PDA

View Full Version : 190.62 WHQL - Overclocking on Windows 7


snowmanwithahat
09-02-09, 12:52 PM
Hey,

So I feel like an idiot... I've been into computers for a LONG time and overclocked lots of video cards... but the good old coolbits reg. hack doesn't seem to work with Windows 7... Rivatuner also won't let me overclock without coolbits being installed.

Does anyone know if there's a way to overclock the video card with Windows 7? ... I'm on RTM 7600 - not the beta or RC anymore so i figured it'd get ironed out by now... but it doesn't seem to be.

mailman2
09-02-09, 01:00 PM
Hey,

So I feel like an idiot... I've been into computers for a LONG time and overclocked lots of video cards... but the good old coolbits reg. hack doesn't seem to work with Windows 7... Rivatuner also won't let me overclock without coolbits being installed.

Does anyone know if there's a way to overclock the video card with Windows 7? ... I'm on RTM 7600 - not the beta or RC anymore so i figured it'd get ironed out by now... but it doesn't seem to be.


EVGA precision.

snowmanwithahat
09-02-09, 01:14 PM
Thanks

I'll give it a shot.

snowmanwithahat
09-02-09, 02:03 PM
Worked great! thanks

has anyone bothered ever overclocking physx cards? I'm using a 8600 GT... I just dont' see it being worth it and don't know of any benchmarks to judge whether or not it'd be worth it.... it was also loud so it's running passively (2 slot cooler though)... I'm not sure if I should push it or not.

mailman2
09-02-09, 04:31 PM
Worked great! thanks

has anyone bothered ever overclocking physx cards? I'm using a 8600 GT... I just dont' see it being worth it and don't know of any benchmarks to judge whether or not it'd be worth it.... it was also loud so it's running passively (2 slot cooler though)... I'm not sure if I should push it or not.

Doubt it would really matter.

snowmanwithahat
09-10-09, 12:49 AM
Doesn't seem to matter... Physx is hardly used anyway... interesting idea though but not super useful yet

betterdan
09-10-09, 07:17 AM
I wonder why nobody knows about Nvidia's own overclocking utility which can be found here http://www.nvidia.com/object/nvidia_system_tools_6.05.html

mailman2
09-10-09, 09:43 AM
I wonder why nobody knows about Nvidia's own overclocking utility which can be found here http://www.nvidia.com/object/nvidia_system_tools_6.05.html

Cause precision rocks and isnt that ntune? (which, if it is, Ntune just sucks.)