PDA

View Full Version : Nvidia 8800GS Driver for Ubuntu

rcastoro
08-02-09, 10:58 AM
I'm new to Linux - I have Dual Boot with Windows and Ubuntu. I just installed the latest version of Nvidia Driver ( I Believe 190.xx or something), I installed in windows and it worked great, For Linux - I downloaded from the Nvidia Web-Site the 8800GS Driver for Linux and tried to install it following the directions:

Exctact, Close out of your X and into a Terminal, run the pkg.run, the installer asked me to build a Kernel, and then configure Nvidia automatically, so I selected YES to both, it restarted, and I couldn't boot into my GUI, Finally I uninstall the driver using uninstall.

So My Question is, Can I Get the Latest Nvidia Driver for my Geforce 8800gs for Linux, and on Ubuntu, specifically how can I achieve this?

Thank you So much for your advice.

rcastoro
08-02-09, 11:16 AM
I found this URL: http://www.nvidia.com/object/unix.html through a thread in this forum - I Know Nvidia has a Driver for Linux on their official page that is a higher driver version then this page displays.

Also, I just realised my computer says on the tower - AMD Athlon 64 (I JUST NOTICED THE 64) - Should I Be Downloading 64 bit versions of software from now on, and if so - ON the URL ABove of the Drivers, Which one would I Download?

Basically:
1.) Is Ubuntu Good at if not Equal to playing games as Windows, say I wanted to play Call of Duty 4 on Steam Client in Ubuntu? If So, What do I need to download to get this right?

2.) Do I need to download anything special for Linux to play games? (Does DirectX Apply to Linux, or is there a equivelent) - Also I have a Virtual Box of Vista running in Linux, but that doesnt access the actual graphics card I hear - so that wouldnt work either correct, because I couldnt install the driver on that in linux either)

3.) WHAT AM I DOING?

bobmendon
08-03-09, 06:11 PM