PDA

View Full Version : Sims 3 World Adventure solution to crashing on 64 bit system


betterdan
11-29-09, 08:06 PM
I got the new World Adventures expansion pack for Sims 3, Saturday for my wife. Everytime she would go to another country in the game or try to save it, it would crash back to the desktop with no error message or anything. She couldn't play more than about 30-45 minutes without it crashing. I see a lot of people complaining about it online with no real solution.
I tried deleting her Sims 3 cache files, no luck same problem. I tried getting rid of her mods, no luck same problem. I then remmeber seeing on here where someone posted a fix for Dragon Age Origins which involved setting Large Address Aware on the executable. Here is the link with instructions on how to do it http://www.jaloonz.com/2008/04/enabling-large-address-aware-for-games.html

So I decided to edit the the following executables (after making copies of them) using the instructions and CFF Explorer program in the link above to make them large address aware...

Electronic Arts\The Sims 3 World Adventures\Game\Bin\S3launcher.exe
Electronic Arts\The Sims 3 World Adventures\Game\Bin\Sims3launcher.exe
Electronic Arts\The Sims 3 World Adventures\Game\Bin\TS3EP01.exe

Well holy crap that fixed the problem. My wife played all day with not 1 crash and she was so thankful to me she promised she'd be nice to me from now on (or at least the rest of the day ;)) :thumbsup:

Just wanted to post this in case anyone else has the expansion and is having problems like this.

Remember I am running Win 7 64 bit so if you have a 32 bit system you'll have to follow the instructions on that link for a 32 bit system after adding Large Address Aware to the executables.

crainger
11-29-09, 10:53 PM
Thanks dan. The Beagle is running 64bit, so I'll pass this info to her in case she gets crashes.

Kinda annoying we have to start doing this again on games like DA:O and it's toolset.

BTW if you have stutter on DA:O, enabling LAA should smooth it out as DA:O can get into all the RAM, it will save slower the longer you play though thanks to the mem leak. A quick quit and reload fixes that. (Keep in mind I was playing 6-10hr sessions of DA ::o: )

betterdan
11-29-09, 11:06 PM
Yep I enabled it on DAO a while back because we were getting crashes. Turned out to be the old 186.18 drivers though. After getting the latest drivers we haven't had a problem with DAO again.

Someone else posted on the Sims 3 forum they did this and it fixed their crashing too. Someone else said they made the game an exception to DEP and it fixed the Sims 3 crashing too.

nekrosoft13
11-29-09, 11:20 PM
samething a while ago fixed my audio issues in DiRT

betterdan
11-30-09, 04:46 AM
Another thing, Sims 3 was really heating up the video card. I was seeing max temps on my GTX 275 card of 83C in game. :scarey: I was getting close to 200fps in game at max settings and 1600x900 resolution.

I saw on the Sims 3 message board to enable vsync on the game (TS3.exe for Sims 3 or TS3EP01.exe for World Adventures) via the NVidia control panel and it would keep the card from getting so hot and maybe causing crashing.
After enabling Vsync it stays constantly at 60fps and after my wife played a few hours the max temp was 56C. :thumbsup:

crainger
11-30-09, 05:11 AM
All that work... Wonder what's on the cards tonight? ::naughty::

betterdan
11-30-09, 06:37 AM
Well I gotta keep the wife happy with her games. ;)

Captainrave
06-09-10, 04:00 AM
After getting many error 12s and loosing hours of game time I started looking for a fix. Nothing worked, until I found this!!! It hasn't crashed since :D

jolle
06-09-10, 06:51 AM
I got the new World Adventures expansion pack for Sims 3
Thats not better dan, thats worse.

nekrosoft13
06-09-10, 07:16 AM
CFF Explorer tweak also fixed Supreme Commander 2 for someone on these forum, forgot who it was.

I just don't understand why some of these games simply don't have this tweak enabled from the start by the developer.