PDA

View Full Version : Realtek LAN: Device Cannot Start


CaptNKILL
10-25-09, 08:38 PM
Alright, I just installed Windows 7 on a system I'm building.

The system is using a Gigabyte G41M-ES2L motherboard with integrated Realtek gigabyte ethernet.

When I installed windows the pre-installed driver just gave me a "the device cannot start" "Code 10" error. The installation disk for the motherboard didn't have a windows 7 driver so I just manually installed the vista driver through device manager.

Same error.

I downloaded the latest 7 driver from realtek.

Same error.

I downloaded the latest 7 driver from gigabyte.

Same error.

:headexplode:

Is there anything I can do here or am I at the mercy of realtek's driver development team?

I used the BIOS "Smart LAN" feature and it detected that the network was 1Gbit so it seems to be working to some extent.

BTW, this is a great first impression 7 is leaving on me. :bleh:

|MaguS|
10-25-09, 08:45 PM
Yeah you have to get it from the manufacturer, the one that MS provides doesn't work. I had to rollback to the default ones at first install after an update. Gigabyte had a new version for me to download though.

http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Support/Motherboard/Driver_Model.aspx?ProductID=3024&ost=windows+7+64bit#anchor_os

CaptNKILL
10-25-09, 08:53 PM
As I said, I installed that driver and 2 others with no luck.

Rummy
10-25-09, 08:57 PM
Are you using a router? I had trouble installing drivers for my P6T when using a router. I hooked up the lan straight to the mobo and the drivers installed. Then hooked it up to the router and it worked.

betterdan
10-25-09, 08:58 PM
Hmm I have an integrated Realtek gigabit ethernet on my Gigabyte motherboard and the driver that came with Windows 7 worked fine. I did update the driver to the latest one on the Gigabyte site and it worked fine also.

CaptNKILL
10-25-09, 09:05 PM
Are you using a router? I had trouble installing drivers for my P6T when using a router. I hooked up the lan straight to the mobo and the drivers installed. Then hooked it up to the router and it worked.

I installed the OS without the cable connected originally.

I also tried installing drivers with it connected to the router.

CaptNKILL
10-25-09, 09:50 PM
Ok, this is really getting irritating.

I've tried everything. Nothing works.

No drivers will install properly on this thing. It just says "this device cannot start".

I tried with the network cable unplugged, with it plugged into the router, and with it plugged into the modem directly. I even reset the modem with the cable connected from the modem to the computer and tried a few different combinations of rebooting and installing drivers from three different locations.

Nothing works, and I have someone who is expecting this computer in a few days.

EDIT: The only thing left that I can try is to download a vista driver to see if that will work.

mojoman0
10-25-09, 09:56 PM
could it possibly be hardware related?

CaptNKILL
10-25-09, 10:04 PM
could it possibly be hardware related?

If the network chip is bad I'm going to stab someone.

Rummy
10-25-09, 10:17 PM
Just a shot in the dark here, but check power savings. Maybe its shutting the lan down to save energy.

Also are you installing the driver through device manager?

nekrosoft13
10-25-09, 10:25 PM
tried realtek network diagnostic software something bla bla

Vista Diagnostic Program
http://www.realtek.com.tw/DOWNLOADS/downloadsView.aspx?Langid=1&PNid=13&PFid=5&Level=5&Conn=4&DownTypeID=3&GetDown=false

direct link won't work, this tool will help you diagnose the issue

CaptNKILL
10-25-09, 10:25 PM
Just a shot in the dark here, but check power savings. Maybe its shutting the lan down to save energy.

Also are you installing the driver through device manager?

Yeah, I've tried the installers and I've tried device manager.

I'll check the power savings settings, but I disabled Green LAN in the BIOS so it shouldn't be doing that.

Right now I'm trying an old Ubuntu disk I had laying around but its too old and wouldn't have the proper drivers anyway so it isn't helping at all.

CaptNKILL
10-25-09, 10:41 PM
Anyone have any ideas at all?

I'm downloading a new Ubuntu live CD just to test out the LAN, but if it works I still don't know what to do.

Maybe I could throw in an old piece of crap 10/100 PCI card but I hate doing half-assed stuff like that.

