PDA

View Full Version : just picked up a wd raptor 10,000rpm


Pages : [1] 2

jAkUp
07-11-03, 11:27 PM
cant wait to slap this bad boy in... tell you how it all goes:)

The Baron
07-11-03, 11:32 PM
Hm, that's odd, my seismograph is reporting a small earthquake.. and the epicenter is jakup's house... must be the drive ;)

stncttr908
07-12-03, 10:18 AM
So? Did you put it in yet? I want to know! :retard:

jAkUp
07-12-03, 01:14 PM
well it seems like the drive didnt like that my fsb was set to 160.... wouldnt even recognize it.. after setting it to 155 it worked, just installed windows, seems to work great... i can definetely notice improvements in the overall loading of programs, i havent had much time with it yet... im still working on fixing it up:)

ALobpreis
07-12-03, 02:33 PM
If you can, please post the result of a HD Tach (www.tcdlabs.com) test! :)
Or at least, ZD Benchmarks Winbench.

Is it noise? Does it get hot?

Ramshambo2001
07-12-03, 05:01 PM
Does your mobo have an on board controller?
Was it a headache to get it to boot to that drive?
I WANNA KNOW BECAUSE I WANT ONE!

b00bie
07-12-03, 05:09 PM
damn it, now I'm thinking of getting one...
I guess I wanna know everything people already asked, so I won't ask again ;)

jAkUp
07-12-03, 05:19 PM
i will post the results from that test a little later today... as far as booting from the drive, i have no problem, just select hard disk... when i plug it into sata 1 on the motherboard, it shows up on IDE channel 1.

as for the noise, i can already notice it is louder than my maxtor 7200... but i have so many fans its not too bad.. i can barley hear it. as for the heat im not sure of... i have a hard disk cooler with dual fans on it... it attaches to the bottom.

jAkUp
07-12-03, 05:40 PM
i just tried hd tach and it said that nt support is only for the registered version :(

zsynth
07-12-03, 05:44 PM
My HD tach results (from prev post):

WD 36 GIG RAPTOR
Random Access Time 6.9 ms
Read Speed max 77467
min 41557
avg 55833
CPU Utilization 10.6 %

WD 80 GIG W\8meg cache
Random Access Time 9.1 ms
Read Speed max 49999
min 27293
avg 48060
CPU Utilization 6.0 %

MAXTOR 40 GIG ATA133 7200
Random Access Time 9.7 ms
Read Speed max 39089
min 28662
avg 36827
CPU Utilization 4.5 %

Asus A7N8X Deluxe02 Bios 1005
XP 2500 Barton @ 2232 (Therm Volcano 11)
Antec550 True PowerPSU Win98se
1 gig PC3200(Samsung) (512meg ram drive)
LiteOn 48x24x48
LiteOn DVD
(1) WD 36gig Raptor SATA
(1) WD 80 gig 8meg cache
(1) 40gig Maxtor's ATA 133
ATI 9800 PRO omega drivers

shuttleteam
07-13-03, 06:15 PM
(2) RAPTORS RAID0...

These are retail drives. One of the SIIG SATA controllers was flashed with the SiIRAID BIOS. This allowed the drives to be striped. The controller is running at 66 MHz in a PCI-X slot.

Here are the results (http://www.shuttleteam.com/tests/raptorraid.htm)

Not bad!

-DAK-

ALobpreis
07-13-03, 08:12 PM
Nooo!! You CANNOT get 115+ Mb/s!! I hate you!!!! ":mad:"

In a benchmarks I saw somewhere, the Raptor had a weird peak of 75+ Mb/s at the beginning (pic attached). Do you have the same peak?

BTW, how can you get HD Tach to enlarge its burst read scale?? It's always limited to 80 Mb/s!! :confused:

shuttleteam
07-13-03, 08:19 PM
That peak can be ignored.

To see burst rates higher than 80, you have to click the bar and drag down to the right. It will expand accordingly.

-DAK-

Geforce4ti4200
07-19-03, 12:42 AM
whats so special about raptors? they utilize over 10% of the cpu, are only 36gb and cost alot. I can get a 120GB 7200 rpm maxtor instead thatll be far faster due to hdd density

raysusan
07-19-03, 01:19 AM
happy user of raptors here:)

jAkUp
07-19-03, 01:58 AM
Originally posted by Geforce4ti4200
whats so special about raptors? they utilize over 10% of the cpu, are only 36gb and cost alot. I can get a 120GB 7200 rpm maxtor instead thatll be far faster due to hdd density

actually they use less cpu utilization than the standard maxtor drives... read some reviews. and they are much faster... again.. read some reviews... almost comparable to scsi drives.

36gb is plenty for me.. and at 10,000rpms it cant be beat

i cant explain the post above but all the reviews i have read show it as having less cpu utilization than any other drives

Geforce4ti4200
07-19-03, 03:37 AM
10k rpm isnt pratical its too noisy, hot and wears out much faster. sure when your hdd dies on you while my 5400 rpm is still alive 5 years later also games on my hdd load really fast who needs to save 10 seconds on loading time?

The Baron
07-19-03, 08:13 AM
Originally posted by Geforce4ti4200
10k rpm isnt pratical its too noisy, hot and wears out much faster. sure when your hdd dies on you while my 5400 rpm is still alive 5 years later also games on my hdd load really fast who needs to save 10 seconds on loading time?
If it's designed as a SCSI replacement or alternative, there's no way in hell it's going to die.

fastguy94416
07-19-03, 03:23 PM
Raptors have a 5 year warranty if I am not mistaken

Geforce4ti4200
07-19-03, 04:49 PM
Originally posted by fastguy94416
Raptors have a 5 year warranty if I am not mistaken


ouch they will lose tons of money cause I dont see more than 10% lasting that long.

The Baron
07-19-03, 04:55 PM
Originally posted by Geforce4ti4200
ouch they will lose tons of money cause I dont see more than 10% lasting that long.
and why are you an expert?

they're not consumer-level drives. they're enterprise-level drives. they are going to be built to a higher standard.

PenguinJim
07-19-03, 09:41 PM
And why are YOU an expert?

Just cos you've been 100% correct in all of your thousands of previous threads.... this one might be The One!!!! :p

Street Party... TheBaron might be wrong about something!!! Yaaaaaaaaay!

(OK I think you're right on this one. But your time will come. Oh yes. Also, the other guy seems to be right too, to a degree. 5-year warranty? I don't think all of them will last that long. Probably over 95%, because they're built to a higher standard ;). but replacing even 3% of all Raptors sold would be quite expensive, right? But that's just my opinion :))

The Baron
07-19-03, 09:45 PM
I have a Maxtor drive and a WD drive that are running strong.

Both are from 1995 and have been in constant use since then. ;)

PenguinJim
07-19-03, 09:49 PM
Ah, but are they Enterprise level?

And if so, which Enterprise? Cos, the Enterprise-B just sucked.

The Baron
07-19-03, 10:01 PM
Nope. Plain old consumer drives.

I'm not worried about them lasting for five years. Drive failures don't happen too often after the first few months. If those are trouble free... things are generally good for a good long while.