PDA

View Full Version : To SSD or not to SSD?

Pages : [1] 2

musman
02-18-10, 12:12 PM
I will be buying W7 Ultimate next week and I figure I may as well upgrade my OS drive too. I have a single Seagate 500Gig 32MB Cache 7200RPM HD, I have been using this drive for about 8 months now. Here is my question. I have been looking at a Intel X25-V SSDSA2MP040G2R5 2.5" 40GB SSD http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820167025). For about the same amount of money I could buy two more of my Seagate HDs and have 3 in a RAID configuration. What would my fellow gamers do?

Thanks for your suggestions!

musman

Bman212121
02-18-10, 12:43 PM
Get the SSD.

Logical
02-18-10, 01:09 PM
40GB really isn't much for a games library if it is games you are planning to run off it.

lee63
02-18-10, 01:21 PM
I only have an 80Gb for now..I wish I'd got a 160 ;) with games like AvP being 15Gb space gets used up pretty quick.

Redeemed
02-18-10, 01:27 PM
40GB really isn't much for a games library if it is games you are planning to run off it.

I agree. I'd go RAID 3.

I'm running 7 Ultimate x64 and my Windows folder (just checked) weighs in at 15.7GB. This is with latest drivers and all available Windows Updates. Sooo... Windows by itself will take up near 50% of that SSD. Maybe if Windows alone is on that drive that'd be fine- set the rest as pagefile and that might work out nice.

However, I'd still suggest going with the RAID setup. Three of those drives in RAID 3 would be insanely fast still, while giving you ample storage room for Windows and all of your applications. :)

lduguay
02-18-10, 01:38 PM
RAID 3????

I think the OP meant 3 drives in a RAID 0 config.

Edit: SlaWter is toooo fast

Redeemed
02-18-10, 01:41 PM
Nah RAID 3 is not a good solution. Or do you mean RAID 0 with 3 drives?

I'll get that SSD as my system disk for my fileserver project. 40GB is enough for that and the lower write speed is not important there.