PDA

View Full Version : Finally can upgrade and it feels great!


marqmajere
07-10-09, 04:46 AM
Now that I'm back to work again, and I've caught up on all my bills, I decided it was time to build a computer that I could game with. Here's what I put together:

Athlon II X2 250
Asus M3A78-CM
G. Skill 4 gigs DDR2 1066
Sapphire HD4870 512meg
OCZ 600 watt PSU
Seagate 160gig SATA hard drive
22" Dell lcd monitor 1680x1050 resolution
odds and ends (i.e. case, keyboard, etc.)

So far the only game I've tried is Left 4 Dead. I can max out everything at the highest res with 8xAA and 16xAF and it runs awesome. 70+ fps awesome. I'm going to install CoD4 and World of Warcraft next. Also going to try out the Witcher and see how that runs. Basically, for a budget gaming machine, this thing is pretty darn nice. Just thought I'd let you know. :)

betterdan
07-10-09, 07:32 AM
Congratulations on your new machine. Have fun. :thumbsup:

Thunderbolt56
07-10-09, 08:44 AM
Nothing like a new machine and a clean OS install to make you want to do some stuff again. :super:

Congrats!

ragejg
07-10-09, 08:54 AM
Unlock any extra cores?

Maverick123w
07-10-09, 10:17 AM
Unlock any extra cores?

This

Revs
07-10-09, 10:26 AM
This

That

Grats on the new rig, man :thumbsup:

marqmajere
07-10-09, 12:14 PM
Unlock any extra cores?

I thought that was only the Phenom II's, not the Athlon II's. I'll have to check it out.

Maverick123w
07-13-09, 11:39 AM
You're right, I just looked at that and thought your post said Phenom.

a12ctic
07-13-09, 12:36 PM
Do you have the Athlon 250 or the Phenom 550? The Athlon wont unlock more cores because its actually a native dual core chip. The Phenom has a chance because like the x3's, it is a quad with the cores disabled.

ragejg
07-13-09, 12:44 PM
Wait a minute. His cpu description encapsulates two processor series.

There is no Athlon II 550. The only Athlon II out there is a 250.

I'm hoping you got a Phenom II x2 550 BE. You caould unlock cores and play with the multi... and quite easily end up with a 3.7ghz 4-core chip for ~ $100!

marqmajere
07-14-09, 02:13 AM
Edited my post. It's the Athlon 2 250. Native dual core.

ragejg
07-14-09, 06:34 PM
Still a great setup. :) I think you're gonna have a lot of fun with that rig. I just did a similar upgrade, but got the Phenom x3 720 Black instead of the Athlon.

Running 64 or 32 bit OS?

marqmajere
07-15-09, 01:03 AM
64-bit. So far I love it. CoD4 plays smooth as does the Witcher. :)