PDA

View Full Version : 7600GT / low clock values


Petersen
11-24-09, 07:42 AM
Currently, I have a geforce 7600GT here that I was sent though I had ordered a geforce 7600GS!

First question:
Should I stay with the 7600GT instead? Looks like it is better than the 7600GS, right?

Second and more important question:
nvclock -i tells me among other things:

-- Memory info --
Amount: 512 MB
Type: 128 bit DDR
Clock: 265.500 MHz

-- Sensor info --
Sensor: GPU Internal Sensor
GPU temperature: 54C

-- VideoBios information --
Version: 05.73.22.40.01
Signon message: GeForce 7600 GT VGA BIOS
Performance level 0: gpu 400MHz/memory 532MHz/1.10V/100%


So the core clock is 400 MHz, and the memory clock 532 MHz (2x266).


I wonder if this is okay this way, or if I got some product of inferior quality...

The "Axle nvidia geforce 7600GT" is being advertized as having a core clock of 400 MHz and a memory clock of 800 MHz.

So I ask myself why nvclock shows me only 532 Mhz...


Since I am no expert here, let me have a guess:
Is the 532 MHz due to the FSB of my old motherboard (K7S41GX), 2x133MHz=266MHz, not 532 MHz, though...

But is this the reason for the nvclock results?
And would nvclock show me the advertized 800 MHz if I had a more recent system?

Sorry if this sounds all too easy.

I also noticed that my glxgears fps values at 1680x1050, 16 bit depth, are only around 6800 (with AGP 8x) enabled and not like the 10000 or more fps that I often find reports about... This is with nvclock default values of 400 core and 532 memory clock (Or should I even say 266 MHz??).

Overclocking those values caused a drastic increase in fps, though.

What kind of 7600GT is this!? Seems very crippled, and I can't find a 7600GT anywhere on the internet with such low clock values.

Does anybody know more about this?


Thanks, especially for answers to my question about the memory clock!


Petersen

Petersen
11-25-09, 10:29 AM
Hello? Nobody here?

I can't believe nobody has a clue. Is that Geforce 7600 GT with a memory clock of 266 MHz for real!? Or is it a fake? Was I ripped off?

According to www.gpureview.com there is no such card. But there are a few Geforce 7600 GS with such a combo of core clock 400 and memory clock 266 (by XFX).

Is there anything I could do to find out what card this is, if it is just a 7600GS flashed with a 7600GT BIOS or something...?

There is no fan control either, not with nvclock in Linux, and not with rivatuner in Windows.

Is it true that software based fan control can only work if the hardware supports it?


By the way, I did some overclocking tests.

I can overclock it like this:
core clock: 550 MHz
mem clock: 420 MHz

It runs stable this way (3d games included).

But if I go higher (esp. with the memory clock) the screen gets garbled and freezes.


Weird 7600 GT, isn't it?

Hope, I did not talk to the walls this time again.


EDIT:
Oh, I also ran 3dmark06 in windows xp sp3.
With default clock settings I didn't even get a score of 1500 (with default 3dmark settings of the free version), desktop bit depth 16 (does it matter??).
Granted, my Sempron 2.6 and 1 GB of RAM are not that impressive, nevertheless the score should be much higher (at least around 3000) with a REAL Geforce 7600 GT...

Overclocked (like described above) the score was almost 2500, not too good either.


Petersen

SLippe
11-26-09, 01:12 AM
What brand is it?

Petersen
11-26-09, 07:00 AM
What brand is it?

I already wrote in my first post:

"The "Axle nvidia geforce 7600GT" is being advertized as having a core clock of 400 MHz and a memory clock of 800 MHz."


Petersen

Quick420
11-26-09, 11:01 AM
In one post you mentioned you can overclock it to 550/core 420/memory.If it's ddr memory on the card its running at 840 mhz on the memory.Which makes sense,seeing as if you go any higher on the memory it flakes out and causes corruption.

Petersen
11-26-09, 11:21 AM
In one post you mentioned you can overclock it to 550/core 420/memory.If it's ddr memory on the card its running at 840 mhz on the memory.Which makes sense,seeing as if you go any higher on the memory it flakes out and causes corruption.

Thanks for answering.

2 issues here:
1) Shouldn't default values be advertized, not overclocked ones?
2) Even if we don't care for 1) any longer, those values still appear very low when compared to the usual values of core 560 and memory clock 700 (which is 700x2=1400!!).

And my 3dmark06 score is also very low even when overclocking the card.

I don't think I will keep this card. I don't like to be cheated.

I have a suspicion that this might be a 7600 GS with a flashed bios that makes it look like a 7600 GT.

Is there any software based way to find out what card this is?


Petersen

Petersen
11-26-09, 11:23 AM
In one post you mentioned you can overclock it to 550/core 420/memory.If it's ddr memory on the card its running at 840 mhz on the memory.Which makes sense,seeing as if you go any higher on the memory it flakes out and causes corruption.

Thanks for answering.

2 issues here:
1) Shouldn't default values be advertized, not overclocked ones?
2) Even if we don't care for 1) any longer, those values still appear very low when compared to the usual values of core 560 and memory clock 700 (which is 700x2=1400!!).

And my 3dmark06 score is also very low even when overclocking the card.

I don't think I will keep this card. I don't like to be cheated.

I have a suspicion that this might be a 7600 GS with a flashed bios that makes it look like a 7600 GT.

Is there any software based way to find out what card this is?


Oh, and even though I had ordered a 7600 GS (not GT) I feel cheated because this GT (and if it is called this way it should be a GT) performs worse than the average 7600 GS.


Petersen