PDA

View Full Version : Acer Home Server


nekrosoft13
07-31-09, 05:58 PM
What ya think?

Atom powered, 4 internal HDDs + 1 eSATA, gigabit + 1 PCI-E for another network card.

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/searchtools/item-Details.asp?EdpNo=4691261&sku=A180-3400&srkey=acer%20home%20server

TheBigOne
07-31-09, 06:17 PM
Wonder if it supports raid 5 ? and is any faster then the the terastation? Got a TeraStation with 2tb, was planning on upgraded to 4x 2tb drives, already fill up the the 2tb, if it does support raid 5 going to pick one up.

nekrosoft13
07-31-09, 06:27 PM
not sure about hardware, but RAID5 is disabled in Windows Home Server OS, so you would need a new OS.

Need a bit of research to figure out if hardware can support RAID5

TheBigOne
07-31-09, 06:38 PM
not sure about hardware, but RAID5 is disabled in Windows Home Server OS, so you would need a new OS.

Need a bit of research to figure out if hardware can support RAID5Just read that, well the OS is going to have to go, it use the Intel 945GC/ICH7, so assuming it does support raid 0,1,5 would make a nice and one of the fastest NAS system around. Going to have to read more on this guy.

nekrosoft13
07-31-09, 06:41 PM
you sure about the Intel 945GC/ICH7? does 945 support eSATA?

TheBigOne
07-31-09, 06:57 PM
you sure about the Intel 945GC/ICH7? does 945 support eSATA?No I don't belive it does support raid. At lease I found out that my terastation live will support up to 8tb, that Acer only 7tb and no raid support, better to pass on it.

nekrosoft13
07-31-09, 07:33 PM
supposelly it does support 8TB

the way they counted 7tb, is 1tb (included) + 3x2TB = 7TB

if you replace the included disk, then you can get 8TB (and higher probably, when they make bigger HDDs)

bacon12
08-01-09, 12:00 PM
Yea I did some research on this unit when I saw it on newegg. Price is great for sure according to the acer site (http://us.acer.com/acer-v2/product.do?link=oln85e.redirect&changedAlts=&kcond48e.c2att101=-1&CRC=2759084358#wrAjaxHistory=0) it says 4tb max.


Still I was really considering this unit. I also am thinking of building one myself but with an add in raid controller. I just hate spending money right now until things pick in my business.

I love my zotac ion board thou, and want to replace my 775 server to save some money on power consumption with an atom based system.

Bearclaw
08-01-09, 09:09 PM
So for you guys who have home servers - Do you use it mainly for storage? Just hook it up to your network and access it?

Also, if I were to build one, do I need a dual CPU motherboard or can I use any parts? Do I need to use a Server OS?

nekrosoft13
08-01-09, 10:31 PM
So for you guys who have home servers - Do you use it mainly for storage? Just hook it up to your network and access it?

Also, if I were to build one, do I need a dual CPU motherboard or can I use any parts? Do I need to use a Server OS?

currently I use a home build AMD Phenon 9550 Quad, and server portion is mostly for storage.

Other uses include:
FTP server
torrent client
video render

it runs Server 2008 Enterprise OS from technet

CaptNKILL
08-01-09, 10:35 PM
AMD Phenon

Phenom. :bleh:

nekrosoft13
08-01-09, 10:38 PM
haha, i got two of them :(

Bearclaw
08-01-09, 10:49 PM
currently I use a home build AMD Phenon 9550 Quad, and server portion is mostly for storage.

Other uses include:
FTP server
torrent client
video render

it runs Server 2008 Enterprise OS from technet

Sounds good. Thanks for the info. I don't know anything when it comes to dealing with servers but I am starting to dabble into it. Will probably build my own soon and get Technet as well.

As far as the server O/S, how different is it? Is there a tough learning curve to it, if any at all?

KasuCode
08-01-09, 10:50 PM
the point of running Windows Home Server is being able to host all your videos, pictures, and other things so you can stream them on to your mobile device or other computers thru a nice interface.

Its pretty nice. I had one setup for a short while.


I just run windows server 2008 on my server now.

nekrosoft13
08-01-09, 10:53 PM
oh and sometimes, i also host dedicated game servers as well.

six_storm
08-01-09, 11:22 PM
nekro, that sounds like a decent buy if you aren't going to do anything real straining. Just remember that you are looking at a single-core Atom CPU.

CaptNKILL
08-02-09, 12:39 AM
You could probably build a better system for the same price as that Acer.

I'd at least get a dual core Atom.

Bearclaw
08-02-09, 12:46 AM
Ya, I would definitely recommend building one. Why not? Especially for anyone on this forum who easily can.

uOpt
08-02-09, 12:06 PM
I wouldn't build a fileserver without ECC RAM.

Of course there are no chipsets available for Atom that support ECC :)

bacon12
08-02-09, 12:52 PM
Actually a single core atom would probably be more than enough for a home server if all you want is to stream media and storage.

I am using my p5e deluxe and a e8400 with 4 gigs of ram which are way over kill. I do have a 10 man cod4 server that I run sometimes for matches. I am also using over 1 tb and almost out of space so I need to rebuild.

But I'm going for a nice 24 HDD slot 19" rack later this year, starting with 20TB (around 16 disks).
:headbang: