PDA

View Full Version : Need a new rig, please help

holmes
08-27-09, 12:42 AM
Hi all, I've been on extended vacation for the past 4 years or so. I recently saw a trailer of id's new game and am considering getting back into the hobby.. As you can see from my sig, I am in need of a completely new setup. Problem is, I have absolutely no idea what's going on in the world of gaming and high performance setups. Is AMD still good? Does Vista suck? Should I wait for windows 7? What the heck is the video card of the day? I just read a review of the nvidia 280/260, which sounds awesome. In particular I'm liking the 260 -- in the same spirit of my 6800gt perhaps? I'm looking for something somewhat affordable -- meaning everything should cost less than $1K. I'm hoping for the $700 - 800 range though. I imagine I need new everything. Please don't talk to me like I'm a newb, I've just been out of the loop for a while.. Thanks!

a12ctic
08-27-09, 12:46 AM
First of all, as a Linux user, you should read my thread discussing ATI's recent efforts on the front.

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=137174

Second, if you don't upgrade often, you should wait for r800/Nvidias next gen.

CaptNKILL
08-27-09, 01:14 AM
If I were you I'd wait a bit.

You'll definitely be able to get a nice system for $800 right now, but over the next month or two ATI and nvidia will be having their first major graphics card releases in 2-3 years. The 280\260 and even the very successful 4870 were all basically refreshes of earlier technology. The cards we'll be seeing over the next few months should offer some huge performance increases and better features. Most importantly though, they'll bring the prices of everything else down.

Bearclaw
08-27-09, 01:14 AM
If you're looking for a quad that performs well but is on the cheaper side, look at the AMD Phenom II 940. GREAT chip. Used it for gaming/editing, etc. before I sold it and got my laptop.

holmes
08-27-09, 09:19 AM