PDA

View Full Version : Looking for advice on best CPU/Mobo Combo


Pages : [1] 2

NrthnStar5
01-29-10, 11:20 AM
Hello!

I currently have an Intel Q9550 with an Asus P5Q-E mobo. I have recently come into possession of an AMD Phenom II 965 BE processer with an Asus M4N78 PRO mobo.

I need to sell one set or the other, but I am trying to determine which would be the best set to keep. I am already capable of OC'ing the intel to 3.40 ghz, but I have not OC'd the Phenom II.

I am looking for advice on which combo is overall the best simply based on the CPU and Mobo Combination above. I appreciate any responses!

grey_1
01-29-10, 12:21 PM
Without pulling a bunch of benchmarks off the net, it's my understanding (been researching the AMD quads for a while now) they would be pretty evenly matched with the AMD pulling off a few wins. users real world experience here amy speak a differently though.

That said, if you decide to part with either I'd be interested in knowing what you'll be asking for the C2Q (already have a good board) or the AMD quad + board. :)

NrthnStar5
01-29-10, 12:34 PM
I kind of assumed that the cpu's were pretty comparable, but I don't know the OC potential of the AMD yet. I also don't know which MOBO should be better... I'm having a hard time deciding lol

grey_1
01-29-10, 01:47 PM
I kind of assumed that the cpu's were pretty comparable, but I don't know the OC potential of the AMD yet. I also don't know which MOBO should be better... I'm having a hard time deciding lol
Which is exactly why I've been "researching" so long lol. :p

I'm seeing pretty consistent reports of 3.8-4Ghz on the 965. Coupled with the usual 'ymmv' factor, gamers are reporting that the 965 feels as fast or faster than the Q9550 in gaming, while video encoding etc goes to intel, as usual.

I would actually be happy with either, but the 965 has the added benefit of DDR3 compatibilty which has dropped in price plenty.

Personally after everything I've read I would go with the AMD. You won't have any trouble selling that Q9550, so it would be win win for you.

EDIT: good thread here to read.

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=142752

Redeemed
01-29-10, 02:04 PM
Yeah- both setups would be insanely fast. I honestly don't think you'll see that tangible a difference with either setup. Where the Q9550 might be faster than the 965 BE, there will be just as many scenerios where the 965 BE is faster than theQ9550.

However, AM3 has a much greater future for upgrades than LGA775. LGA775 is a dead platform- and by that I mean Intel is not releasing any more LGA775 CPUs.

AMD, however, is going to continue to release AM3 CPUs... and their 6-core and even 8-core ( I think through to 12-core, i.e. Magny-Cours) will be available on AM3... or at least from the roadmaps I've seen they will be. Granted, a lot of those chips are a ways off so for whatever reason that could change. However, their 6 core parts *will* be released on AM3... that much is certain. :lol:

Honestly, and just due to the upgradability of the platform- I'd sell the Q9550 + mobo and keep the AMD setup. Long-term it just makes sense. :)

NrthnStar5
01-29-10, 02:49 PM
Thank you guys for the responses! What are your thoughts on the AM3 Mobo? Do you think it's decent enough for the time being?

Redeemed
01-29-10, 03:31 PM
Thank you guys for the responses! What are your thoughts on the AM3 Mobo? Do you think it's decent enough for the time being?

AM3 mobo? What AM3 mobo? Are you referring to the one that you currently have with your 965 BE... cause that's not an AM3 mobo. It's an AM2+/AM3 mobo... which still uses DDR2.

AM3 mobos use only DDR3. If you are wondering how good the current AM3 mobos are, of course it varies which one(s) you're interested in- but for the most part I've heard nothing but praise for the vast majority. When it comes to price/performance AMD is definitely dominating right now. Their chipsets, CPUs, and video cards just own for the dollars you pay.

grey_1
01-29-10, 03:46 PM
'bout time you got in here with some advice 'Deemed.

:p

NrthnStar5
01-29-10, 03:53 PM
Sorry, your right. Is the Asus M4N78 PRO worth keeping with this processor or not so much? I know it's been said the AMD cpu is more "future minded" then the intel one, but what about the Mobo I have with it?

Redeemed
01-29-10, 04:10 PM
'bout time you got in here with some advice 'Deemed.

:p

:lol:

It was only a matter of time till I ended up here, wasn't it? :p

Sorry, your right. Is the Asus M4N78 PRO worth keeping with this processor or not so much? I know it's been said the AMD cpu is more "future minded" then the intel one, but what about the Mobo I have with it?

Six and one half dozen to be honest. You already have DDR2 RAM- why not keep the mobo? Because if you got an AM3 mobo you'd then have to buy DDR3 RAM. So post-pone that upgrade for later. Rock that 965 BE, that mobo, and your current RAM. Sell that Q9550 + P5Q-E and pay off some debt, have plenty of money for gas, etc. :p :lol:

I'd wait till more mobos with SATA 6.0Gbps and USB 3.0 come out. That'd be a good time to do such an upgrade. :) I think they'll be more available later this year... like the 2nd half if I recall correctly. :o

Gigabyte has one out now but I've learned my lesson when it comes to being an early adopter- my advice is to wait till they're a bit more common. Should be 2nd half of this year, if not earlier. I know both AMD and Intel are gearing up to release their 6-core chips. That's probably when we'll see the new mobos with SATA 6.0Gbps and USB 3.0. That'd be the time to invest in a new motherboard and DDR3. IMO of course. :p

Maverick123w
01-29-10, 04:15 PM
I'd go with the AMD chip. To me at least, in general usage the AMD chips "feel" faster than the intel 775 quads. This most likely has to do with the onboard memory controller.

