PDA

View Full Version : Kingston V-Series 64GB SSD

DiscipleDOC
12-15-09, 11:59 AM
http://www.buy.com/prod/kingston-64gb-ssdnow-v-series-drive-desktop-bundle/q/loc/101/211220744.html

What do you guys think about this drive?

Redeemed
12-15-09, 12:05 PM
Even just for windows and programs... I'm doubtful 64GB is large enough. When I go SSD, it'll probably be *minimal* of 80GB... I'm thinking more along the lines of 120 or 160GB though...

But if it'll work for you, get it. I have no experience with how well they perform though. I do know, that atleast around here, Intel's drives seem to be *really* popular- Intel and OCZ.

hirantha
12-15-09, 12:18 PM
Well i got a 30GB SSD just for the OS. I have Win 7 installed, its so freaking fast!!!. Just install the OS on the SSD everything else will feel Fast :)

Redeemed
12-15-09, 12:20 PM
So even if an application is on your HDD, just having the OS on the SSD will speed up loading applications?

I figured that to see a benefit from the SSD, you'd have to have your apps installed on it. I mean, if you have your apps on your HDD, then it's dependent on the HDD's speed as to how fast things load, while on the SSD it'll be the SSD's speed.

Am I right? :o

hirantha
12-15-09, 12:28 PM
Yes you are right... but cuz the OS is on a faster drive the time it takes to seek files and stuff is really low so it feels faster. That's what i think. after you see how fast the OS boots you will forget about everything else thats slow in the machine :D

Redeemed
12-15-09, 12:31 PM
So in other words... it's placebo. :p

This just confirms that whenever I go SSD, it'll have to be with a drive large enough to hold windows and all my programs.

hirantha
12-15-09, 12:35 PM
hahah yes if you can afford it. Its still too expensive to have all your stuff installed on a SSD

Redeemed
12-15-09, 01:00 PM
hahah yes if you can afford it. Its still too expensive to have all your stuff installed on a SSD