PDA

View Full Version : Would i see a good increase in performance.


prodikal
06-27-03, 10:42 PM
I just got my 5900 Ultra in the mail. I currently have a Soyo KT333 A gig of ram and an XP1800. Would i see any increase in FPS at all if i upgraded to a Abit NF7-S and a Barton 2500 with a gig of ram??

john19055
06-27-03, 10:49 PM
You should see a big increase in performance unless you are overclocking the helll out of that Xp1800 to 2..2 or higher ,but that Barton 2500 should run at 2.2gig with no problems.

b00bie
06-27-03, 11:23 PM
Originally posted by prodikal
I just got my 5900 Ultra in the mail. I currently have a Soyo KT333 A gig of ram and an XP1800. Would i see any increase in FPS at all if i upgraded to a Abit NF7-S and a Barton 2500 with a gig of ram??

Well, if you like overclocking, this is the perfect board to do it on. Then you should see an increase in performance for sure ;)

Geforce4ti4200
06-30-03, 05:03 AM
If your ram can take higher fsb. I would get a kt400 instead cause that mobo unlocks your cpu also its not picky about ram

Grechie
06-30-03, 08:47 PM
i got a question....i have a 1600+ 512 DDR RAM, A7N8X Deluxe and Ti4200, will i see a performance increase in games and or in 3d mark 2001 if i upgrade to a 2500+ Barton ? isnt the MHZ between the 2 not much ?
i currently get 10000 marks...

Thanx :)

p.s i dont want to overclock!

The Baron
06-30-03, 09:11 PM
Why would anyone buy a KT400? NF2 beats the bejeezus out of it any day of the week and unlocks it to boot.

Geforce4ti4200
06-30-03, 10:15 PM
Originally posted by -=Gib-McFragger=-
Yea, VIA isn't exactly known for stability. The KT400 was a joke, and offered nada in performance increase over the KT333.

IMO, get the NF2 board, they overclock great, and even if you DON'T overclock, they are great boards. :)



umm right I have a kt400 and its very fast and stable and unlocked my xp2000, see sig. also shes not picky with ram. all my friends have probs with nf2, no thanks for me

b00bie
06-30-03, 10:18 PM
Originally posted by Geforce4ti4200
umm right I have a kt400 and its very fast and stable and unlocked my xp2000, see sig. also shes not picky with ram. all my friends have probs with nf2, no thanks for me

hmm... never heared of any probs with it being picky about RAM. I also see that you have corsair mem; don't tell me that you had probs with that :rolleyes:

what are the probs and with what memory? :confused:

Geforce4ti4200
07-01-03, 08:39 AM
the nf2 is picky with most ram, ESPECIALLY hyperX! also that mobo is not as stable and often experiences sudden death, one friend switched to Intel after he RMAed the nf2 three times cause it stopped working! and its many friends that had the problem, so you can bet it soured me over the nf2, I dont care if the nf2 is faster, id rather have realiability. I know not everyone has problems with the nf2, but my chances with the kt400 are more favorable :)

The Baron
07-01-03, 09:19 AM
KT400 = KT333 with a few bug fixes.

KT600 has a chance of being faster than NF2 at least, but time will tell.

And those stability problems with the nF2? GONE! Yes, gone. Most people don't have Sudden BIOS Death Syndrome anymore. HyperX, yeah, it has problems with that, so do yourself a favor and get better ram to begin with (Corsair).

Buying the KT400 is ultimately a stupid decision since it has no support for 400Mhz Athlons.

Smokey
07-01-03, 06:53 PM
Originally posted by The Baron

Buying the KT400 is ultimately a stupid decision since it has no support for 400Mhz Athlons.

My KT3Ultra doesnt "offically" support any 333 cpus either ;)

All you have to do is set the fsb to 200 to have a 400MHz Athlon running at stock, alot of people run thier FSB at 200 :D

The Baron
07-01-03, 07:04 PM
Yeah, but it's not like you can OC it past 200.

And it's not guaranteed to run at 200Mhz, and if it 'splodes, they will refuse to replace it since you were technically overclocking.

ricercar
07-01-03, 10:47 PM
Originally posted by The Baron
KT600 has a chance of being faster than NF2 at least, but time will tell.

NVIDIA's got tests on KT600. In single-channel mode KT600 is on par with NForce2 in single-channel. VIA hasn't got dual-channel, so nForce2 blows away KT600 with two DDR DIMMs.

The Baron
07-01-03, 10:50 PM
Ah, well, that answers that.

But why would you run nF2 in single channel?

Geforce4ti4200
07-02-03, 01:59 AM
dual channel cant overclock as well and you cant run as high a fsb. also nf2 also isnt guaranteed at 200fsb either. The way I put it, both mobos are equal in performance with single channel, the nf2 is 5% faster in dual but the kt400 is much more problem free.

ricercar
07-02-03, 01:06 PM
Originally posted by Geforce4ti4200
nf2 also isnt guaranteed at 200fsb either.

This turns out not to be the case. nForce2 400, and nForce2 400 Ultra are "guaranteed" at 200 MHz/400 MHz DDR. That's precisely why they're called nForce2 "400."

The Baron
07-02-03, 01:15 PM
After using a KT400 board and a nF2 board, I have to say that the nF2 wins completely. I have not had a single stability problem (except when I was screwing up my memory timings, and that only caused sound problems), it's fast, overclocks well, and has the best damn onboard sound I've ever heard. And look at the price difference--I don't think you're going to find an Audigy 2 for that price.

john19055
07-02-03, 08:19 PM
I had a Asus A7V333 (KT333) and with the same ram 0n my new ASUS A7V8X-Deluxe2.0 with dual channel I gained about 12% in most of my benchmarks,and this board is just as stable as my Via (KT333) was.

prodikal
07-03-03, 12:22 AM
well then the question IS NF7-s or A7N8X deluxe. but i hear A7N8X has no mounting holes

b00bie
07-03-03, 08:24 AM
Originally posted by prodikal
well then the question IS NF7-s or A7N8X deluxe. but i hear A7N8X has no mounting holes

Both great boards. Very similar, but if you like overclocking, the NF7-s will give you more options :)

Geforce4ti4200
07-03-03, 08:40 AM
Originally posted by john19055
I had a Asus A7V333 (KT333) and with the same ram 0n my new ASUS A7V8X-Deluxe2.0 with dual channel I gained about 12% in most of my benchmarks,and this board is just as stable as my Via (KT333) was.


thats because of dual channel which doubles the ram bandwith. but dual channel does not overclock well anyway

The Baron
07-03-03, 08:53 AM
thats because of dual channel which doubles the ram bandwith. but dual channel does not overclock well anyway
You're the only person who's ever said dual channel does not OC well. I mean, most people have increased the FSB to 200 from 166 no problem, and some have done a lot more than that.

Riptide
07-03-03, 10:06 AM
I have read a few things about canterwoods being a little finicky with regard to memory, which might also make it difficult to OC them in DC. I understand you're not talking about canterwoods here, but it's still DC.

B&R
07-03-03, 09:58 PM
Originally posted by prodikal
I just got my 5900 Ultra in the mail. I currently have a Soyo KT333 A gig of ram and an XP1800. Would i see any increase in FPS at all if i upgraded to a Abit NF7-S and a Barton 2500 with a gig of ram??
For sure... hope ur ram is DDR 333Mhz.