PDA

View Full Version : W7 Security Essentials


musman
03-06-10, 09:51 AM
Anyone here using Microsoft's Security Essentials? I have been using it for about 5 days now. Yesterday I got a virus e-mail and the program did not catch it. The e-mail was suppose to be from DHL shipping, stating that my package could not be delivered and it urged me to open a document file. I did not try to open the file so it is possible that SE would have caught it but I'm not curious enough to find out ;) I'm 99% sure it's a virus, I Googled it and it's been floating around since Summer of 2008.

Any thoughts/experiences on Microsoft's anti virus program?

Thanks

Airbrushkid
03-06-10, 10:16 AM
I got that one just days ago and many other times. But I do not have a email program on my computer. I only web base clients. Gmail is the one I always use. To me it's just better off that way. Plus I do have a iPhone and get my emails from gmail to my phone.

Logical
03-06-10, 11:37 AM
I have been using MSE for a few months now on Win7 x64. I must say compared to other products that i paid for (Trend Micro, Kaspersky and Norton), MSE is easily as good with detection and removal.

shabby
03-06-10, 03:45 PM
Take one for the team and open it...

musman
03-06-10, 03:51 PM
Take one for the team and open it...

Well now that you put it that way, sure why not! lol

scout2of3
03-06-10, 04:24 PM
I've been using it for awhile now and it has caught stuff that Avast and AVG have caught. That's why I am using it now, it's free and it catches virus'.

crainger
03-06-10, 04:49 PM
It's a nice little app. Good to see MS taking a bit back from the twit like the EU. They don't bundle, but provide no fuss apps for easy download, more often than not they are apps suited to gamers. Low resource usage and minimal pop ups.

Mr Bigman
03-10-10, 07:50 PM
I'll eat an earwx cookie to that.

seems like a good product to me but at startup it can takeawhile even with 8 gigs of ram in the htpc but tiried it on the I7 and made no footprint at all and 7 handles it well too.