PDA

View Full Version : You guys made me do it.


Pages : [1] 2 3

DiscipleDOC
03-04-10, 12:36 PM
I ordered (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820139132) this today. I'm hoping that I will notice a significant increase in speed for booting up my os.

I blame each and every one of you if my wife tells me to sleep on the couch because I ordered another piece of hardware before getting a new SUV. :bleh: :p

Serious question though: Do I need to update the firmware on this?

DiscipleDOC
03-04-10, 12:39 PM
Also, is there a way that I can transfer my current os drive to this one? Or would I be better off doing a clean install?

methimpikehoses
03-04-10, 12:44 PM
Are you going to scream when the UPS guy rings your doorbell to deliver it?

SR.

DiscipleDOC
03-04-10, 12:47 PM
Are you going to scream when the UPS guy rings your doorbell to deliver it?

SR.

:lol:

No. Swiff enouf?

Redeemed
03-04-10, 12:59 PM
:lol: @ meth

Nice. $141 is my price range. Drive is rather small though. I could put my os, and a few apps on it- but my Program Files folder alone is near 100GB. :lol:

Hmm... Maybe buy one now, a second a week or two later, and a third after that for RAID 5 goodness? :o That'd give me 128GB of storage space, which is sufficient. I'd use up most of it, but I'd have near 28GB free. And the RAID array ought to give me a considerable performance boost...

DiscipleDOC
03-04-10, 01:05 PM
:lol: @ meth

Nice. $141 is my price range. Drive is rather small though. I could put my os, and a few apps on it- but my Program Files folder alone is near 100GB. :lol:

Hmm... Maybe buy one now, a second a week or two later, and a third after that for RAID 5 goodness? :o That'd give me 128GB of storage space, which is sufficient. I'd use up most of it, but I'd have near 28GB free. And the RAID array ought to give me a considerable performance boost...

Wow....really? I don't put anything on my O/S drive that don't need to be there....

Maverick123w
03-04-10, 01:06 PM
Are these based on the intel drives? Not a bad price for the size. Please keep us informed with your experiences with it. I really want an ssd purely as a boot drive.

Revs
03-04-10, 01:06 PM
Welcome to the SSD club, Doc :D

As for transfering your OS, can't you ghost it?

I need to do the same actualy. I need to update my drives firmware to get TRIM working but I really don't want to do a clean install. Don't know what the best program for the job is, though. If anyone has an idea, please let me know :).

EDIT: Just had a quick look and that drive is over 150 in the UK :lol:

Maverick123w
03-04-10, 01:12 PM
I use acronis personally. It's nice and fast. I used ghost for a long time, but acronis is much better imo.

Revs
03-04-10, 01:23 PM
I use acronis personally. It's nice and fast. I used ghost for a long time, but acronis is much better imo.

OK thanks, I'll check it out :)

bacon12
03-04-10, 01:34 PM
Nice. $141 is my price range. Drive is rather small though. I could put my os, and a few apps on it- but my Program Files folder alone is near 100GB

Me to and for me to have all the apps I want and need, would require 125gb. Another reason why I have been waiting for the ssd upgrade.

Enjoy the drive DD. :)

ragejg
03-04-10, 01:35 PM
I thought you were gonna tell us that you bought BF:BC2. ;)

grey_1
03-04-10, 01:44 PM
Nice DDoc - looking forward to your impressions on it.

CaptNKILL
03-04-10, 01:59 PM
I can't find anything about these drives online.

Are these the ones that use Intel controllers or are these using the newer JMicron controllers? Kingston has used a few different ones I think.

grey_1
03-04-10, 02:10 PM
I can't find anything about these drives online.

Are these the ones that use Intel controllers or are these using the newer JMicron controllers? Kingston has used a few different ones I think.

The one he's ordering isn't even on Kingston's product page yet. :lol:

http://www.kingston.com/ssd/vplus-series.asp

nekrosoft13
03-04-10, 02:19 PM
Wow....really? I don't put anything on my O/S drive that don't need to be there....

yap, excactly

and to transfer it, you need tool like norton ghost or trueimage, you can just clone the C drive from hdd to SSD

CaptNKILL
03-04-10, 02:19 PM
The one he's ordering isn't even on Kingston's product page yet. :lol:

http://www.kingston.com/ssd/vplus-series.asp

This one isn't the V+, its just the V.

http://www.kingston.com/ssd/v-series.asp

I can't find any reviews of it though. Most of the ones on the Kingston reviews page are for the V+ and the older 125 series V drives.

nekrosoft13
03-04-10, 02:21 PM
The one he's ordering isn't even on Kingston's product page yet. :lol:

http://www.kingston.com/ssd/vplus-series.asp

yes it is

http://www.kingston.com/ssd/v-series.asp

its the V series, not V+

nekrosoft13
03-04-10, 02:22 PM
This one isn't the V+, its just the V.

http://www.kingston.com/ssd/v-series.asp

I can't find any reviews of it though. Most of the ones on the Kingston reviews page are for the V+ and the older 125 series V drives.

the older 125 series where bad, very slow and with no TRIM support.

DiscipleDOC
03-04-10, 02:27 PM
I thought you were gonna tell us that you bought BF:BC2. ;)

I'm buying that next week.

musman
03-04-10, 02:28 PM
You will love that SSD. I have had mine for a few days now and finally my computer boots up and responds like I have always wanted it too. Shuts down in 10 sec and I can be in my email in 50sec after I power it on. Windows Media Center/player open almost instantly, searches are super fast, PDF files open almost instantly....ect. You will be a happy camper for sure.

Redeemed
03-04-10, 02:32 PM
Wow....really? I don't put anything on my O/S drive that don't need to be there....

97.3 GB. :lol: Just checked.

Now, most of these I could have installed on a second drive- I'd leave stuff like Oblivion, WoW, and other games that do a lot of HDD accessing while playing on the SSD so it'd stream much smoother- infact I'm nearly drooling just thinking of the difference in Oblivion these could make- no more stuttering cause it's loading an area. :drooling:

The rest I could put on a secondary drive- I think the biggest culprit for consuming space on my drive is my Steam folder, and probably WoW- that game alone is like over 15GB. :lol:

CaptNKILL
03-04-10, 02:33 PM
the older 125 series where bad, very slow and with no TRIM support.

Yeah, that's what I remember.

Which is why I'm so curious about this one.

The only thing I can find related to recent Kingston drives is this:
http://www.anandtech.com/storage/showdoc.aspx?i=3747&p=7

Kingston uses Toshiba controllers for the V+ drives and they seem pretty nice, but I don't know anything about the V series.

DiscipleDOC
03-04-10, 02:34 PM
You will love that SSD. I have had mine for a few days now and finally my computer boots up and responds like I have always wanted it too. Shuts down in 10 sec and I can be in my email in 50sec after I power it on. Windows Media Center/player open almost instantly, searches are super fast, PDF files open almost instantly....ect. You will be a happy camper for sure.


Did you clone your os or did you do a clean install?
All of your other non-essential apps, to you have it on another drive?
What about your page file, do you have it on the ssd drive?

musman
03-04-10, 02:53 PM
Did you clone your os or did you do a clean install?
All of your other non-essential apps, to you have it on another drive?
What about your page file, do you have it on the ssd drive?


I did a fresh install.
I do have all my non-essential app on two 500Gb Seagate Barracudas in RAID 0.
I turned off the page file feature.