PDA

View Full Version : AT&T Uverse or TimeWarner Road RUnner Turbo....


$n][pErMan
07-29-09, 07:39 PM
Pretty simple thread. I currently have TW Cable and Road Runner Turbo... to be honest I like it and the internet is pretty fast. The only donwside is upload is a bit lacking vs. the download. I am moving in 2 weeks and was debating switching it up a bit and trying AT&T uverse as they advertise 15mb/5mb opposed to my 15mb/2mb... plus 300 channels vs. my 125 channels all for only about $7 more a month than what im paying now.

The rough questions is... have any of you used both of these services... and which did you like best. I am kind of sceptical about switching to an unknown service. So far... I read about pros. and cons. to both all over the internet with no clear winner. The main thing I read is AT&T uverse works great... when it works... and if it goes down... good luck getting customer support. With TW I have never had any problems that were not fixed in 4 hours or less.

Fire away! :)

|MaguS|
07-29-09, 07:56 PM
Uverse is so much better then any cable provider. Not only do you get remote control of your DVR when your not home but the quality of service is on another level. The system is bogged down with a retarded menu guide that is slow and you can watch anything on your DVR on any other TV in the house.

Oh and the internet is also faster and more reliable, its fiber optics so your not sharing your bandwidth with anyone else. It's a dedicated connection between you and AT&T. It's hard to get support for uverse at times because when it goes down everyone in the area goes down, not just a select number of houses... they only have so many techs to send out. AT&T doesn't hire contractors to install the service, everyone that goes to your house is hired and trained by AT&T.

Im not saying all this because I work for AT&T (I work for wireless anyway) but because I switched recently from Brighthouse to Uverse and its night and day difference. It's awesome, no delay when watching on demand or changing channels and the picture quality on my Panny TV is great.

nekrosoft13
07-29-09, 08:34 PM
would you mind running this?
http://www.speedtest.net/

http://www.speedtest.net/result/528307788.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Greasy
07-29-09, 08:38 PM
One thing to remember about uverse is that the last mile uses old school phone line. This means the further you are from the vrad (the ATT box near your hood) the slower it will be.

I switched from RR Turbo about three months ago, and we're about 2800 feet from the vrad. I am able to pull the 25MB profile, but I will not be able to get the new 32MB profile they are rolling out soon. I have MAX18 (18D/1.5UP) internet only. I didn't use their TV because that would cut into the internet speeds. Remember currently they max sync your RG at 25MB.

I will say that it has been way more reliable than RR though.

|MaguS|
07-29-09, 08:54 PM
One thing to remember about uverse is that the last mile uses old school phone line. This means the further you are from the vrad (the ATT box near your hood) the slower it will be.

I switched from RR Turbo about three months ago, and we're about 2800 feet from the vrad. I am able to pull the 25MB profile, but I will not be able to get the new 32MB profile they are rolling out soon. I have MAX18 (18D/1.5UP) internet only. I didn't use their TV because that would cut into the internet speeds. Remember currently they max sync your RG at 25MB.

I will say that it has been way more reliable than RR though.

It's not the last mile (atleast not in FL), Its Fiber up to the box near your house and then from it to your house... less then half a block (for me its one houses over). The speed limitation is how far the vrad is from the box near your house for us, then again my neighborhood is less then 5 years old.

hokeyplyr48
07-29-09, 08:56 PM
umm the only good thing about uverse internet is the download speed. The upload speed is actually 1.5MB/s. Everyone complains about it online. I only get around 150-160kb/s.

If you can get FIOS, you need to get that because it is alot better. It is really the only internet provider with good upload speed. (Besides comcast I believe)

|MaguS|
07-29-09, 08:57 PM
would you mind running this?
http://www.speedtest.net/

http://www.speedtest.net/result/528307788.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Not running uverse internet, only tv. I'll have my friend run a test for me since he has the entire package. =\

I get free DSL and I don't get any discount on uverse yet so im waiting.


If you can get FIOS, you need to get that because it is alot better. It is really the only internet provider with good upload speed. (Besides comcast I believe)

I dout he can get FIOS since Telecoms don't share wires. If AT&T provides service to that area then Verizon or Embarq can't.

$n][pErMan
07-29-09, 09:09 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/528321935.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Im in an older area right now so my speeds are kind of lame... I will be moving to an area only about 10 years old :) So far... I still can't decide!! Ahhhh!! Maybe to make it easier... fast Internet Down & Up is way more important to me than TV. As a matter of fact... I rarely watch TV which is why I only have a basic 125 Channel package as far as that goes. :P As far as TW goes... it's a month to month contract and I can switch whatever and whenever... does AT&T have that ability? I was getting mixed singals on the phone with them about that. I guess I need more opinions before I decide :)

It's also critical I can remote desktop to my PC and use SSH on my linux box from work. Also, I was reading that uverse has issues with torrent files? Is this true?

|MaguS|
07-29-09, 09:14 PM
I can't say what they are offering there or what their restrictions are but in Orlando I haven't heard of any torrent blocking or bandwidth limitations. I do know that in Orlando there are no contracts with uverse.

Greasy
07-29-09, 09:18 PM
It's not the last mile (atleast not in FL), Its Fiber up to the box near your house and then from it to your house... less then half a block (for me its one houses over). The speed limitation is how far the vrad is from the box near your house for us, then again my neighborhood is less then 5 years old.

You are correct, all new neighborhoods are wired with fiber by ATT now, but they still limit your profile to the same as those of us that aren't so fortunate. Stupid if you ask me, but according to ATT they want to keep the user experience the same for all customers. :headexplode:

As for the upload, 1.5 is great for us poor saps here in Charlotte. You would think in that TWC would offer some crazy speeds in the city they are based in right? Wrong our turbo is only 10/.5, so me going to 1.5 was heavenly. Now I wanna see some DOCSIS 3 here in charlotte without a silly ass 100GB monthly cap, and I'm going back to RR.

Mr Bigman
07-29-09, 09:24 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/528329559.png

I kinda enjoy Comcast.

These figures are a bit low since i got downloads going too.

Got the 50 down shaws why? Why not.

Greasy
07-29-09, 09:33 PM
Wish TWC would jump on the DOCSIS 3 bandwagon like Comcast did.

bob saget
07-29-09, 09:33 PM
Those figures do seem really low.

Serrasalmus
07-31-09, 02:57 AM
screw all u guys and your fast internets...im still using 6m/512 dsl...uverse vrad is 1/2 block from my house buts its going to be like 10billion years till its ready...
from what i read the only issue is that the ping times are a little higher because it has something to do with the switching in the vrad box. other then that everything ive read about it in my neck of the woods is good

hokeyplyr48
08-01-09, 01:07 PM
yea I just think it's funny how the US, if you do your research, has some of the worst internet speeds IN THE WORLD. There are countries that are far further behind but still wipe the floor with our internet speeds. I just don't get it. FIOS/Comcast are the only internet companies that realize that speed actually is important and offer it.

/rant

$n][pErMan
08-02-09, 04:26 PM
Ya... I wish this city had comcast :(

Absolution
08-03-09, 11:35 AM
Had both in back in Dallas. Went from Time Warner to ATT Uverse - so that pretty much sums it up. I had some problems early on with ATT but they were quickly resolved (the modem wasn't stable because of some bad cableing in the apt, they fixed it for free).

Had 18mbit down/1.5mbit up. They did block port 25 for SMTP email (which was a temporary problem because I was hosting a website from home for a couple months before I moved it to a colocation) but all I had to do was call them and request it to be opened. They don't do any throttling or caps.