PDA

View Full Version : Itchy to upgrade....


Pages : [1] 2

tjohn
02-19-10, 07:19 PM
Now that I've built 13 machines plus a server for my small office, I've totally got the bug to keep building! My main rig (in sig) is a little over a year old and it works great on a modest overclock and I'm sure it will keep on crankin' for as long as I let it. BUTT I want to build so I'm wondering what I should do here. I will stay with Intel but after reading up on the new procs, there are so many different combo's to go with it gets confusing. I don't do much else but game on this machine so that is what I want my new on to do well. First off which is better and more future proof socket 1366 or 1156?

Redeemed
02-19-10, 07:35 PM
LGA1366 is more future proof, especially since LGA1156 really doesn't have a future. :lol:
No 6-core, 8-core, 12-core, etc. :)

tjohn
02-19-10, 07:51 PM
Ok, well then I guess the I7-920 would be the best choice for that? It's got the most reviews. Now looking at mobo's :)

Redeemed
02-19-10, 08:00 PM
I love my i7 920... and I've yet to ever attempt to OC it. :lol:

tjohn
02-19-10, 08:14 PM
Which mobo do you have? My favs are asus and gigabyte. I used gigabyte boards on all my office machines and they are rock solid.

bob saget
02-19-10, 08:32 PM
Gigabyte UD3R, UD5, EVGA SLi, and Asus P6 are solid choices. These i7s overclock so easy, a retard could do it.

Redeemed
02-19-10, 08:57 PM
I'm using the Intel DX58SO Extreme. Pretty solid board, only real difference between it and a lot of the others is my board only has 4 DIMM slots where most have 6, and my board only has two PCI-e x16 where most have 3 or more. :)

bob saget
02-19-10, 09:21 PM
which boards have 3 16x pci-e lanes? not many, only the high end ones. Midrange has 2 16x pci-e lanes.

tjohn
02-20-10, 07:52 AM
[QUOTE=These i7s overclock so easy, a retard could do it.[/QUOTE]

I should have no problem then :o:D

tjohn
02-20-10, 07:59 AM
Are the I7's from newegg the DO's?

tjohn
02-20-10, 04:27 PM
Think I'll go with ASUS P6X58D Premium (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131614)

Looking at ram now :)

tjohn
02-20-10, 07:57 PM
Crap! I'm having major problems with the video card/s :( I have a GTX 260 now but would like to go dual cards... can't find a match for the 260 and also looking at the ATI cards !! AHH, never had an ATI card..... :(

Redeemed
02-20-10, 08:01 PM
Crap! I'm having major problems with the video card/s :( I have a GTX 260 now but would like to go dual cards... can't find a match for the 260 and also looking at the ATI cards !! AHH, never had an ATI card..... :(

Here ya go. :) (http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&N=2010380048%20106792634%201067940781&name=GeForce%20GTX%20260) Take your pick. ;)

bob saget
02-20-10, 08:11 PM
corsair RAM ftw. rock solid stuff. careful though with the cpu cooler you are getting, that it can fit with some RAMs cooling fins. My Ultra 120 barely fit with corsair RAM.
ATi are definitely on the leading edge now, but they are having problems with drivers many times. I know users on here constantly go back to nvidia because nvidia drivers are better.

betterdan
02-20-10, 08:20 PM
My Corsair ram isn't as good as my G Skill I don't think. Even though my Corsair is 1600 ram it still can't clock as high as my 1333 G Skill stuff. I can overclock the cpu a little higher with just the G Skill in it.

tjohn
02-20-10, 08:27 PM
Here ya go. :) (http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&N=2010380048%20106792634%201067940781&name=GeForce%20GTX%20260) Take your pick. ;)

I can mix and match any 260 I want? I kind of knew that but thought it had to be the same exact card for a different maker?

tjohn
02-20-10, 08:30 PM
corsair RAM ftw. rock solid stuff. careful though with the cpu cooler you are getting, that it can fit with some RAMs cooling fins. My Ultra 120 barely fit with corsair RAM.
ATi are definitely on the leading edge now, but they are having problems with drivers many times. I know users on here constantly go back to nvidia because nvidia drivers are better.

I have an ultra 120 now that I plan on lapping and using on my new build. It is a bit loose on my current quad but still does the job.

tjohn
02-20-10, 08:32 PM
My Corsair ram isn't as good as my G Skill I don't think. Even though my Corsair is 1600 ram it still can't clock as high as my 1333 G Skill stuff. I can overclock the cpu a little higher with just the G Skill in it.

I love G Skill, I've used it on many build without any problems.

tjohn
02-20-10, 08:35 PM
More reading is driving me crazy :( Should I stick with my current setup until the end of year and wait for the new 6 or 8 core setups !! Maybe just upgrade my video card for now. CRAP !!! I want to build now (nana2)

bob saget
02-20-10, 08:44 PM
honestly thats what i would do. and for God's sakes dont go into the 2010 Rigs thread :lol:

tjohn
02-20-10, 08:51 PM
:tiki:

tjohn
02-20-10, 08:58 PM
Can I get better gaming performance by upgrading my vid_card for now???????????????????

tjohn
02-20-10, 09:04 PM
[QUOTE=and for God's sakes dont go into the 2010 Rigs thread :lol:[/QUOTE]

Nice try LOL :rolleyes:

tjohn
02-20-10, 09:06 PM
OMG... I'm a post ***** :(

tjohn
02-20-10, 09:06 PM
WTF