PDA

View Full Version : Any suggestions for good RAM??


Arto*
08-01-09, 12:57 AM
Im currently looking to upgrade my RAM but since ive not been able to keep up with all the new upgrades, im looking to see what people have suggest is good. Im looking to get 4 gigs 184-pin.. play games here and there, movies, music etc..

This is what i have now :
CORSAIR XMS 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model TWINX1024-3200XLPT - Retail


Thanks in advance guys

bob saget
08-01-09, 01:35 AM
With your motherboard, the only thing I can recoomend is buy MORE ram. You are really limited by the fact it is only DDR1.

bob saget
08-01-09, 01:39 AM
I have personally used this and have had no problems. While you will see a huge boost with only this kit, i suggest buying 4 sticks (2 kits).
Make sure you have a 64-bit based OS to recognize full 4 gigs of you are heading that direction.

XDanger
08-01-09, 09:00 AM
http://www.ocztechnology.com/products/memory/ocz_el_ddr_pc_3200_2x1024mb_dual_channel_platinum_ xtc

bob saget
08-01-09, 09:45 AM
WTF, i forgot the link :lol:
Thats the one i was talking about danger.

XDanger
08-01-09, 09:56 AM
WTF, i forgot the link :lol:
Thats the one i was talking about danger.

Yes,

I know...

Arto*
08-01-09, 11:53 AM
Thanks for the replys, but I currently have all 4 of my slots filled with 512mb sticks. Im slowly starting to consider a new set up :(

hokeyplyr48
08-01-09, 11:59 AM
yea dude get rid of that AMD setup. Intel is the way to go right now! DDR2 maybe DDR3 will be an awesome increase in performance.

bob saget
08-01-09, 12:04 PM
Thanks for the replys, but I currently have all 4 of my slots filled with 512mb sticks. Im slowly starting to consider a new set up :(

I had a VERY similar setup to the one you have now. I totally skipped DDR2 :o Once my older computer started to show its age with not solid performance, i decided its time to change.
Spend some money on a Quad core setup like i7 or Q or QX and you will not be disappointed. Even the older gen quad cores are still VERY capable CPUs.
If you want to stick with what you have now, get rid of those memory sticks and get the 1gig ones.
By the way: My older nF4 DFI LP SLi-Expert was not very solid with 4 gigs of RAM. Make sure you have the latest bios if you plan on going that route.

Arto*
08-01-09, 12:10 PM
I had a VERY similar setup to the one you have now. I totally skipped DDR2 :o Once my older computer started to show its age with not solid performance, i decided its time to change.
Spend some money on a Quad core setup like i7 or Q or QX and you will not be disappointed. Even the older gen quad cores are still VERY capable CPUs.
If you want to stick with what you have now, get rid of those memory sticks and get the 1gig ones.
By the way: My older nF4 DFI LP SLi-Expert was not very solid with 4 gigs of RAM. Make sure you have the latest bios if you plan on going that route.

I see, thanks for the heads up.. If i get new ddr3 ram, id have to get a new motherboard which means id have to get a new cpu lol.. Whats a good motherboard to get, looking to get a core i7 chipset

XDanger
08-01-09, 01:37 PM
id have to get a new motherboard which means id have to get a new cpu lol.. Whats a good motherboard to get, looking to get a core i7 chipset

I reckon that would depend on how much you want to spend.

bob saget
08-01-09, 01:48 PM
It really depends how much you are willing to spend, and if you are willing to have patience to tinker with generally pretty new technology.
For motherboards, I would recommend any of the Gigabyte UD3 line. For RAM, just depends how fast you want it and how much "space" you want to overclock you i7 920.
If you want a graphics card, the GTX 260 is an awesome deal.
I can probably help you out quite a bit since i made very similar switch to what you are doing.

tnelson
08-02-09, 06:46 AM
Dunno, I just threw together a system around an XFX GeForce8200 with a Phenom 9850, 8G of RAM and a 250G HD for under $500. It's not a 1337 gaming rig, but it does what I need and it was cheapish (repurposed the case, PS & peripherals from my last system). A bit more expensive than just a memory upgrade, though...

hokeyplyr48
08-02-09, 11:05 AM
why the slower amd?

bob saget
08-02-09, 12:13 PM
why the slower amd?

I am guessing he didnt need something as expensive as new i7.

Arto*
08-02-09, 01:58 PM
Im thinking about just getting a core i7 920 possibly 4-6 gigs of ram and a motherboard.. hopefully all near or under $500.. everything else i can use such as sound card, vid card and power supply

bob saget
08-02-09, 03:53 PM
For the i7s, the amount of RAM you can get comes in 1, 3, 6, 12, 24. You could opt for 3 I guess but 6 is amazing and normal programs fly.
For 500 you probably will not be able to get 6 gigs, 920, and a solid motherboard.

GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD3R $194.99
CORSAIR XMS3 6GB (3 x 2GB) $154.99
Intel Core i7 920 $279.99

Comes to about 630 :(, but I think pretty worth it for the upgrade.

EDIT: nvm, got owned, you can have 4 gigs too.

Arto*
08-02-09, 07:00 PM
For the i7s, the amount of RAM you can get comes in 1, 3, 6, 12, 24. You could opt for 3 I guess but 6 is amazing and normal programs fly.
For 500 you probably will not be able to get 6 gigs, 920, and a solid motherboard.

GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD3R $194.99
CORSAIR XMS3 6GB (3 x 2GB) $154.99
Intel Core i7 920 $279.99

Comes to about 630 :(, but I think pretty worth it for the upgrade.

EDIT: nvm, got owned, you can have 4 gigs too.

heh, thx for the suggestions, ill have to think about this one because technically my computer still runs great, but its SOOO tempting to upgrade :(

Thunderbolt56
08-03-09, 12:27 PM
For the i7s, the amount of RAM you can get comes in 1, 3, 6, 12, 24. You could opt for 3 I guess but 6 is amazing and normal programs fly.
For 500 you probably will not be able to get 6 gigs, 920, and a solid motherboard.

GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD3R $194.99
CORSAIR XMS3 6GB (3 x 2GB) $154.99
Intel Core i7 920 $279.99

Comes to about 630 :(, but I think pretty worth it for the upgrade.

EDIT: nvm, got owned, you can have 4 gigs too.


You could go to Microcenter and get one of those i7 920 D0 stepping procs for $199.00 and opt for 3GB of RAM for now. That would put you right in the $500 range and the only other cost would be a really good aftermarket cooler, but of course you don't even need that right away...unless you wanted to OC out of the gate

GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD3R $194.99
CORSAIR XMS3 6GB (3 x 2GB) $154.99 (3x1GB OCZ flex) $90
Intel Core i7 920 $279.99 (from Microcenter)$199.00

TOTAL $483.99

:cool:

bob saget
08-03-09, 01:47 PM
good price :)

CaptNKILL
08-03-09, 02:04 PM
You can get 6Gb of OCZ Gold 1600 for only $99 shipped (or $89 after rebate):

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820227365

bob saget
08-03-09, 02:06 PM
Oooh shiny :cool:

tnelson
08-03-09, 06:09 PM
I am guessing he didnt need something as expensive as new i7.

Yep -- local shop was having a sale on the MB/CPU combo. Plus, I mostly do software development, so a lot of the time I'm waiting for things like the disk and network, anyway. Doesn't matter if my CPU idles at 2.5 or 3.2GHz... :)