PDA

View Full Version : monitor kaput


Pages : [1] 2

nekrosoft13
07-20-09, 01:38 AM
my viewsonic just died today, it was primary used with the server.

second monitor to die within a year preriod.

Mr Bigman
07-20-09, 01:48 AM
could be overclting through vga or dvi connector?

Or powersupply on it but its hard to tell.

CaptNKILL
07-20-09, 01:55 AM
My brother and I recently replaced a few capacitors in his old viewsonic 19" LCD. I guess bad caps are one of the more common issues with older LCDs.

Basically, the screen would go into stand by mode when he turned the screen on after the PC was on. If he left it turned on and rebooted it would usually work for a very long time with no problems (though some times it would screw up after a reboot or even a resolution change). Since replacing the caps it has worked fine.

bob saget
07-20-09, 02:00 AM
My brother and I recently replaced a few capacitors in his old viewsonic 19" LCD. I guess bad caps are one of the more common issues with older LCDs.

Basically, the screen would go into stand by mode when he turned the screen on after the PC was on. If he left it turned on and rebooted it would usually work for a very long time with no problems (though some times it would screw up after a reboot or even a resolution change). Since replacing the caps it has worked fine.

Awwwwww :wonder:

nekrosoft13
07-20-09, 02:03 AM
My brother and I recently replaced a few capacitors in his old viewsonic 19" LCD. I guess bad caps are one of the more common issues with older LCDs.

Basically, the screen would go into stand by mode when he turned the screen on after the PC was on. If he left it turned on and rebooted it would usually work for a very long time with no problems (though some times it would screw up after a reboot or even a resolution change). Since replacing the caps it has worked fine.

monitor basically cycles, on-off-on-off-on-off etc... it stays on for half a second

CaptNKILL
07-20-09, 11:29 AM
monitor basically cycles, on-off-on-off-on-off etc... it stays on for half a second

Its probably the caps.

If you care about fixing it (and know how to solder), you could probably find instructions explaining how to do it online and the caps would only cost a few dollars.

lee63
07-20-09, 11:36 AM
My 2405 just took a dump last week :thumbdwn: I ended up replacing it with a Dell S240W http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/productdetail.aspx?sku=320-7345&cs=19&c=us&l=en

Its not a bad LCD.....games look great ;)

bob saget
07-20-09, 01:18 PM
My 2405 just took a dump last week :thumbdwn: I ended up replacing it with a Dell S240W http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/productdetail.aspx?sku=320-7345&cs=19&c=us&l=en

Its not a bad LCD.....games look great ;)

that one looks good. Dell LCDs are SHARP brand?

lee63
07-20-09, 01:35 PM
that one looks good. Dell LCDs are SHARP brand?I'm not sure...I thought they where LG.

bob saget
07-20-09, 01:53 PM
I'm not sure...I thought they where LG.

Thats what I thought. LG or SHARP.

nekrosoft13
07-20-09, 02:09 PM
My 2405 just took a dump last week :thumbdwn: I ended up replacing it with a Dell S240W http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/productdetail.aspx?sku=320-7345&cs=19&c=us&l=en

Its not a bad LCD.....games look great ;)

why did you go down to 16:9, you lost a bit of desktop space.

lee63
07-20-09, 03:16 PM
why did you go down to 16:9, you lost a bit of desktop space.I'm getting better fps in games with not much sacrifice in image quality.

nekrosoft13
07-20-09, 05:39 PM
http://img24.imageshack.us/img24/39/img0514sku.jpg
http://img24.imageshack.us/img24/3253/img0515d.jpg
http://img12.imageshack.us/img12/7038/img0516ntu.jpg

two caps are bulging

TheBigOne
07-20-09, 07:05 PM
monitor basically cycles, on-off-on-off-on-off etc... it stays on for half a second

Bad capacitors sound like, just crack it open and look at the powersupply and look at 6.3v caps, if it is only cost 89 cents per cap, you can buy them at this site.

http://www.alliedelec.com/Default.aspx

TheBigOne
07-20-09, 07:06 PM
http://img24.imageshack.us/img24/39/img0514sku.jpg
http://img24.imageshack.us/img24/3253/img0515d.jpg
http://img12.imageshack.us/img12/7038/img0516ntu.jpg

two caps are bulging
Knew it was that, the two by the voltage regulator.

nekrosoft13
07-20-09, 07:49 PM
Knew it was that, the two by the voltage regulator.

two in the middle picture?

TheBigOne
07-20-09, 08:08 PM
two in the middle picture?

Yep the two in the middle picture are bad they are cheap and easy to get, just order though the site below, just look at the value on side of the cap.
http://www.alliedelec.com/Actives-and-Passives/Capacitors/

nekrosoft13
07-21-09, 04:09 PM
it says on them 470uf25v

so any of these would work?
http://www.alliedelec.com/Actives-and-Passives/Capacitors/?N=4294821930+4294838989+4294827632

is one brand better then other? what would you recommend?

TheBigOne
07-21-09, 04:36 PM
it says on them 470uf25v

so any of these would work?
http://www.alliedelec.com/Actives-and-Passives/Capacitors/?N=4294821930+4294838989+4294827632

is one brand better then other? what would you recommend?

It will work go with the cornell dubilier little more money they last longer, never had any problems with those, don't turn on the monitor anymore you will burn out the voltage regulator.

nekrosoft13
07-21-09, 05:47 PM
It will work go with the cornell dubilier little more money they last longer, never had any problems with those, don't turn on the monitor anymore you will burn out the voltage regulator.

which one? there is 5 of them

TheBigOne
07-21-09, 05:52 PM
This one will work

http://www.alliedelec.com/Search/ProductDetail.aspx?SKU=8526566&MPN=SK471M025ST

nekrosoft13
07-23-09, 01:41 AM
thanks bigone, placed the order 2 days ago, hope it gets here soon.

CaptNKILL
07-23-09, 02:05 AM
Heh, I knew it. :D

Hopefully that does it for you.

I recommend getting some desoldering braid if you don't already have some. That stuff made the job a whole lot easier when I did it. Still, if you don't have a lot of soldering experience, it will be tricky.

nekrosoft13
07-23-09, 02:07 AM
i did some soldering before, on few of these ;)
http://www.usa.canon.com/consumer/controller?act=ModelInfoAct&fcategoryid=139&modelid=15710

so i should be fine ;)

CaptNKILL
07-23-09, 02:25 AM
i did some soldering before, on few of these ;)
http://www.usa.canon.com/consumer/controller?act=ModelInfoAct&fcategoryid=139&modelid=15710

so i should be fine ;)

:lol:

Dang.

Yeah, you'll be fine.