PDA

View Full Version : AMD Baron 3000XP+ 400mhz overclocking?


kimh
07-05-03, 06:56 AM
Anyone had any luck overclocking the new Barton 3000xp/400mhz FSB CPU? I just ordered one with 400mhz Corsair memory but I've seen little info out there on overclocking results.

Smokey
07-05-03, 08:00 AM
I havent been looking myself, but they should overclock a bit, best taking a lookie over at AMDMB (http://www.amdmb.com) forums ;)

b00bie
07-07-03, 01:03 AM
I don't know if that many people here have 3000xp, I know I don't have enough money for it :p

but like Smokey said, your best bet is to go to amdmb forums.

If you haven't looked at these reviews, take a look here:

PCStats (http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm?articleid=1340&page=2)
vr-zone (http://www.vr-zone.com/reviews/AMD/XP3000+/)
and Tom's Hardware (http://www6.tomshardware.com/cpu/20030210/index.html) ;)

Matthyahuw
07-07-03, 02:02 AM
my guess is you'll get 200MHz MAX out of it.

The high-end stuff just doesn't OC well as it's pretty dern close to the production limits (especially when it first hits the streets)

stncttr908
07-07-03, 03:05 PM
I've talked to people who have had 2400+ CPUs get to at least 200, I don't see why you wouldn't be able to, just as long as you crank down that multiplier some.

Savage101
07-09-03, 01:40 PM
I recently bought a 3000+/333 and a 3000+/400. The 333fsb is an older core stepping but I was able to hit 2.5GHz at 1.85v. The 400fsb one was a great dissapointment not being able to run at 2.4 no matter waht the voltage. But it does run fine at 2.3 with 1.8v. To it's defence it does run 70MHz slower than the 333fsb one. I hope you have better luck yours.

B&R
07-13-03, 08:03 PM
Originally posted by Matthyahuw
my guess is you'll get 200MHz MAX out of it.