PDA

View Full Version : Newb needs help...


Deepsouth
07-05-03, 12:18 AM
I have a Fx 5200 Ultra and its good for what i need to do. My Question is why i cannot run the Dawn and the ogre demos?

I have winxp pro and a duron 800mhz on asus a7v mb 196mb of ram. Is there something i am lacking?

Thanks,

john19055
07-05-03, 12:33 AM
I don't no about you processor if it is fast enough,But I Know that you need at least 512mb of system ram,and since you just have 196mb that could be your problem.

ragejg
07-05-03, 12:34 AM
it might be a ram situation...

256 is a requirement for quite a bit of software these, days, and I wouldn't be surprised if the nv3X demos required 256mb...

:)

jAkUp
07-05-03, 12:54 AM
the demos would be a slideshow anyways, but i guess you can run them if you want... the memory problem is likley the reason

saturnotaku
07-05-03, 01:02 AM
Originally posted by Deepsouth
Is there something i am lacking?



Yeah, about 316 mb of RAM if you're running Windows XP, 60 if you're running Windows 2000 or 9x. Even if you get more RAM, with your CPU those demos are going to run like a slideshow.

Deepsouth
07-05-03, 01:13 AM
Thats what i thought...memory and xp don't like each other much. UT does not play as good as it use to on win 98se either... I upgraded to this card and xp and the same time.

I am in the process of upgrading my system now. Have a 2500+ amd xp on a asus nforce2 mb with 512mb of pc2700 ddr waiting on my funds to pick up some. In a month or two. New baby on the way..lol. Thats where all the money goes :D

StealthHawk
07-05-03, 02:08 AM
Minimum System Requirements:
GeForce FX 5800, 5600, or 5200; Windows XP; Detonator 40 Driver (41.09 or higher); 512MB System Memory; 128MB Video Memory.

http://www.nvidia.com/view.asp?IO=demo_ogre

Both Dawn and the Ogre have the same system requirements, which you do not meet :p

sean m
07-05-03, 08:59 AM
Is it crashing with an error message? If it is you could look in this thread it may help.

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&threadid=12305

stncttr908
07-05-03, 10:13 AM
Originally posted by Deepsouth
I am in the process of upgrading my system now. Have a 2500+ amd xp on a asus nforce2 mb with 512mb of pc2700 ddr waiting on my funds to pick up some. In a month or two. New baby on the way..lol. Thats where all the money goes :D Well, believe me you're going to enjoy that.

digitalwanderer
07-05-03, 10:59 AM
Originally posted by stncttr908
Well, believe me you're going to enjoy that.
STOP IT!!! STOP IT!!! YOU'RE KILLING ME!!!!!

I just KNOW I ain't gonna make it thru the weekend at this rate without stealing me wife's credit card and ordering meself a shiny new Barton 2500+ w/512Mb of good matched memory.... :rolleyes:

Deepsouth
07-06-03, 03:08 AM
Thanks Sean...the tbird patch did the trick...i can run it now. Damn sse2... :D