PDA

View Full Version : Asus motherboard rusting cpu chokes


wysiwyg
02-12-10, 09:50 AM
(i had always thought Asus mobo quality has lapsed the last few years and this confirms it.and why i went to another brand with ferrite chokes))

http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showthread.php?t=18113199

http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=113002

http://www.semiaccurate.com/static/uploads/2010/01_january/12p_chokes_WM.jpg

grey_1
02-12-10, 10:17 AM
For real???

I have never heard of this happening before..:lol:

Now I have to run home and check mine out...:o

Performance degradation yet?

EDIT: Nvm - took for granted it was your board.

Redeemed
02-12-10, 10:22 AM
How did that happen? Did they submerge it into salt water for pro longed periods of time? :lol:

onmikesline
02-12-10, 11:25 AM
he must live outside lol or next to a beach or a salt plant lol

mullet
02-12-10, 11:25 AM
It's not rust. It may be the clear coat on them reacting to heat from possible way over the top overclock. Rust is never shinny, LOL.

wysiwyg
02-12-10, 11:26 AM
nope, not my motherboard (i have gigabyte)

read the links


also its shiny as the rust is under the shiny coating hence the bubbling

onmikesline
02-12-10, 11:28 AM
the guy is just going around to try to make a point, but the MB still works. what BS, and if anything, it looks like paint

bacon12
02-12-10, 11:43 AM
If it is as they said in fact moisture during manufacturing, then they would not rust without being exposed to oxygen. I don't see how those chokes being sealed would do that.