD-Key, don't enter it, on next screen choose the correct version. When installer is done, insert the DVD again and select upgrade. Then enter your CD-Key, and do the install process again.

That is the only way.

Are you positive this works and how do you know it works like that for Win 7? I believe that's how it worked for Vista but it may have changed with the Windows 7.



Edit: I did find this link which supports wht you said
http://community.winsupersite.com/blogs/paul/archive/2009/06/25/clean-install-with-windows-7-upgrade-media-what-about-x64-upgrades.aspx

nekrosoft13
06-27-09, 07:02 PM
yes it will work

Proff
06-29-09, 10:01 PM
I have read a lot about Win7 upgrade and doing a clean install. I am starting to get confused. Right now I am running Win7 RC on my Computer. Does this mean that I will have to reinstall Vista Home Premium to use the upgrade or will this work the same as the install of a Vista upgrade install? You install Vista upgrade on a bare drive then reinstall again only using the install key. If this can't be done then I am going to wait and get the retail version of Win7.