PDA

View Full Version : Hopefully you can help a total noob

billmaudio
02-20-10, 05:01 PM
hey guys,

I have a few questions that I was hoping you could answer, and being a total noob when it comes to PC gaming please forgive me if I am a bit naive.

I did some searching on this forum, and found some people that are somewhat in the same boat as me, but I was hoping to get some advice on what i should do with my exact system, so here we go.

I am a huge gamer, though for me it has always been with consoles, I've always had a pc that could play a few PC games, but all my money went into consoles. I work in the gaming industry now, and thus have met a ton of PC gamers and I'd love to jump online with them, and honestly PC gaming is starting to really grow with me, ( mouse and keyboard FTW!). But I am hoping to get some advice on how I can beef up my system a bit to give me better FPS, and overall better looking games without breaking the bank.

My current system is as follows:

EVGA e-8800GT 512mb pci-e
core 2 duo 2.4ghz
windows xp sp3
3.25gigs of ram
3 sata hdd, each at 7200rpm ( I also use this pc for music and audio editing, thus the 3 hdd )
monitor is a gateway lcd that gets me 1400x900

as far as what i do for audio editing, my system is pretty strong, but I am wondering what I can do to eek out some more performance from a gaming standpoint. I thought about getting a GTX280 but going through this forum I read that since my monitor tops out at 1400x900 it's not really worth it ( is this true?). My other option is perhaps upgrading to a core 2 quad processor ( wish I could get an i7 but my mobo only accepts LGA775 ) but I am not sure if that will really get me better gaming performance.