PDA

View Full Version : Quake 2 and Windows 7.


Bandit
10-25-09, 07:45 AM
When I run Quake II on Default OpenGL it says "Quake II has stopped responding." Could someone please help me? I don't like software mode. :|

CaptNKILL
10-25-09, 01:26 PM
Have you tried any compatibility modes?

You might also want to try a more up to date openGL driver for Quake 2...

http://www.r1ch.net/stuff/r1gl/

Bandit
10-26-09, 04:37 AM
I don't want to use r1gl, but Quake 2 Xp. Both Quake 2 xp and Quake 2 don't work in OpenGL. Compatibility mode doesn't help either.

AdamK47
10-26-09, 09:40 AM
I have a solution for you right here. (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?goto=newpost&t=140452)

If you don't want to do that, then revert to a driver prior to 191.00.

Bandit
10-26-09, 12:28 PM
I use 191.07 and I don't have any problems with Q3 e.g. darkplaces runs flawlessy. No changes in nhancer neeeded. Changing profile to Q2 and adding this 11a8 doesn't solve the problem.

AdamK47
10-26-09, 01:02 PM
I'll try running Quake 2 when I get home. I know this solution fixed Anachonox and Call of Duty 1.

Rakeesh
10-26-09, 01:43 PM
Is quake 2 still obtainable these days? My original CD seems a bit on the destroyed side.

AdamK47
10-26-09, 03:22 PM
My game was installed off of the original CD I purchased back in 97. The original CD audio is great.

Atomizer
10-27-09, 04:11 AM
Is quake 2 still obtainable these days? My original CD seems a bit on the destroyed side.

I recently bought the ID Super Pack(http://store.steampowered.com/sub/440/), even though i still have my quake, quake 2 and quake 3 discs, and even doom1/2 disks around here somewhere, well worth it

FatRakoon
04-06-10, 09:49 PM
Hmmm.... I wonder...

That ID pack.

I too have a fair load of those, most of them in fact... I think maybe all.

However, to have them under steam might be a good options, but ...

Will this cure the issues such as Win7 compatibility?

Its no good if it dont cure the issues.

What of the Music from the CD ( Q1 / Q2 etc ) does it compensate by giving us the music "IN-GAME" or is that missing?