PDA

View Full Version : The Saboteur - Official Thread


Pages : [1] 2 3

NarcissistZero
12-08-09, 11:38 PM
Released today on Direct2Drive, Impulse and retail. VERY good game in my opinion, so let me tell you all about it.

The last game from Pandemic, the makers of Mercenaries and Battlefront, The Saboteur is set in a highly stylized and exaggerated World War 2 setting similar to Wolfenstein. You play a member of the French resistance with a personal grudge against the Nazis. The world is black and white at first with hints of color, but as you do missions and free areas it becomes color. The gameplay is like Grand Theft Auto mixed with some Assassin's Creed climbing and athletics.

Pros:
+ Controls well, aiming feels like mouse aim and keys all work well with full remapping.
+ Black and white style works amazingly well with red blood and orange fire making striking stand-outs.
+ Graphics well done for the most part, nice textures, several options like textures, draw distance and specular effects.
+ Story well presented with lovely music and direction, good voice acting.
+ RPG-like unlock system with new character options and weapons.
+ Extremely well done nudity for a video game, very classy and it makes sense for the mood and story (off by default, turn on in settings before starting the game).
+ Main character has a James Bond feel and quips... sex-driven dialogue actually works.
+ Quick save and quick load.

Cons:
- No in-game AA or AF settings, must force. Forcing does work according to official forum.
- Pop-in even at max settings is a little too obvious, especially object fading.
- Distant textures are poor in the country areas, like Oblivion roughly.
- HUD is too large at high-res.
- While performance is smooth my machine runs the game at 35-40fps at max settings. Still, it does not feel jerky at all and no framerate dips were noticed, it feels smoother than some port at higher fps like Borderlands.

In summary the game is a little rough around the edges but seems extremely well presented and fun to play. PC port seems great other than the AA/AF forcing. Runs smooth, great shooting, I would say open-world game fans should go ahead and purchase this.

Some pics are below... NO AA IS APPLIED, I had not forced it yet.

http://img709.imageshack.us/img709/6655/33980483.jpg
http://img130.imageshack.us/img130/7834/95582644.jpg
http://img691.imageshack.us/img691/7355/13447619.jpg
http://img192.imageshack.us/img192/6314/53544464.jpg
http://img690.imageshack.us/img690/7041/85502376.jpg
http://img709.imageshack.us/img709/6924/70218854.jpg
http://img690.imageshack.us/img690/1781/26351372.jpg

bob saget
12-08-09, 11:42 PM
For some reason, remind me of Mafia. Looks very interesting. How much is it?

NarcissistZero
12-08-09, 11:46 PM
Standard fifty on D2D and Impulse... not sure about local retail.

JasonPC
12-09-09, 01:24 AM
Well looks like at least Pandemic went out creating fairly good game.

NarcissistZero
12-09-09, 01:44 AM
Pandemic was mostly absorbed into EALA actually, the head staff and many others as well as the IP. I think they might even continue to use the Pandemic name, though I could be wrong about that.

JasonPC
12-09-09, 02:07 AM
They may be absorbed but from what I read they are letting a lot of the staff go.

NarcissistZero
12-09-09, 05:03 AM
Well I never said otherwise.

On The Saboteur... the game is very fun. I played it another hour or so and while the rough edges continue to be there the core gameplay and presentation are so well done it is hard to notice. I am really enjoying the game and find it sad it is not getting more attention.

I can't force AA though... people swear nhancer general compatability works but it does not for me. Tried some other profiles and got nothing.

alitayyab
12-09-09, 06:48 AM
Con:
Doest not work on ANY/ALL ATi Cards

Though it seems that the game has no problems with XF

A patch is in works but no ETA on it is available

LydianKnight
12-09-09, 08:18 AM
by your comment about the lack of AA... is it constructed around the UE3 engine?

Destroy
12-09-09, 10:28 AM
I don't think FSAA is working at all for any card yet.

Abraxus#
12-09-09, 12:03 PM
What's the climbing/parkour like?
Is it clunky like Tomb Radier Underworld or smooth and intuitive like Assassins Creed?

fasedww
12-09-09, 01:17 PM
I'll be getting it from ups today from the egg.:D Should I play it 5870 crossfire, or my GTX280 Tri setup?

