PDA

View Full Version : Mobo & Processor


CHEVYMAN_02
06-29-03, 05:54 PM
I am on a budget and was wondering if these two would be good together.




AMD Athlon XP 2000+ Retail - $66
and
Chaintech 7NIL1-SUMMIT NFORCE2 -69.99



I will be running DDR 400 on this setup.

Dazz
06-29-03, 05:57 PM
DDR400 would be a waste unless you plan on getting a better processor or unlocking your XP2000+.

CHEVYMAN_02
06-29-03, 06:02 PM
what if i got an AMD Athlon XP 2500+ (Barton)?

The Baron
06-29-03, 06:30 PM
Would still be a waste unless you're overclocking... but it's not hard to make a Barton 2500+ hit a 200Mhz bus.

borntosoul
06-29-03, 10:22 PM
hello chevy, i know youre on a budget but you might as well save a bit more and go up to a 2500 barton or a 2600 xp cause they really dont cost to much more price wise (they are the right on the sweet spot),its only when you get over that that pricess go up sharply.i think you should get ddr400 cause there is not that much difference on the prices and you have the option to run at 200 fsb ( with the right m/b) even with a lower multiplier if you dont want to overclock to high.good luck go for it :)

ragejg
06-29-03, 11:52 PM
uhhh... I get XP2400 speeds outta my $44 XP1700, and my $33 samsung pc2700 does 200fsb...

Bot of these components have been tested in a highly oc'ed kt266a AND a soltek nforce2...

want the part number of the ram? lemme know.

as far as the cpu... JIUCB's runn hotter and don't go quite as high as JIUHB's... but they're both nice...

go to newegg;)

CHEVYMAN_02
06-30-03, 10:45 PM
Rage they are coming from newegg.

ragejg
06-30-03, 11:45 PM
I would ditch the Palomino 2000 and get a 1700 for cheaper (which you'll be able to run @ XP2200-XP2800 speeds), or a 2100 AIUHB (you'll get 2400-2800 speeds with this) for a few pickles more...

You'll be able to enjoy high fsb, high bandwidth, no unlocking required!

:)

Chevy, you keep gettin new stuff... you burnin yer components up, sellin em, or just building a massively powerful network to take over the world?? :D:D

Smokey
07-01-03, 05:44 AM
I would get the Barton2500+

CHEVYMAN_02
07-01-03, 09:32 AM
I just figure it was time to get something newer than a KT333 and Athlon XP 1600+. Which run the ETM very well.

borntosoul
07-05-03, 12:44 AM
my cpu or mb just seized so i went out and bought a barton 2500 and an asus a7n8x-x. i know the mb isnt too flash but i got it cheap (au$130), the cpu cost me au$160 so im a happy puppy. i got some kingston ddr400 ram cause i was on budget and im running the cpu at 10 X 200 fsb with the stock fan.i tried 10.5 at 200 but no go .i have'nt touched the voltage settings. i dont know how much more i can get out of it if i mess with the voltages with the stock fan.

Smokey
07-05-03, 01:10 AM
Originally posted by borntosoul
my cpu or mb just seized so i went out and bought a barton 2500 and an asus a7n8x-x. i know the mb isnt too flash but i got it cheap (au$130), the cpu cost me au$160 so im a happy puppy. i got some kingston ddr400 ram cause i was on budget and im running the cpu at 10 X 200 fsb with the stock fan.i tried 10.5 at 200 but no go .i have'nt touched the voltage settings. i dont know how much more i can get out of it if i mess with the voltages with the stock fan.

Should be cold this time of year in Oz, so you should be fine, I wouldnt go past 1.75v though, and monitor temps with something like motherboad monitor (mbm5 latest version) Depending on what sort of temps you are looking for, I would say try to keep it to around 50c load temp max.

borntosoul
07-05-03, 01:30 AM
thx smokey, it went to about 44c (not under load) at 10.5 x 200 and it crashed while running a benchmark. i think ill just leave it as is (10 x 200). but one side of me is curious though.

B&R
07-05-03, 02:31 PM
Can u post ur system info may be that will us more.

CHEVYMAN_02
07-06-03, 10:14 AM
Who are you asking to post more of their specs?