PDA

View Full Version : Geil DDR 500


prodikal
06-29-03, 10:52 AM
This is some pretty wicked stuff. Dual Channel DDR 500 or PC 4000. Heres the Linkage http://www.pcinpact.com/actu/news/9592.htm

Sazar
06-29-03, 11:00 AM
Originally posted by prodikal
This is some pretty wicked stuff. Dual Channel DDR 500 or PC 4000. Heres the Linkage http://www.pcinpact.com/actu/news/9592.htm

the box says pc3700... am I missing something... or is it purely overclocked ?

-edit- nm the other pic has the pc4000 on it :)

digitalwanderer
06-29-03, 11:00 AM
I posted up at a few sites I hang at asking about the Geil Golden Dragon PC3200 2x256Mb matched DDRAM and have been hearing some seriously mixed results on it, ESPECIALLY with nForce2 mobos. :(

Sazar
06-29-03, 11:05 AM
Originally posted by digitalwanderer
I posted up at a few sites I hang at asking about the Geil Golden Dragon PC3200 2x256Mb matched DDRAM and have been hearing some seriously mixed results on it, ESPECIALLY with nForce2 mobos. :(

nforce2 boards are finicky with the memory... :(

I should know.. we had to rma 5 sets of dual clips for our asus boards @ work... got corsair XMS instead coz it works better... but not everyone is going to be able to afford the upgrade...

digitalwanderer
06-29-03, 11:12 AM
Originally posted by Sazar
nforce2 boards are finicky with the memory... :(
Slightly OT, but this damned boxed K7N2-L sitting next to me is eating at me brain....

What brand of GOOD memory would you suggest for an nForce2 for the absolute cheapest possible? I'm working on a zero budget, but I AM working on it...

Sazar
06-29-03, 11:15 AM
Originally posted by digitalwanderer
Slightly OT, but this damned boxed K7N2-L sitting next to me is eating at me brain....

What brand of GOOD memory would you suggest for an nForce2 for the absolute cheapest possible? I'm working on a zero budget, but I AM working on it...

really can't say.. best thing is to look @ customer reviews @ sites like newegg...

crucial had problems but I think samsung should be just fine for you...

digitalwanderer
06-29-03, 11:35 AM
Originally posted by Sazar
I think samsung should be just fine for you...
That's the fourth person who's recomended Samsung to me for a value memory who's opinion I respect....it's time to shop!

Thanks Sazar, muchly appreciated. :)

DivotMaker
06-29-03, 11:39 AM
Originally posted by digitalwanderer
What brand of GOOD memory would you suggest for an nForce2 for the absolute cheapest possible? I'm working on a zero budget, but I AM working on it...

Here is the company I bought my 1 GB of Dual Channel PC3500 Winbond memory from. I bought at a good time too...$199 two weeks ago versus $279 today. The memory works fantastically in my Intel i875 rig...

1GB of DC 3200 is going for $189 right now...

http://www.hardcorecooling.us/subcatmfgprod.asp?0=200&1=201&2=-1&6=1

Sazar
06-29-03, 11:52 AM
Originally posted by digitalwanderer
That's the fourth person who's recomended Samsung to me for a value memory who's opinion I respect....it's time to shop!

Thanks Sazar, muchly appreciated. :)

well... lol.. they ARE the largest dram maker... :)

digitalwanderer
06-29-03, 12:11 PM
Originally posted by Sazar
well... lol.. they ARE the largest dram maker... :)
The only time I give memory a thought is when I'm building a new rig, sort of the way I am with CPUs and mobos. I don't bother to really keep up with them until I need to, then I just leech enough knowledge of me board buds to make an informed decision and then don't think about it again until either install problems or overclocking time. (Well, at least I'm honest. :) )

I sort of picked up this mobo on a whim and I STILL ain't sure what I'm gonna do with it. I was going to pick up a new case and cycle all the 'puters down the line so I could give me daughter a decent rig. (At 3 she's outgrowing Babs already :rolleyes: , see sig) But we're trying to eliminate our debts right now so the wife is psychotic if I even MENTION an upgrade, so I am just trying to find the cheapes possible option to upgrade Bubbles to this board for now. The most I might do is steal me sons 450w ennermax for my 350w, but aside from that I'm just gonna swap the mobo/memory/CPU.

