PDA

View Full Version : psu output


apple25
01-27-10, 12:30 PM
Hi All,
I wasn't sure where to put this post since I already have a 8600 card I figured I'd start here.
I have a 'puter w/ a 700 watt psu and a geforce 8600 gt card. I have not opened the case to look at the psu to see if there are any specs. on it. I recently bought a new 30" monitor and when I turned up the res to 2560 x 1600 the motion gets choppy. so I figured its time for a new card. the problem I'm having is the power requirement for the cards.
My question is; what is the maximum power draw can I go for a new graphics card?
Thanks
Apple25

frenchy2k1
01-27-10, 02:00 PM
with a 700W, there should be pretty little restrictions... Most computers (including proc+vid) take less than 350W nowadays. Except if you go for SLI, you should be fine with one from the latest generation.
What is your budget? AMD 5850 is a great card at $300. The 4870 is very nice at about half the price. Both would be a huge upgrade on your 8600.

apple25
01-27-10, 02:20 PM
my price range is 300$ to 350$ at the upper end. I've used nvidia based graphic cards for as long as I can remember and I am comfortable w/ the interface that they provide. I guess I'm just an old milk horse when it come to change. I'll start to look into the geforce 200 series as long everybody thinks my psu can power it.

LydianKnight
01-27-10, 04:04 PM
my price range is 300$ to 350$ at the upper end. I've used nvidia based graphic cards for as long as I can remember and I am comfortable w/ the interface that they provide. I guess I'm just an old milk horse when it come to change. I'll start to look into the geforce 200 series as long everybody thinks my psu can power it.

Your PSU can handle even next-gen cards, I have a RealPower M520 from Cooler Master, rated at 520W (continuous, max 600W before exploding, I guess xD), and I'm running a GTX260 at 189W, IIRC. This PSU was planned for Fermi, which is supposed to have a 280W (or less, I hope) TDP, and still... my PSU can handle the load very fine without spikes or any danger... so your 700W one is more than enough to run a single card with that power... unless you want to go SLI.

JasonPC
01-27-10, 07:25 PM
The real thing you might need to look at is amperage. You should also check if your PSU has multiple 12 volt rails and how the amps are distributed over them. For example you might have a power supply with 4 12V rails: 12V1: 18A 12V2: 18A 12V3: 22A 12V4: 22A. Or it might have a single 12V rail with 79A.

apple25
01-27-10, 08:56 PM
ok these are the specs I found on the psu:
+3.3 V / 24.0 A
+12 V1 / 18.0 A
+12 V2 / 16.0 A
+12 V3 / 18.0 A
+12 V4 / 18.0 A
+5 VSB / 3.0 A
+5.0 V / 24.0 A
-12 V / 0.5 A
+5 V and +3.3 V total output not to exceed 140 W
Maximum combined load on +12 V is 50 A
Maximum total continuous output power is 700 W
since I'm not very tech savvy; Is this good or bad? btw whats a rail? is that like a channel?