PDA

View Full Version : Does RTM fix the Games Explorer?


Yaboze
07-17-09, 06:57 PM
You know, the inability to edit stuff in there like you could with Vista?

mailman2
07-17-09, 07:06 PM
You know, the inability to edit stuff in there like you could with Vista?

neg.

Yaboze
07-17-09, 07:25 PM
#$^@*&!

XxDeadlyxX
07-17-09, 08:15 PM
I think Microsoft has got lazy....

betterdan
07-18-09, 07:08 AM
What are you trying to edit? I don't even use that game folder, what's the benefit?

Lfctony
07-18-09, 08:02 AM
For example, you could edit shortcuts to the games. You could modify Crysis to run in DX9 mode instead of the default one. (which defaults to Dx10). The GE in Vista offered the capability to change these stuff. Unfortunately W7 doesn't...

Yaboze
07-18-09, 08:46 AM
Since all new games install in there and usually not on the desktop, I started using it as it was intended. I think you could edit or add the box art too.

ViN86
07-18-09, 10:23 AM
Add all shortcuts to Steam.

/thread

:D

mullet
07-18-09, 10:46 AM
Steam is the new standard, resistance is futile.

bacon12
07-18-09, 11:45 AM
All your games are belong to steam cloud. (one day)

betterdan
07-18-09, 11:57 AM
OK I see what you mean about not being able to edit them. Not all the games install to that games folder though. Sims 3 for instance didn't install there for me. I just have another toolbar on the taskbar for games and launch them from there and some of my most played I have on the taskbar as buttons for quick access. The games folder does nothing for me.

hell_of_doom227
07-18-09, 03:12 PM
Games Explorer should be removed, or actually uninstall it. It has no value. It's just crap.

Buio
07-21-09, 06:06 PM
You know, the inability to edit stuff in there like you could with Vista?

I posted a manual workaround I found myself here;
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=1926020&postcount=14

If there is any better way, feel free to post.

mailman2
07-21-09, 06:48 PM
yea I just make a folder on my desktop and put shortcuts to all my games in there.

The only outstanding issue I have with Vista is Punkbuster in COD4 still doesnt work. I think 7100 is about the only build that it did work with.

Buio
07-21-09, 07:03 PM
Well soon Evencrap can't hide behind the Windows 7 beta status any more.

grey_1
07-21-09, 07:34 PM
GE is pretty worthless, never use it.