PDA

View Full Version : HDMI Connection...


$n][pErMan
08-29-09, 12:20 PM
Quick question... I am looking to hook my PC through HDMI up to my theatre system. My system specs are in my sig... but the important parts are for sound I have an X-Fi Fatal1ty and for Video I have a GTX 285. I understand the video card hookups... however... where do I hook the other end of this SPDIF cable to my sound card so I can route the sound through my video card?!?! I don't see a SPDIF connection on the sound card (at least its not screaming at me). The only SPDIF out I appear to have is on my 5.25" bay that this sound card came with. However that Output looks like a normal audio out and not the 2-pin SPDIF connection. Plus I would rather not run the connection outside of the computer case.

$n][pErMan
08-30-09, 08:07 PM
Anyone? :( Someone has to have done the same thing! (lee63)

jcrox
08-30-09, 08:53 PM
I'm not sure this is correct but isn't there a connector to the left of the power inputs on the video card?

$n][pErMan
08-31-09, 05:03 PM
I'm not sure this is correct but isn't there a connector to the left of the power inputs on the video card?
Yes... I know thats where one side goes... the problem is I can't find where it goes on the X-Fi Fatal1ty card :( The only SPDIF out I see is on the external 5.25" bay module and its a different connection type.

Bman212121
08-31-09, 07:34 PM
The best answer I can find is here:

http://www.driverheaven.net/audio-general-technical-discussion/51505-soundblaster-live-audigy-1-2-x-fi-pinouts.html

It looks like you'd have to try to hook up the other end of your cable to pins 9 and 10 where your current ribbon cable for the front panel goes. Other than that I don't know of a way to do it.

Dr.Nick
09-01-09, 01:58 PM
This is where i hook it up to my Gamer Fatality which should be identical to yours minus the drive bay. Not sure where to plug it if the drive bay uses those pins though. Hope it helps and sorry for the crappy pic, I had to use my phone

http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/6165/img00012200909011444.th.jpg (http://img190.imageshack.us/i/img00012200909011444.jpg/)

$n][pErMan
09-01-09, 07:13 PM
Awesome... exactly what I needed! Thanks guys! :)

CaptNKILL
09-02-09, 02:14 AM
This is where i hook it up to my Gamer Fatality which should be identical to yours minus the drive bay. Not sure where to plug it if the drive bay uses those pins though. Hope it helps and sorry for the crappy pic, I had to use my phone

http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/6165/img00012200909011444.th.jpg (http://img190.imageshack.us/i/img00012200909011444.jpg/)
Crappy pic? :headexplode:

That's an awesome pic. I never would have thought that was from a phone.

OT: Its amazing how convenient digital cameras have made things like this. Without digital cameras people would have to sit there and screw with drawing up a diagram or take a photo, get it developed and then scan it. :p

Dr.Nick
09-02-09, 01:20 PM
heh i blame the spoils of the digital age and dirt cheap 10+MP cameras:) But if you think my BB storm takes nice pics I wonder what we'll be saying about the new 8MP phones coming out. That is just crazy and if it keeps moving like this dedicated cameras will be done for.

$n][pErMan
09-03-09, 09:12 PM
Got it working! :) However, DTS works just fine... I can test it in windows and hear it work.... the problem is... my games don't appear to be using my surround sound system properly. :( Any ideas? They seem to just play in stereo mode... or sometimes 5.1... but in a limited scense where the Sub is not being used for the Bass. :(

Starscream
09-03-09, 09:41 PM
[pErMan;2079143']Got it working! :) However, DTS works just fine... I can test it in windows and hear it work.... the problem is... my games don't appear to be using my surround sound system properly. :( Any ideas? They seem to just play in stereo mode... or sometimes 5.1... but in a limited scense where the Sub is not being used for the Bass. :(

SPDIF was only ever meant to carry 2 channels of audio. The only way you'll get 5.1 over SPDIF is through a dolby encoded source. So if the games don't output dolby surround, you won't get 5.1.

$n][pErMan
09-04-09, 01:27 PM
SPDIF was only ever meant to carry 2 channels of audio. The only way you'll get 5.1 over SPDIF is through a dolby encoded source. So if the games don't output dolby surround, you won't get 5.1.

Well that sucks... :( Do you know if the optical out will carry all channels of sound? If I can't hook the PC up to my reciever and get 5.1 out... I might have to build a PC just for the theatre system and go back to gaming on my other speaker setup and monitor. Surround sound is a must for gaming! :)

Dr.Nick
09-04-09, 05:39 PM
I think optical is still SPDIF but I don't know much about these things. I remember asking the same thing a few years ago and was told analog is the only way to get 5.1 from all my games:(

Starscream
09-04-09, 11:25 PM
[pErMan;2079499']Well that sucks... :( Do you know if the optical out will carry all channels of sound? If I can't hook the PC up to my reciever and get 5.1 out... I might have to build a PC just for the theatre system and go back to gaming on my other speaker setup and monitor. Surround sound is a must for gaming! :)

Optical is still SPDIF, same limitations.

$n][pErMan
09-05-09, 04:21 PM
Good to know.. thanks. Wish there was a digital way to get Surround Sound from my PC without it having to be DTS! :( Although DTS games would be pretty sweet... :)

Dr.Nick
09-11-09, 07:48 PM
I think I may have a solution to your problem and it seems it is possible to get 5.1 from all your games and apps via spdif. Check this (http://buy.soundblaster.com/_creativelabsstore/cgi-bin/pd.cgi?frompage=category&page=product_detail&fromcategory=Software&category=Software&pid=F2222DDN6Z2H2ADDEZD) out.

CaptNKILL
09-11-09, 08:07 PM
I think I may have a solution to your problem and it seems it is possible to get 5.1 from all your games and apps via spdif. Check this (http://buy.soundblaster.com/_creativelabsstore/cgi-bin/pd.cgi?frompage=category&page=product_detail&fromcategory=Software&category=Software&pid=F2222DDN6Z2H2ADDEZD) out.

I used that for a while. Worked great, but I had some glitches recently and switched back to analog since my Z5500 has 5.1 analog inputs.

Actually, you should check to see if your X-Fi Fatal1ty came with that feature already. I know some of the more high end X-Fi cards already have it so you don't have to buy the license.

Dr.Nick
09-12-09, 12:14 AM
Thanks for the heads up. The price is not that bad so I am thinking about picking it up myself. I do notice they say there are some issues with sli on some boards tho; what were yours if you don't mind me asking? Were you on the latest drivers? I'm still rocking the logitech z680's but I only use those on my desk so it would be nice to run a cable to my receiver for when on the tv. I wonder if win 7 causes any probs too