PDA

View Full Version : Um, HOW do I get the 64-bit variant of Vista?


ragejg
07-15-09, 03:10 AM
I have Home Premium retail for one PC, and an MSDN key and disc for Ultimate for the other (I still work per diem for a software company)... both are 32 bit.

I apologize if this is a retread question but I never paid any mind to 64 bit Vista.

I'd like to give it a go on at least one machine, namely my new Phenom build.

How do I get the 64-bit variants? For the MSDN version, I should probably be able to use my legit MSDN key on a 64 bit Vista Ultimate disc image, no?

grey_1
07-15-09, 03:27 AM
http://www.microsoft.com/windowsvista/1033/ordermedia/default.mspx

or you could torrent it.

ragejg
07-15-09, 09:13 AM
Right on...

Is now the time to do that? Is going 64 bit gonna be worth it in some way? I've stayed away from this particular subject for quite some time now... :(

Newer games, Hulu, Blu-Ray content, and some web page design and use of some larger images in Paint.NET (Photoshop alternative)... that's my basic task list for both of my PC's...

So is it time?

mullet
07-15-09, 09:37 AM
http://www.microsoft.com/windowsvista/1033/ordermedia/default.mspx

or you could torrent it.

That's what I did and I got it in the mail. Worked like a champ.

ragejg
07-15-09, 09:53 AM
My MSDN key doesn't work with this. I guess I need to get to the stack of MSDN discs @ the office and trade my 32-bit Ultimate for the 64 bit version.

As I said earlier though, is it time to do this?

The only advantage I see at the moment is the fact that 64 bit recognizes 4gb RAM...

Or can I get 32 bit to recognize 4gb in any way? Doesn't it have something to do with Physical Address Extension?

grey_1
07-15-09, 10:44 AM
My MSDN key doesn't work with this. I guess I need to get to the stack of MSDN discs @ the office and trade my 32-bit Ultimate for the 64 bit version.

As I said earlier though, is it time to do this?

The only advantage I see at the moment is the fact that 64 bit recognizes 4gb RAM...

Or can I get 32 bit to recognize 4gb in any way? Doesn't it have something to do with Physical Address Extension?

My 32 bit rig recognizes 3.25Gb. Practically speaking, there's not any noticeable difference in performance other than the differences between 32 and 64 bit performance anyway.

Getting the 64bit version has shown a heck of a nice stability and performance advantage though, especially after the 2 service packs. imho it's having the available ram + the 64 bit that will give you the increased benefits, not necessarily sweating the .75Gb that 32 bit doesn't 'see'.