PDA

View Full Version : Trouble OC'ng my i7


wysiwyg
08-17-09, 05:48 AM
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=129108&page=20

please can anyone help

bob saget
08-17-09, 12:50 PM
wysi, have you tried Tweak Town Forums?
Awesome staff there...

wysiwyg
08-21-09, 01:25 PM
not yet mate

i did however copy the exact settings my bosses UD5 motherboard had. he now has my old memory and C0 cpu and i have his 1600 capable mem and D0

just inputted those setting tonight and have booted fine into vista.

CPUz report=

http://img194.imageshack.us/img194/5405/10635871.jpg

Muppet
08-22-09, 12:03 AM
It could very well be not enough voltage to the QPI/VTT. You may need up to 1.4 volts. My system needs 1.6 volts to run my memory at 2000mhz. To run yours at 1600, more than likely needs more voltage to the memory controller in the CPU.

That is where i'd start.

bob saget
08-22-09, 01:06 AM
wow 1.28?
try stressing it and report temps.

Mr Bigman
08-22-09, 01:19 PM
Looks fine to me.

Im hitting about 4.2 but i get those nvnrdm.sys bsod cuz of it.

Test it with vcore and qpi to see the sweet spot for that cpu.

wysiwyg
08-22-09, 02:58 PM
thanks

also is prime the best tester?

Mr Bigman
08-22-09, 03:28 PM
Ofcourse it is.

I went 11 hours on prime95 with mine and it never hit 150f on the core shovims

wysiwyg
08-23-09, 03:12 AM
hmm weird thing happened last night

turned on the PC after about 15 mins after i had turned i off and it refused to POST just like before when my C0 version failed, just kept restarting itself even after pressing the reset cmos button. then tried again this morning and it booted fine (with default settings)

WTF happened i do not know (no beeps either last night)

Muppet
08-23-09, 03:24 AM
hmm weird thing happened last night

turned on the PC after about 15 mins after i had turned i off and it refused to POST just like before when my C0 version failed, just kept restarting itself even after pressing the reset cmos button. then tried again this morning and it booted fine (with default settings)

WTF happened i do not know (no beeps either last night)

Have you updated to the latest bios. I used to have this issue early on. Not anymore though.

http://forums.tweaktown.com/f69/gigabyte-latest-bios-28441/

wysiwyg
08-23-09, 03:32 AM
im on F9

so no i guess though that was the latest on the download support site

ill try F10. thanks but now worried to OC it again