PDA

View Full Version : Tri-SLI Fermi for Physx?


Pages : [1] 2

GitDat
03-21-10, 06:28 PM
Which would be better for PhysX games? Tri-SLI GTX 480's or just SLI GTX480s's + GTX 260 for PhysX :)

Snake101st
03-21-10, 06:56 PM
Even a 260 for just physx is a waste imo... find a cheap used gts 250 or something.

GitDat
03-21-10, 07:11 PM
That statement has nothing to do with the question asked, lol.

trivium nate
03-21-10, 07:16 PM
probably hard to tell right as no benchmarks have been released for the cards so we don't fully know what their capable of

lee63
03-21-10, 07:29 PM
I asked jAkUp what he recommended for physx with a pair of 480s and his response was a 250 or above.

trivium nate
03-21-10, 07:30 PM
yeah youll probably be set with a 260 all though if you have dual 480's why do you need a phsyx card?

GitDat
03-21-10, 08:00 PM
yeah youll probably be set with a 260 all though if you have dual 480's why do you need a phsyx card?

I noticed a min fps increase in Cryostasis when I added the GTX 260 for dedicated PhysX with the Quad-SLI 295's.

fasedww
03-21-10, 08:08 PM
Whats the Advantage of three GTX 480's, Higher AA ETC. settings, at higher resoulutions, :)Versus two GTX 480's.

Muppet
03-22-10, 04:45 AM
Which would be better for PhysX games? Tri-SLI GTX 480's or just SLI GTX480s's + GTX 260 for PhysX :)

I thought all the Classified boards could do Tri-SLI and PhysX.

Revs
03-22-10, 04:55 AM
I thought all the Classified boards could do Tri-SLI and PhysX.

It's possible, but the PhysX card would have to be single slot. Also, 1200w wouldn't be enough :lol:

I'm keeping one of my GTX260's for PhysX. Already sold the other. ATM there's not much gain to be had over a 8800GT for PhysX, but I'm sure in the future there will be games that can make full use of it.

Toss3
03-22-10, 06:25 AM
Tri-SLi for sure! I mean every game that isn't using gpu-PhysX would benefit from having a third card(and that's a lot of titles). That way you'd get the best of both worlds. :)

Revs
03-22-10, 06:48 AM
Indeed. But it would mean swapping from a tri SLI bridge to a dual SLI bridge to use it for PhysX.

Toss3
03-22-10, 06:56 AM
Indeed. But it would mean swapping from a tri SLI bridge to a dual SLI bridge to use it for PhysX.

Can't you just set it via the nvidia control panel?

Revs
03-22-10, 07:09 AM
Can't you just set it via the nvidia control panel?

Yesh, sort of, but if you've got 3 cards in SLI you can't use one of the cards as a PhysX card. You have to bridge just two of them so the third card that's gonna be used for PhysX isn't bridged to the other two. Otherwise the PhysX and gfx load will be shared over all three.

Two GTX480's in SLI and a GTX260 for PhysX is a nice combo. It's how I'll be rollin if I find I need another GTX480.

Iruwen
03-22-10, 07:10 AM
I'd rather wait for a GTX 480 with 3GB of VRAM since some Crysis Mods already bump the requirements to 2GB+. I don't see a reason to go Tri-SLI unless hunting for benchmark highscores.

Revs
03-22-10, 07:12 AM
I'd rather wait for a GTX 480 with 3GB of VRAM since some Crysis Mods already bump the requirements to 2GB+. I don't see a reason to go Tri-SLI unless hunting for benchmark highscores.

Metro on 3 screens in 3D?? :D

Would 3 be enough? :lol:

Toss3
03-22-10, 07:48 AM
Metro on 3 screens in 3D?? :D

Would 3 be enough? :lol:

Nope, but that's why dual-Fermis are on the way! ;)

CaptNKILL
03-22-10, 08:21 AM
I wonder if they'll make a dual Fermi card with a 3Gb frame buffer (6Gb total) that can work in tri-sli, so that we can have up to 18Gb of GDDR5 sitting in our systems. :bleh:

You'd probably need at least two 1200W PSUs to run it though.

Revs
03-22-10, 10:42 AM
I think 4 GPU's is the max ATM. I've not heard of any plans to increase it.

fasedww
03-22-10, 11:15 AM
I think maybe I'll get 3 GTX 470's in TRI-SLI, still should be killer, don't you think.:), I play at 1920/1200, thats my native resoulution on my Dell U2709W.

Toss3
03-22-10, 11:17 AM
I think maybe I'll get 3 GTX 470's in TRI-SLI, still should be killer, don't you think.:)

Think two GTX 480 in SLI would serve you better as tri-sli doesn't really scale that well. :)

fasedww
03-22-10, 11:31 AM
So two GTX 480's SLI, One GTX 280 for phsyics, as I already have three gtx 280's.

fasedww
03-22-10, 03:10 PM
I'm getting three 470's or three 480's, I think you would be able to overclock some of those 470's a little bit.:)

Fotis
03-22-10, 03:42 PM
Agreed. But I think even two 480s will be up to the task, including PhysX.

I would think its depends on a few factors.What if you use 3D vision + multimonitor along with Physx?

Snake101st
03-22-10, 05:40 PM
Whats so important about physx anyways? Ive never been wowed in a game enough to feel bad about turning it off if Im not getting enough fps.

3 3d monitors would be much better than physx imo, but its up to you.