I'm thinking I'll end up waiting until the next PC show rolls around before I'll be able to do this, I LIKE upgrading on a strictly cash basis and not telling her. ;) (It's the only thing I lie to me wife about. :rolleyes: )

Dazz
06-29-03, 05:55 PM
I have a K7N2-L and it seems to like my Crucial & TwinMOS memory just dandy :)

Geforce4ti4200
06-30-03, 04:56 AM
I dont like nf2 boards cause they are darn finicky with ram. also dual channel is confusing :rolleyes: anyway ram ratings dont seem to mean much, like I had a samsung pc3200 stick that wouldnt do past 133fsb at 2-2-2-6-t1 and im serious but my corsair pc2700 one does 166MHz the other 182MHz both at 2.95v at 2-2-2-6-t1 and there have been people who gotten pc2100 past 200fsb and people who could get past 180fsb on pc3500 this is why I dont buy into anything faster than pc2700. Oh by the way 2 of my pc2100 sticks did 166fsb so far at slow timings

john19055
07-02-03, 08:37 PM
Why on system memory can't that use the memory like on a video card like BGA witch can run at 2.2ns up to 900mhz or does it have something to do with the cas, or lacetacy,just wondering.

Geforce4ti4200
07-02-03, 09:05 PM
if you want to pay $1000 per stick.........

gokickrocks
07-02-03, 10:41 PM
or that they have a cas latency of 5 (horrible for amd's, might be ok for intels)

eyeguy616
07-06-03, 11:16 AM
Look here (http://www.hardcorecooling.us/subcatmfgprod.asp?0=200&1=201&2=-1&6=1) for some good prices on ram. I bought two sticks of 256mb ram from them a while back. They were having some kind of blow out sale, "BLOW OUT SALE: Super Fast PC2700256CL2 $29.95: 2-2-5-1 timings - Same as Corsair for less!" It uses winbond chips I think and has not hiccuped at all, even when I overclocked it to 200mhz or PC3200 spec. I didn't keep it that high since they didn't include ramsinks.... Right now you can get "SAMSUNG PC3500 - 434MHz - 256MB" for $48 or "KingMax 256MB PC3200 400Mhz" for $43. Buy two of them and you'll be able to use dual-channel, although the difference isn't that great on AMD boards. If you just want to buy one stick, "PC3500 512MB 434MHz" for $75 seems like a good deal.

~eyeguy616

Geforce4ti4200
07-06-03, 12:06 PM
ram prices have gone way up, its now like $150 for a single 512mb of pc3200 :(

eyeguy616
07-06-03, 07:48 PM
Originally posted by Geforce4ti4200
ram prices have gone way up, its now like $150 for a single 512mb of pc3200 :(

Hmm, you didn't look at the site I linked to, 'cause here's one for $90 (http://www.hardcorecooling.us/product.asp?0=200&1=201&3=437) and it's PC3500!

Oh yeah, my ram's chips aren't Winbond, they're "Vdata." Anyone know anything about Vdata? Seems like an off brand to me but they seem to work just fine and at very aggressive timings too.

~eyeguy616

prodikal
07-12-03, 12:48 PM
Here's Geil's Official Press Release about PC4000 http://www.geilusa.com/news.asp

I hear OCZ has some PC4000 too but i havent seen it yet.

gokickrocks
07-13-03, 01:41 PM
a-data makes geil look like a bunch of amateurs...

now this is wicked (314 fsb in sync)...
http://www.geocities.co.jp/SiliconValley/5883/result/3g-gp/ddr628.gif

note: this is not my rig, wish it was, but its not...its actually TAM's rig (same guy who did 5126mhz on his p4)