PDA

View Full Version : BF1942... let's talk about this...


Pages : [1] 2

ragejg
07-15-03, 09:20 PM
Well, my friend grumpyguy finally logged on... he's a bfHead, so I know he'll be able to add a little bit to this... here goes:

1. Is it the general opinion of most that bf1942 does not run satisfactorily on systems below 2 ghz, 512mbDDR, R3XX/NV3X?

2. What's everyone's fav. optimizations for the game when running on lower range equipment?

3. Who's got issues with this game still?

4. Patches... like em/hate em/don't use em? Why?

I'll add more to this later... shoot away, folks.... maybe we can solve some problems and enlighten some folks...

:)

raysusan
07-15-03, 09:27 PM
BF1942 is my no1 game
everynight must play once:p
will stay tune to this thread:thumbsup:

Matthyahuw
07-15-03, 10:18 PM
I ran it just fine with my XP 1800+ and GF3. Used 1024x768 no AA/AF and max settings (in-game). I only got slowdowns when things blew up in my face uber close.

I have moved on to a 2700+ (210x10.5) and a Ti4600, and I just bumped the res to 1280x960, still no AA/AF and max in-game settings, runs smooth. Still have the same prob with slowdowns when things blow in my face tho :confused:

ragejg
07-15-03, 10:22 PM
Originally posted by Matthyahuw
I ran it just fine with my XP 1800+ and GF3. Used 1024x768 no AA/AF and max settings (in-game). I only got slowdowns when things blew up in my face uber close.

...and how much ram was in that machine?

yeah, it does seem to me that barely anyone can run teh game with much aa/af...

fastguy94416
07-15-03, 11:04 PM
512 megs pc2100
1800+
radeon 9700pro
running 1600x1200 with 8x AF just fine

Matthyahuw
07-16-03, 12:36 AM
512MB of PC2100 in my older maching, and now a Gig of PC3500...

Greg
07-16-03, 02:40 AM
Originally posted by Matthyahuw
Still have the same prob with slowdowns when things blow in my face tho :confused:

Yep, smoke and fire particle effects up close, overdraw the screen 100x or more with translucent (read & write per pixel) polygons, and bring ALL current systems to their knees. Just look away from the blast! Which is easier said than done when you're in the vehicle being blasted.

vampireuk
07-16-03, 07:29 AM
xp2700
512mb 3500
9700 pro
1024x768 (guess I should increase that really:D)
and x8AF with no problems at all

Lucien1964
07-16-03, 11:34 AM
xp2000
768 mb pc2100 ram
Radeon 9500 pro Retail
Abit Via chipset 266a (kr7a-133 Ithink?) mobo

With this setup its works smooth for me.I'm running 2x AA 8x AF at 1184.

raysusan
07-16-03, 11:37 AM
i am running this game at 1024x768 with max details
4xaa/16xaf
very nice and smooth:)

UDawg
07-16-03, 12:22 PM
The biggest problem I have with the game is load time and getting out of the game. I can't stand how long it takes. It is a bloated pig. My specs are as vamp knows good but man this game is painfully slow to get into and out of. Maybe I just have no patients but ahhhhhhh!!!!

Matthyahuw
07-16-03, 12:30 PM
Originally posted by UDawg
The biggest problem I have with the game is load time and getting out of the game. I can't stand how long it takes. It is a bloated pig. My specs are as vamp knows good but man this game is painfully slow to get into and out of. Maybe I just have no patients but ahhhhhhh!!!! It is for most ppl, I don't know if it's that I'm using the SATA adapter on my Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 9 or what, but I'm always the first to third person in...

raysusan
07-16-03, 07:44 PM
Originally posted by UDawg
The biggest problem I have with the game is load time and getting out of the game. I can't stand how long it takes. It is a bloated pig. My specs are as vamp knows good but man this game is painfully slow to get into and out of. Maybe I just have no patients but ahhhhhhh!!!! how much ram u have?
what HDD u use?

vampireuk
07-17-03, 07:42 AM
The levels do take a while to load everynow and again, but I'm still always one of the first people in there. Which means I get the Tiger tank:D

UDawg
07-17-03, 08:49 AM
Originally posted by raysusan
how much ram u have?
what HDD u use?

512 pc3500xms
xp2600 @ 2.2ghz
wd se80gb
a7n8x rev2.0
9700p
ect

Like vamp I am one of the first ones in also. It is just the game that is a bloated pig. It is a slow loader compared to ut2k3 and others. This is a problem every one complained about when it first came out. I know I don't have patients but I hate slow loading games.

ragejg
07-17-03, 08:54 AM
heh, I don't mind the loading times that much anymore... When it first came out, I had to get used to the game on a Duron 1k/kt133A/256mb pc133/40gb5400rpm/GF2ti... so any DDR/GF3/1.4ghz/7200rpm system feels plenty quick fer me (i'm only talkin bout LOADING)...

