PDA

View Full Version : Are you going to buy Fermi?


Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12

Noriega
04-07-10, 05:48 AM
Let's vote!

Please don't vote if you're not really going to buy anything.

I'm not intrested in Fermi, Ati also will be not strong enough for DX11. I'm waiting for next generations.

Vardant
04-07-10, 05:54 AM
I'm waiting for a mainstream part or lower prices. They're overpriced at the moment in my country. There's no way I'm gonna pay 470 bucks for the GTX 470 :thumbdwn:

Noriega
04-07-10, 05:56 AM
I'm waiting for a mainstream part or lower prices. There's no way I'm gonna pay 470 bucks for the GTX 470 :thumbdwn:

I'm afraid that mainstream will be stron enough to compete with 5850 which is cheap and probably with similar price. :thumbdwn:

lee63
04-07-10, 06:01 AM
I think the noise will bother me the most,then power, heat and price...my answer is no ish.

Revs
04-07-10, 06:19 AM
Already defected.

XxDeadlyxX
04-07-10, 06:48 AM
Yes, two GTX 480's.

agentkay
04-07-10, 07:35 AM
One 480 for me, the so-called downsides are no issue for me at all. :D

rombat
04-07-10, 07:40 AM
I am waiting till the end of this year to see Ati's new gpu and see if Nvidia brings out some thing new to answer back! ;)

Q
04-07-10, 07:53 AM
One 480 for me, the so-called downsides are no issue for me at all. :D

So you're a wealthy, water-cooling, bad ass that keeps your computer in the closet?

:p


I've finally broken the update cycle a little bit. I bought the 5850 about 5 months ago in preparation to finally upgrade to 23" LCD. I had a 8800 GTX that served me very well, which is now living in the wife's gaming machine. I'm still happy with both.

I love competition.

Madpistol
04-07-10, 08:01 AM
I bought a 5870 about 3 months ago. I have no plans to replace it anytime soon.

Honestly, the heat and power wouldn't be such a big deal if there was a bigger payoff in performance. The way things are right now, I'm going to stay with ATI for the time being.

Bearclaw
04-07-10, 08:02 AM
Nope. From what I've been reading, the sound and heat cons are too much for me to justify it right now.

agentkay
04-07-10, 08:05 AM
So you're a wealthy, water-cooling, bad ass that keeps your computer in the closet?


I'm comfortable. :) But no I won't water-cool it, if noise should really bother me I'll get an aftermarket aircooler but I'm confident that I'll balance temps/airflow and noise just fine even with the stock cooler. :) Going ATI/AMD is simply not an option for me, they don't have the features I want plus hell has to freeze over before I will give them a single penny of my money. :lol:

Yaboze
04-07-10, 08:14 AM
Going ATI this round most likely.

CaptNKILL
04-07-10, 08:23 AM
If it was cheaper, I'd give one a try.

I'll most likely be buying ATI though, whenever I see a good deal on the right card.

ragingWS6
04-07-10, 08:41 AM
Since I don't want to upgrade my proc and motherboard yet (my Q9650 has life in it yet), I'll probably sell both my 260s and get one 480 and add it to my watercooling loop. I'll get the 2nd probably later in the year. If I had an i7 and X58, I would be getting 2x 5850s most likely and calling it a day.

newparad1gm
04-07-10, 08:46 AM
Yup, I'm picking up two 480s in SLI. 3D Surround is too cool of a feature for me to ignore. I'm not going to water cool it though. I think all of the overheating problems are really overblown, that the default fan speeds are just too low and more focused on keeping acoustics down, and if I just set the fans at 100% like I do currently with my GTX 280s, I really shouldn't have a problem. Plus I loves me my AC in the summer, and my room is generally always a fridge.

XMAN52373
04-07-10, 09:51 AM
I voted no, costs to much. both cards, for the performance. Heat is another issue as my rig is in a small office which would let me play only during the winter with a window open. I'll wait for the refresh.

john19055
04-07-10, 10:14 AM
I went with ATI about a month ago,I knew there would be problems with nvidia new card because of the lateness and all the rummors.Now I am glad I did because the noise would have gotten to me ,I had enough with my three GTX 280's and the GTX480 sounds like it it going to be even louder.

lduguay
04-07-10, 10:24 AM
TRI-SLI GTX480 for me (if feasible). Dunno what kind of power supply i'd need tho... 1500W seems too little considering that each GTX480 can draw 440W under full load. Also, I'm unable to find a suitable UPS, as my APC 1.5KVA is already complaining about being overloaded while gaming.
Any suggestions?

Madpistol
04-07-10, 10:29 AM
TRI-SLI GTX480 for me (if feasible). 1500W seems too little considering that each GTX480 can draw 440W under full load.

:headexplode:


Where did you get that figure from?

The GTX 480 draws about 250 watts under full load. I can see a full system drawing that much power, but if the GTX 480 used that much power, It truly would be able to cook an egg on it.

lduguay
04-07-10, 10:35 AM
Silly me, that was a figure for a FULL system load...:o:retard:

Here (http://hothardware.com/Articles/NVIDIA-GeForce-GTX-480-GF100-Has-Landed/?page=16)

So i guess a good 1.5kw power supply would be enough?

methimpikehoses
04-07-10, 10:42 AM
nope

lduguay
04-07-10, 10:49 AM
nope

nope? :cry:

agentkay
04-07-10, 10:53 AM
So i guess a good 1.5kw power supply would be enough?

Most certainly!

shadow001
04-07-10, 12:01 PM
Pay special attention on which wall outlet you plug the system into though,as it would be better if had it's own dedicated circuit breaker for that outlet,as in most homes,the breakers are rated at 15 amps at 120 volts,so that's 1800 watts that can be drawn from the circuit before the breaker shuts it down.


A 1500 watt power supply isn't 100% efficient at turning AC current into DC current(usually about 85% at best),so for the power supply to dish out 1500 watts to the system(if needed),it needs 1725 watts from that wall outlet,so it's not far from making that breaker shut the whole thing down.


1:So there's 2 options available,make that specific wall socket where you plug your PC into have it's own breaker,and make sure nothing else is plugged into that same breaker(lights in the room,TV,etc).

2:Hire a contractor to modify the breaker in that room and swap it with a 20 Amp breaker,if the wiring in the house can handle it(He'll know).....The room will then have 2400 watts being supplied to it,and a lot more breathing room to plug in everything.