PDA

View Full Version : New Comp now or wait?


prodikal
06-21-03, 11:28 PM
Yo, i have posted several threads on getting a new rig but after reading some other posts it looks like the new Prescott cor will come out along with the new AMD 64 around the end of this year. I already have a 5900 Ultra and i sold the Barton 3200 i got as a gift so i have a cool 460$ to spend. should i buy now or upgrade my xp1800 to an xp2400 and overclock it?

Thanks in advanced!





BTW
My current setup is:

Soyo KT333 Dragon Ultra Platinum
Athlon XP1800 (with stock fan at stock speed )
1gb Hyper X PC 2700
eVGA 5900 Ultra
Onboard sound :(

UDawg
06-21-03, 11:35 PM
Wait! You have until fall before HL2 comes out...if that is a game you are interested in. For me....well my life's meaning is held in limbo until HL2 comes out. :p

UDawg
06-21-03, 11:37 PM
Originally posted by UDawg71
Wait! You have until fall before HL2 comes out...if that is a game you are interested in. For me....well my life's meaning is held in limbo until HL2 comes out. :p

If you do get a new CPU get the the 2600xp T-bred. It is awesome baby! Mine is clocked just shy of a 2800xp

silence
06-22-03, 01:58 AM
u sold new barton and gonna buy old core AMD?huh......

you should have kept it and just go for new mobo....nforce2 based....then u would have really awesome system....


try slower Barton and nforce2 based mobo for that cash.....abit or asus, maybe gigabyte mobo and some Athlon with PR rating of 2500+ or higher:)

prodikal
06-22-03, 01:34 PM
^BUMP^ I need a few more posts to make my desicion. ;)

CaptNKILL
06-22-03, 09:23 PM
Just grab a Barton 2500+ with a nice cooler and a nice Nforce 2 mobo (Abit NF7-S is nice). Then OC the crap out of your CPU. The way I figure it:
$460- $140 for CPU and cooler
$320- $120 for mobo
$200+ your old mobo.

You'll still have $200 (and your old mobo, which you can sell, or start another comp from) and after some OCing, im sure it wont be any slower than your old CPU\mobo. Heck, with the Nforce 2, you could probably make it FASTER than before.

shop at www.newegg.com :)

The Baron
06-22-03, 09:33 PM
NF7-S 2.0 is good.

And Capnt, what's your vcore at?

Smokey
06-24-03, 06:50 AM
I would say just get a Barton2500+ and cooler (coolermaster XDream is good) no need to upgrade the motherboard, best saving your money for your next upgrade IMO.

Deimos
06-24-03, 07:08 AM
If you can wait (and keep your current rig) then that's what you should do. In general, the longer you can wait, the more you get for your money.

/Deimos

CaptNKILL
06-24-03, 01:56 PM
Originally posted by The Baron

And Capnt, what's your vcore at?
Right now its at default.

Until I get a replacement video card, I dont really need to have the thing cranked all the way up... BTW, I LOVE having such low temps. Increasing VCore just doesnt seem worth it unless you have some extreme cooling. I was getting up to 56C when my CPU was set to 166x12.5=2088+1.7Vcore. I doubt the extra 200Mhz does enough to justify a 16C increase in temp. I'll probably push It to the max without changing the VCore tho. I can probably get ~1900Mhz out of it. That would keep my temps relativly low, and Id still have quite a bit of speed (166FSB helps).

The Baron
06-24-03, 02:40 PM
For ****s and giggles, I set it to 1.7 Vcore (probably didn't even have to. my memory timings were wrong when I tried before) and 183FSB. Running Prime95 now... seems fine.

Oh, and 32C Idle. :D

CaptNKILL
06-24-03, 10:10 PM
Originally posted by The Baron
For ****s and giggles, I set it to 1.7 Vcore (probably didn't even have to. my memory timings were wrong when I tried before) and 183FSB. Running Prime95 now... seems fine.

Oh, and 32C Idle. :D

holy crap! 1.7V and still running 32C?

DAMN!

BTW, Ive got an update on my temps... It was about 80 degrees (F) today and I had my comp running all day (I was playing Shadowrun on a SEGA Genesis emulator... awesome game!)... MAN, did my comp warm up! This is by far the hottest day we have had all summer in PA.

After about 5 hours running an emulator and an MP3 player (surprisingly, these two put quite a bit of stress on the CPU) my CPU was at a blazing 46C :eek:

Damn this hot weather! I should move to antartica and just cool my CPU with all natural arctic winds :)

Smokey
06-25-03, 03:39 PM
^^ I know what you mean by hot weather :(
Wanting to get temps down I ve taken of the side of my case, but case temps accually went up :eek: I have 2 case fans and the XDream on the cpu.

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?s=&attachmentid=2421

By the way that I just took now at 22:40pm with the flat windows open :o

prodikal
06-26-03, 11:01 PM
What is a Stable speed to OC a Barton 2500+

Smokey
06-27-03, 03:59 AM
Well I think my HDD is holding me back, so I cant OC the FSB.

Most people on air are getting 2.2-2.3GHz maybe a little bit more. If you run the 2500+ @11*200 thats the same as the 3200+ ;)

prodikal
06-27-03, 12:41 PM
Schweet but how do i unlock a barton?

The Baron
06-27-03, 12:46 PM
It's unlocked automagically on most NF2 boards :D