Redeemed
01-29-10, 04:19 PM
I'd go with the AMD chip. To me at least, in general usage the AMD chips "feel" faster than the intel 775 quads. This most likely has to do with the onboard memory controller.

Not necessarily.

At the desktop, switching between apps, etc- this i7 920 doesn't seem the least bit faster than my Phenom 9600 BE when I had. In fact, the Phenom seemed "smoother" when doing that sort of stuff. So who knows what the reason for that is. Could be any number of things... including placebo. :p :lol:

Drolfrawd
01-29-10, 04:52 PM
I have just purchased a q9550 and it is wild fast. havn't got a board that will overclock much , but the q9550 @3ghz is mighty.

However the AMD set up is also wild, no lose for you.
AM3 on Gigabyte look pretty mean boards

, but listen to deemed and grey they no what they are talking about.

CaptNKILL
01-29-10, 04:58 PM
I have just purchased a q9550 and it is wild fast. havn't got a board that will overclock much , but the q9550 @3ghz is mighty.

However the AMD set up is also wild, no lose for you.
AM3 on Gigabyte look pretty mean boards

, but listen to deemed and grey they no what they are talking about.

Q9550 @ 4Ghz = :captnkill::captnkill::captnkill:

Drolfrawd
01-29-10, 05:02 PM
Q9550 @ 4Ghz = :captnkill::captnkill::captnkill:

Gratz on the overclock cptn, 4ghz is llike awesome. :D

I'm hoping to get a better board in a month or two, still abit confused with my ram though.
cpuid reports it as pc2 6400 but i thought i had bought 1066 mhz ram. confused :(

it is the ram in my sig.

grey_1
01-29-10, 05:35 PM
Gratz on the overclock cptn, 4ghz is llike awesome. :D

I'm hoping to get a better board in a month or two, still abit confused with my ram though.
cpuid reports it as pc2 6400 but i thought i had bought 1066 mhz ram. confused :(

it is the ram in my sig.

6400 is the JEDEC rated speed that ram runs at with default settings Bro. You'll have to set the 1066 yourself in the bios. With my Asus P5E the divider changes and increases as I overclock and at 400fsbx9.5 multi I get 3.8Ghz on my cpu and 1066 on my ram.

Not sure if you have the same bios I do.

Redeemed
01-29-10, 06:53 PM
Yeah- I noticed that my DDR3 1600 RAM is reverting to... oh what was it- I think 1066. :o

I'll have to find the exact specs and set it manually I guess? Not too concerned as system is fast enough as is. Doubt a couple MHz will make a massive difference. :lol:

Drolfrawd
01-29-10, 07:02 PM
Thanks mates

Johnny C
01-29-10, 08:30 PM
Either way you're looking at a fast gaming system. I'd sell the Q9550, and board as well as the other M4A78 board and get the gigabyte or asus AM3 XTD-EVO board with 4 gb of DDR3-1600.

With a good HSF you're looking @ at least 3.8ghz and some lucky buggers are running 4.0ghz....
I settled in @ 3.9 with lower voltages....and it runs nice and cool. 32'C Idle and maxed out 53'C (with intel burn test which generate higher temps than prime95)

An overclocked Phenom II trades blows with I7 systems.

Of course the i7 system curb stomps the PII if they're both overclocked.


@ Drolf.....get the o/c'n started on that 9550...I've been waiting for your results :D

Drolfrawd
01-29-10, 09:06 PM
Either way you're looking at a fast gaming system. I'd sell the Q9550, and board as well as the other M4A78 board and get the gigabyte or asus AM3 XTD-EVO board with 4 gb of DDR3-1600.

With a good HSF you're looking @ at least 3.8ghz and some lucky buggers are running 4.0ghz....
I settled in @ 3.9 with lower voltages....and it runs nice and cool. 32'C Idle and maxed out 53'C (with intel burn test which generate higher temps than prime95)

An overclocked Phenom II trades blows with I7 systems.

Of course the i7 system curb stomps the PII if they're both overclocked.


@ Drolf.....get the o/c'n started on that 9550...I've been waiting for your results :D

Yea sorry johnny ,but my board wont go above 3.ghz , need a new board before some serious overclocking starts

NrthnStar5
01-30-10, 01:07 PM
Question: With the PII 965 (140W) and the Asus mobo from my original post... is there any reason why an OCZ 750 Watt ModXtream PSU would not be sufficient?

Redeemed
01-30-10, 01:12 PM
Question: With the PII 965 (140W) and the Asus mobo from my original post... is there any reason why an OCZ 750 Watt ModXtream PSU would not be sufficient?

Not at all. In fact, that PSU will probably be excessive- depending upon the rest of your configuration, or course. :)

Bearclaw
01-30-10, 01:31 PM
You can't go wrong with AMD. They have quads under $100 and you can get a nice motherboard for 100-150. So say $250 total minus what you sell the current setup for. Not bad!

NrthnStar5
01-30-10, 02:20 PM
I would think the PSU would be sufficient as well. However, when I hooked everything up, the computer would not power on. The fans and such acted like they wanted to start spinning by moving a little bit, so I decided to try an Alternative PSU (Thermaltake 850W) and the system powered up just fine.

So I am at a loss as to why the OCZ would not work. Is it possible it's a bad power cable?

Redeemed
01-30-10, 03:15 PM
I would think the PSU would be sufficient as well. However, when I hooked everything up, the computer would not power on. The fans and such acted like they wanted to start spinning by moving a little bit, so I decided to try an Alternative PSU (Thermaltake 850W) and the system powered up just fine.

So I am at a loss as to why the OCZ would not work. Is it possible it's a bad power cable?

That very well could be... hard to say unfortunately. :o