CaptNKILL
10-25-09, 11:27 PM
Well, Ubuntu didn't help any.

It doesn't work and I don't know if the LAN card is missing a driver or if its just not picking up the network connection. I have no idea where to look at a list of installed devices and their drivers in this OS.

I downloaded a driver but since executables don't exist and apparently installation instructions are below Linux driver programmers I have no idea what to do with it.

Right now I'm thinking about sticking my board in the computer I'm building and buying a new P45 board for my system. I'd have a worthless bottom of the barrel G41 board laying around, but I could always save it for another system.

I just hate to have to kill my system to do this.

EDIT: I'm going to try one more time to reinstall 7 on this computer and install the driver straight from gigabyte. If that doesn't work I'm going to toss the hard drive in my rig and boot up 7 with my system. If the ethernet on my board works fine then I'll just swap out the boards and order a Gigabyte P45 UD3P for my rig. This would solve a bunch of problems at once, though it would cost me a good chunk of change. I'd finally have PCI-E 2.0 and a second slot to use my 9600GT for a physx card, and I should be able to overclock my Q9550 a little better. The P35 will also allow me to overclock the E6750 in the other system, which is what I intended from the beginning.

I'll probably have to just toss XP onto a drive to test the G41 board too just to make 100% sure that its just a 7\vista driver problem and not a problem with the board. If the board is defective then I'll have to RMA it. Either way though I don't have time to wait for that now. I need to finish this system by the end of the week.

CaptNKILL
10-26-09, 04:02 AM
Well, I installed 7 on my system just to see if the onboard network on my P35 board works and it worked immediately without a single problem.

I installed Vista on the G41 system and it has the SAME problem with the onboard network chip. The default driver had a code 10 error, and so did the latest vista driver direct from realtek. If it does it in Vista and 7 with multiple drivers under multiple different situations, that's more than just coincidence.

So, I think I'm just going to RMA this thing and tell them to give me a refund. If I have to I'll eat the 15% fee just to get it out of my hair. I'm not going to need another board for quite a while so it makes no sense to spend the $10 to ship it back for RMA just to have a sub par board laying around for 6 months waiting for a system.

Muppet
10-26-09, 04:33 AM
I get the same problem when using the latest Realtek driver. Had to go back to an earlier version. That fixed it for me. That was in Vista though.

Sean_W
10-26-09, 08:21 AM
Well, Ubuntu didn't help any.

It doesn't work and I don't know if the LAN card is missing a driver or if its just not picking up the network connection. I have no idea where to look at a list of installed devices and their drivers in this OS.

I downloaded a driver but since executables don't exist and apparently installation instructions are below Linux driver programmers I have no idea what to do with it.

Right now I'm thinking about sticking my board in the computer I'm building and buying a new P45 board for my system. I'd have a worthless bottom of the barrel G41 board laying around, but I could always save it for another system.

I just hate to have to kill my system to do this.

EDIT: I'm going to try one more time to reinstall 7 on this computer and install the driver straight from gigabyte. If that doesn't work I'm going to toss the hard drive in my rig and boot up 7 with my system. If the ethernet on my board works fine then I'll just swap out the boards and order a Gigabyte P45 UD3P for my rig. This would solve a bunch of problems at once, though it would cost me a good chunk of change. I'd finally have PCI-E 2.0 and a second slot to use my 9600GT for a physx card, and I should be able to overclock my Q9550 a little better. The P35 will also allow me to overclock the E6750 in the other system, which is what I intended from the beginning.

I'll probably have to just toss XP onto a drive to test the G41 board too just to make 100% sure that its just a 7\vista driver problem and not a problem with the board. If the board is defective then I'll have to RMA it. Either way though I don't have time to wait for that now. I need to finish this system by the end of the week.

In Ubuntu you can do a number of things. Type dmesg to see what happened on boot or lspci -v in the terminal(you may need to use sudo) to get a readout of all of the devices. I assume Network Manager didn't pick anything up then?

You could try the Ubuntu wiki http://ubuntuguide.org/wiki/Ubuntu:Jaunty

Q
10-26-09, 09:01 AM
I had the same problem. My solution was to use an Intel Pro NIC. MUCH faster and reliable. I even went through the Ubuntu thing.

Sorry for the lack of help.