NarcissistZero
12-09-09, 01:42 PM
What's the climbing/parkour like?
Is it clunky like Tomb Radier Underworld or smooth and intuitive like Assassins Creed?

Well, that is hard to answer because I never found the new Tomb Raiders to be clunky at all with climbing. It is not as smooth as Assassin's Creed though, and the jumping animation is a little rough. The game is a little rough overall and does not feel like a mega-polished AAA title.

nekrosoft13
12-09-09, 01:59 PM
Con:
Doest not work on ANY/ALL ATi Cards

Though it seems that the game has no problems with XF

A patch is in works but no ETA on it is available

i heard about that, something about ati driver issue with multi-core cpu.

supposedly if you force it to single core then it might work

http://www.ggmania.com/?smsid=28222

nekrosoft13
12-09-09, 02:01 PM
I'll be getting it from ups today from the egg.:D Should I play it 5870 crossfire, or my GTX280 Tri setup?

Nvidia for now, there are ATI issues just wait for a fix

read here
http://www.ggmania.com/?smsid=28222

fasedww
12-09-09, 02:20 PM
Yeah ok thanks, I put the game on my mean green machine:D

alitayyab
12-09-09, 02:22 PM
i heard about that, something about ati driver issue with multi-core cpu.

supposedly if you force it to single core then it might work

http://www.ggmania.com/?smsid=28222

I did try that, it kinda feels "laggy" that way.

NarcissistZero
12-09-09, 03:24 PM
Someone said on another forum that forcing AA in Catalyst makes it work on ATI cards. Weird, but who knows.

I can't force AA at all of course despite many, many people saying it works.

Destroy
12-09-09, 03:51 PM
Someone said on another forum that forcing AA in Catalyst makes it work on ATI cards. Weird, but who knows.

I can't force AA at all of course despite many, many people saying it works.

Before/After pics or it didn't happen, I say.

NarcissistZero
12-09-09, 04:31 PM
Still can't get AA to work, I even used some dudes "custom profile" for nhancer which was just general compatability with 8xMSAA applied, which didn't work. A lot of the game is smooth by default as many games without AA options are now-a-days, so I think people just think AA is on when it isn't.

Anyway, loving the game, pay attention to this one if you like games with great ideas, great moods and fun gameplay despite rough edges.

More pics:

http://img13.imageshack.us/img13/747/sab1v.jpg
http://img31.imageshack.us/img31/7741/sab2j.jpg
http://img23.imageshack.us/img23/3513/sab3v.jpg
http://img31.imageshack.us/img31/2745/sab4.jpg

fasedww
12-09-09, 05:08 PM
Yeah it's pretty good. Also it uses two of my tri sli cards, not 3 but still plays plenty good.:D

Kaguya
12-09-09, 05:26 PM
Still can't get AA to work, I even used some dudes "custom profile" for nhancer which was just general compatability with 8xMSAA applied, which didn't work. A lot of the game is smooth by default as many games without AA options are now-a-days, so I think people just think AA is on when it isn't.

Anyway, loving the game, pay attention to this one if you like games with great ideas, great moods and fun gameplay despite rough edges.


Wow, this pics look pretty good considering there's no AA running. Could be that they got smoothed from being scaled down, but it looks good! Definitely considering this one, though I have so many games right now :D

NarcissistZero
12-09-09, 07:17 PM
The enviornments and such have some kind of natural AA applied, the jaggies really only show up on characters and vehicles.

Another pro and con:
+ When you destroy Nazi towers, outposts, propoganda speakers, zeppelins, whatever, they stay gone. Systematically destroying these things makes future operations in those areas easier, which makes it feel like progress.

- Changing weapons is sort of clunky... it seems your weapon gets auto-put-away when doing certain actions and when picking weapons if you hit the wrong button you have to wait for the animation to stop to hit another button.

|MaguS|
12-09-09, 07:42 PM
Sigh, I got the game waiting for me at Best Buy for when i get off work. I hate you...

NarcissistZero
12-09-09, 08:49 PM
Hahaha... make sure to turn the boobies on before you start! lol.

It really is a good game, just rough around the edges. I have seen you be sensitive to that before, so I hope you are not dissapointed.