...sound card issues with patches, anyone?

raysusan
07-17-03, 09:42 AM
Originally posted by UDawg
512 pc3500xms
xp2600 @ 2.2ghz
wd se80gb
a7n8x rev2.0
9700p
ect

Like vamp I am one of the first ones in also. It is just the game that is a bloated pig. It is a slow loader compared to ut2k3 and others. This is a problem every one complained about when it first came out. I know I don't have patients but I hate slow loading games. increase your ram will help on alt tab issue:)

UDawg
07-17-03, 09:54 AM
That will only give it a couple of seconds boost. The rest lies in the HDD. I do have to admit the load time is around 15seconds but IT IS THE LONGEST 15 SECONDS OF MY LIFE!!! :p some maps are less like Kursk. Me likie cuz it loads the fastest. Still they had a couple of pateches that dealt with the load times which were terrible when the game first came out.

Kev1
07-17-03, 12:15 PM
Runs great on my current setup, at 1024 x 768, 32 bit, no AA/AF, cpu @ 1.75 ghz :)

Well, the demo runs great anyway. Still need to buy the game. Since have to buy stuff on a budget, I had to decide between BF1942 and UT2003 and I went with UT2003 :rolleyes:

But I like UT2003 so its not like I'm suffering or anything, plus I have MOHAA and MOHSH for my WW2 gaming adventures :)

UDawg
07-17-03, 12:25 PM
Originally posted by Kev1
Runs great on my current setup, at 1024 x 768, 32 bit, no AA/AF, cpu @ 1.75 ghz :)

Well, the demo runs great anyway. Still need to buy the game. Since have to buy stuff on a budget, I had to decide between BF1942 and UT2003 and I went with UT2003 :rolleyes:

But I like UT2003 so its not like I'm suffering or anything, plus I have MOHAA and MOHSH for my WW2 gaming adventures :)

If I knew that I would have given you my UT2k3 free. Then you could have a much better game in BF to play.

Kev1
07-17-03, 07:51 PM
That would have been nice of ya :) Yea, I know BF1942 is great game. Hopefully I'll get it soon.

tastyweat
07-22-03, 03:44 PM
One of my friends ran it fine at 1024x768 no aa or aniso at max settings with:

Athlon 1700
256MB PC2100
GF3 Ti200

Although... load times are ridiculously slow on his comp - when he tries to start up his own server - takes about 4 mins to load. No B/S.



Then there's me - my alienware = 1600x1200 4xS AA and 8x trilinear aniso with no dropping below 40fps averages at 50-60. Load times less than 15 secs for server.

CaptNKILL
07-22-03, 06:40 PM
Well, the game doesnt run too bad on my comp (well, it DID, before my NF7-S died) with 8x Performance AF and no AA. Its deffinitly slower than 0x AF, but my god its pretty! Ive never had the game run good all the time, regardless of settings.

BUT, no matter how it runs, I just dont find it as much fun as I did when I played the original Wake Island demo. It was fun to explore the games capabilities, but now, everyone exploits the game's flaws and annoying features to make it suck for everyone else. Now, only the people who play it constantly can kill things all the time, everyone else is screwed by the crappy aiming\hit system.... I wont go into this much deeper, once I get ranting about this game, I cant stop.

Some tips for new BF1942 players:
Play online for a few hours, if you actually have FUN and can do anything remotely well, keep playing. If not, stop playing, becuase it just gets more and more frustrating the more you die.

Once you quit normal BF (which is inevitable unless you either LOVE torture, or are one of those people who have good enough LUCK to actually kill the people you shoot at), download Desert Combat. It plays a LOT better than normal BF in my opinion. You can actually kill things when you point at them most of the time and the damage seems less random (ie, someone usually dies if you shoot them once or twice with any gun.... in BF it takes either one shot or multiple clips to kill).

One more thing: stay away from the Eve oF Destruction mod unless you really REALLY love to die a lot. That mod is horribly unbalanced and usually involves being shot by snipers (who have easy access to every single part of every map) or having your vehicles blown up by sub machine guns.

wysiwyg
07-23-03, 04:23 AM
before my previous soyo KT333 and TBred 2.2 and 512 2700 ram went tits up it ran pretty good. hardly any noticable slow downs, though loading was slowish.

now i have a nforce2 and barton and an sata adapter on my drive. load times are definatly quicker and im normlly the 1st or 2nd person in the game (good for getting to the choppers 1st ;)). also the nforce2 seems to have improved my pings and im sure the graphics look better now. :afro:

ps. i mianly play Desert combat. such a proffesionly made mod. it might even be released as a retail upgrade so for now try the alpha out its fab:cool:


im running it in 1024x768, Quinsunx AA, full detail, Texture sharpening

vampireuk
07-24-03, 06:44 AM
I am a killing machine in Battlefield and Desert Combat...I play online way too much:D