PDA

View Full Version : multimonitor with nvidia


design
01-26-10, 02:23 AM
knows somebody if there is a possibility to drive 3 projectors (xga -> 3.072x768) from one pc? certainly i need 2 graphic cards, but which? the window of the application has the size of 3072x768 px. and we need a high graphic performance for our 3D OpenGL software.

am i right in the assumption, that only the Fermi GF100 will solve my problem? : http://www.tomshardware.com/news/Nvidia-3D...round,9394.html
apparently there is no common multimonitor-possibility with nvidia cards till the release of the new fermi cuda gmu's?

bye
sebastian

Muppet
01-26-10, 03:12 AM
knows somebody if there is a possibility to drive 3 projectors (xga -> 3.072x768) from one pc? certainly i need 2 graphic cards, but which? the window of the application has the size of 3072x768 px. and we need a high graphic performance for our 3D OpenGL software.

am i right in the assumption, that only the Fermi GF100 will solve my problem? : http://www.tomshardware.com/news/Nvidia-3D...round,9394.html
apparently there is no common multimonitor-possibility with nvidia cards till the release of the new fermi cuda gmu's?

bye
sebastian

Jeepers. Is your room big enough for 3 projectors. :scarey: From what I have read on another Forum, 9 series cards will also do it. We just need a driver update. You may have to wait until Fermi gets close to launch date though.

jolle
01-26-10, 06:00 AM
The surround stuff requires SLI though dont it?

design
01-26-10, 06:58 AM
i first want to use 2 Quadro FX 4800 in one pc to get the multi-monitor problem managed. but some experts told me that there will be a problem with the synchronisation of the 3 displays. this should only work with a nvidia quadro plex and quadro G-Sync. knows someone if the syncronisation is functional with GF100? hint: i want to render a full screen OpenGL Scene over the 3 displays without a judder! it seems to be a complex problem ;-)

Johnny C
01-26-10, 09:14 AM
One 5000 series ATi card will drive 3 displays..You will probably need and active(powered by USB) displayport to DVI adaptor, to hook it up to 3 projectors.

A 5970 would drive any application @ high res. You probably only need to look at a 5870 which would cost ~400 bucks.

Mr Bigman
01-26-10, 10:35 PM
I hope Nvidia does the whole infinity thing like ATI cuz it would be cool cuz i have 3 lcd's waiting for this option.

Muppet
01-27-10, 01:28 AM
The surround stuff requires SLI though dont it?

Yes it will.

XMAN52373
01-31-10, 11:58 AM
i first want to use 2 Quadro FX 4800 in one pc to get the multi-monitor problem managed. but some experts told me that there will be a problem with the synchronisation of the 3 displays. this should only work with a nvidia quadro plex and quadro G-Sync. knows someone if the syncronisation is functional with GF100? hint: i want to render a full screen OpenGL Scene over the 3 displays without a judder! it seems to be a complex problem ;-)

Who are these experts?

The Quadro line has been donig multi monitor for quite some time, even before the Gefore line got to display windows across multiple display. You may want to try SLi Zone or if you can find him here, ChrisRay and send the guy a PM with your questions conserning Multi monitor and the quadros. be specific and give him some time, if he doesn't have the answer, he can get it as he has direct contact with Nvidia.

design
02-01-10, 01:48 AM
Who are these experts?

because it is not possible do get direct information or support from nvidia i wrote to PNY and got the following answer:

"this will only be possible with the current quadroplex (e.g. 2x FX 5800). from nvidia it is called Mosaic Mode. a normal sli configuration will not afford this option. ..."

i suppose that this information is authentic. in the following PNY writes, that they dont know much about the 3D stereo surround solution: "because it will be realized with 2 gpu it will possibly be similar to the mosaic-mode. but nvidia announces nothing if there will be a similar solution for quadro cards"

i'm not realy satisfied with this answers - i will look for mor information.

nrdstrm
02-02-10, 03:41 AM
Well, 2 Fermis where running 3 projectors on a VERY wide screen at CES...I have a few pics of the racing game playing on the screen, but they came out super blurry (because the 3 projectors where running in 3D Vision Mode (ie, needed 3d glasses)...

Muppet
02-03-10, 12:04 AM
Well, 2 Fermis where running 3 projectors on a VERY wide screen at CES...I have a few pics of the racing game playing on the screen, but they came out super blurry (because the 3 projectors where running in 3D Vision Mode (ie, needed 3d glasses)...

I would have loved to see that. Hell I'd be happy to see just one running in 3D.

Apheleon
02-06-10, 02:34 AM
expensive one is only i wanna to say about it -_-

Rollo
02-06-10, 05:43 AM
knows somebody if there is a possibility to drive 3 projectors (xga -> 3.072x768) from one pc? certainly i need 2 graphic cards, but which? the window of the application has the size of 3072x768 px. and we need a high graphic performance for our 3D OpenGL software.

am i right in the assumption, that only the Fermi GF100 will solve my problem? : http://www.tomshardware.com/news/Nvidia-3D...round,9394.html
apparently there is no common multimonitor-possibility with nvidia cards till the release of the new fermi cuda gmu's?

bye
sebastian

You will need two fermi cards, or two last gen GF cards (E.G. GTX260 SLi) to run 3d Surround Vision and Surround Vision.

This is due to 2 X DVI outputs, the drivers will launch with fermi this financial quarter. (likely early March, according to rumor)

There is currently no OpenGL capability with 3d Vision; however, there are no longer OpenGL games either.

XMAN52373
02-11-10, 08:49 AM
You will need two fermi cards, or two last gen GF cards (E.G. GTX260 SLi) to run 3d Surround Vision and Surround Vision.

This is due to 2 X DVI outputs, the drivers will launch with fermi this financial quarter. (likely early March, according to rumor)

There is currently no OpenGL capability with 3d Vision; however, there are no longer OpenGL games either.

Tell that to JC and his up coming Rage engine. He still uses OGL.

Rollo
02-11-10, 12:54 PM
Tell that to JC and his up coming Rage engine. He still uses OGL.

John can PM me any time he'd like to....

Heh- for some reason I thought he was going DX this time. As Doom 3 was my favorite game the year it came out (and Doom 1, 2, Quake 1,2 as well) obviously I'll be disappointed if I can't play Doom4 in 3d Vision Surround.

Won't stop me from enjoying everything else in 3d Vision Surround though. Playing with that at CES was a sort of life altering event for me- once you've used it, hard to go back. (although I'm really enjoying "Dark Void" at 25X16 with High PhysX lately)

I can pretty much guarantee if my wife doesn't come through with two more 2233RZs for my B-day this summer I'll be buying them anyway. (the only reason I haven't yet is we're at the stage where we pretty much have what we want and it's a rare holiday where I actually get something I'm excited to receive anymore- this will be kick ass!)