PDA

View Full Version : Zotac 9300 - DVI-I to s-video / composite


Alfiegerner
07-15-09, 12:06 AM
Hi,

Short version:

Can I use DVI to video adapter on a zotac 9300 mini itx motherboard to output to a CRT tv?

I was thinking of using this sort of adapter from apple (http://store.apple.com/nz/product/M9267G/A?mco=MzIyMTc1NA).

I will be using either linux or windows if that makes a difference.

Long version:

I'm just getting components together for a build that will involve a zotac 9300 mini itx motherboard which doesn't have a s-video out but looks to have DVI-I. For the time being this will be hooked up to an old school CRT television.

I was thinking about using a VGA to s-video converter like this one (http= http://www.auspcmarket.com.au/show_product_info.php?input[product_code]=AL-AVERKEY-LITE&input[category_id]=108)

But then I started looking around and saw that the DVI-I socket should in principle be able to output an analogue signal.

Could I use a DVI to video adapter like the one linked to above from apple on either windows or linux?

Thanks,
Alex

newparad1gm
07-15-09, 09:31 AM
That should be fine, but do you really have to use that overpriced Apple Store for that? I see that you have the NZ page, so I don't know about any online places that ship to New Zealand for cheap unfortunately.

Monoprice has a VGA to S-video adapter here for only 2 USD, but I dunno how much shipping to NZ will be or how long it will take.

http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=104&cp_id=10401&cs_id=1040113&p_id=2509&seq=1&format=2

Alfiegerner
07-15-09, 05:04 PM
That should be fine, but do you really have to use that overpriced Apple Store for that? I see that you have the NZ page, so I don't know about any online places that ship to New Zealand for cheap unfortunately.

Monoprice has a VGA to S-video adapter here for only 2 USD, but I dunno how much shipping to NZ will be or how long it will take.

http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=104&cp_id=10401&cs_id=1040113&p_id=2509&seq=1&format=2

Thanks for replying, sounds like I'm in luck :)

So the VGA interface also carries an anologue signal? It looks like I shoud be able to use one of these (http://www.trademe.co.nz/Computers/Cables-adaptors/Monitor/auction-230378843.htm) then?

Could anyone also confirm if this should work for both windows and linux?

Cheers,
Alex

CaptNKILL
07-15-09, 11:24 PM
You should definitely check with Zotac before ordering one of those. Very few recent graphics cards (integrated or otherwise) still support TV out over VGA or DVI.

You'll need to get a converter box to switch the SVGA output to a TV compatible signal.

I bought one of these to use my HTPC with my old Panasonic CRT:
http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=101&cp_id=10114&cs_id=1011407&p_id=4724&seq=1&format=2

Its been working fine for 6+ months now.

The monitor connected to the VGA did get a little blurry, but the TV actually looks pretty nice on S-Video considering the converter box was so cheap.

I bought mine with plans of eventually getting an HDTV, but that's a long way off since I very rarely even use the TV anymore...

Alfiegerner
07-16-09, 01:19 AM
You should definitely check with Zotac before ordering one of those. Very few recent graphics cards (integrated or otherwise) still support TV out over VGA or DVI.

You'll need to get a converter box to switch the SVGA output to a TV compatible signal.

I bought one of these to use my HTPC with my old Panasonic CRT:
http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=101&cp_id=10114&cs_id=1011407&p_id=4724&seq=1&format=2

Its been working fine for 6+ months now.

The monitor connected to the VGA did get a little blurry, but the TV actually looks pretty nice on S-Video considering the converter box was so cheap.

I bought mine with plans of eventually getting an HDTV, but that's a long way off since I very rarely even use the TV anymore...

Thanks for that. You were right - i wrote to zotac and they responded as follows:

Dear Sir,

The 9300ITX port has no TV signal output. You adapter should be not applicable on this board.

P.S. The onboard DVI is DVI-D port, which provides digital signal only.

B.rgds
Peter Tang

So it looks like i'll need one of those adapters. Hey ho ...

BTW, congrats on the truly staggering amount of posts - call me internet naive but I don't think I've ever seen anyone with that sort of number of posts before.

CaptNKILL
07-16-09, 01:32 AM
BTW, congrats on the truly staggering amount of posts - call me internet naive but I don't think I've ever seen anyone with that sort of number of posts before.

:rofl

Gee thanks. Now if you'll excuse me I'm going to go kill myself...

EDIT: BTW crainger has over 31k in 5 1/2 years...
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/member.php?u=27152

and methim has only been here 2 1/2 years and has just under 30k...
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/member.php?u=81154

My posts are spread out more. :bleh: