PDA

View Full Version : If I put Win7 on a new drive......


Quick420
10-24-09, 01:43 PM
I have Xp on my machine right now.If I was to install Win7 on a seperate new drive,would I be able to choose which O/S to boot? I have dual-booted before,but both O/S's were on the same h/drive.I'm thinking I would have to enter the bios and select which drive to boot off of everytime I wanted to switch.If it works I will install win7 then install games,programs etc then migrate settings,save games and all that BS before bidding XP a fond farewell.Thnx for looking;)

AthlonXP1800
10-24-09, 02:25 PM
If you install Windows 7 on a new drive then you will have triple boot to choose so no need to go in BIOS.

hardeep
10-25-09, 08:32 AM
How old is your bios? For the last few years any bios I have seen has had the option to press F8 to get a boot option menu, (rather than going into the bios, changing options and having to reboot.)

I have Vista, (as the default OS,) on one drive, W7 on another and just press F8 if I want to use W7.

K007
10-26-09, 04:44 AM
bios / os has gone a long way u dont need to do that anymore.

The os after installation of ure second os will give you the option to pick, if u want to alter this just go into msconfig.

CaptNKILL
10-26-09, 04:49 AM
I think the only time dual or triple booting is an issue is when you install an older OS after a newer one.

For example, if you install XP after Vista it will ruin any of the Vista boot records because XP was never made to be aware of Vista installations. If you install XP and then Vista, Vista will recognize the old XP install and add it to the boot menu before the OS loads. I did this on my system for quite a while and it worked great.

Quick420
10-26-09, 02:27 PM
Thanks guys gonna go grab my copy today:cool: