PDA

View Full Version : 4 way SLI 480s at Evga?????


Pages : [1] 2

lduguay
04-08-10, 01:40 PM
I just can't see how those 480's are connected to the motherboard. It looks like the last (or first) card is not even connected. Also there is a plastic wrap covering the fan on that same card?
No LEDs on the top of the 480 are on?

http://www.guru3d.com/imageview.php?image=23400

Source
guru3d link (http://www.guru3d.com/news/evga-teases-with-gtx-480-4-way-sli-/)

agentkay
04-08-10, 01:52 PM
Looks like a single big SLI bridge that goes over all four cards.

XMAN52373
04-08-10, 02:04 PM
I just can't see how those 480's are connected to the motherboard. It looks like the last (or first) card is not even connected. Also there is a plastic wrap covering the fan on that same card?
No LEDs on the top of the 480 are on?

http://www.guru3d.com/imageview.php?image=23400

Source
guru3d link (http://www.guru3d.com/news/evga-teases-with-gtx-480-4-way-sli-/)

Using the high end Classified board that does 4 way SLi. The ony board that supports it.

Xion X2
04-08-10, 02:11 PM
4-way SLI with these on air has to be about the stupidest thing I have ever seen.

http://img693.imageshack.us/img693/6206/boilingpoint2.jpg (http://img693.imageshack.us/my.php?image=boilingpoint2.jpg)

lduguay
04-08-10, 02:19 PM
Looks like a single big SLI bridge that goes over all four cards.

OK, the SLI Bridge connects to the inner edge of all 4 cards. I can only imagine a 1KW worth of heat being generated by those cards.

Madpistol
04-08-10, 02:40 PM
Just make sure you don't stick your hand behind the cards. It might burst into flames...

lee63
04-08-10, 02:43 PM
I bet that's Jacobs desk/station :cool:

Roadhog
04-08-10, 03:15 PM
Using the high end Classified board that does 4 way SLi. The ony board that supports it.

Not true.

Asus p6t7.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131390

tweaked
04-08-10, 03:22 PM
Not true.

Asus p6t7.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131390

ahh you beat me to it.

Amaury
04-08-10, 04:15 PM
Did that just melt the case :(

Amaury
04-08-10, 04:18 PM
Jacob make sure you drink plenty of fluids before and during benchmarking.

Roliath
04-08-10, 04:18 PM
4-way SLI with these on air has to be about the stupidest thing I have ever seen.

http://www.impawards.com/1993/posters/boiling_point.jpg

this made me lol

onmikesline
04-08-10, 04:23 PM
how the hell does it get air lol

trivium nate
04-08-10, 07:43 PM
all of that just to run that stupid heaven benchmark

onmikesline
04-08-10, 08:20 PM
im curious about the results, im sure crysis would run sooooooooo smooth like 500fps, lol

Viral
04-08-10, 08:30 PM
It's the new futuremark! lol

trivium nate
04-08-10, 08:57 PM
maybe only 45 fps in crysis

kesker01
04-09-10, 02:50 PM
Not true.

Asus p6t7.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131390

Asus Rampage 3

http://www.brightsideofnews.com/news/2010/4/8/evga-shows-off-gtx-480-4-way-sli.aspx

Tom Petersen, Director of Technical Marketing at Nvidia stated that Nvidia will officially support 4-Way SLI designs coming from EVGA and ASUS.

Does this motherboard Or the Rampage 3 board comes with 4 way sli bridge?

DarthBeavis i know that you are in contact with Asus if you can gather info about this,i would be grateful.

I am asking this because as far as i know the 4 way sli bridges arent sold seperately.

Muppet
04-09-10, 03:24 PM
The new Gigabyte UD-9 also supports 4-way.

Roadhog
04-09-10, 04:14 PM
http://www.brightsideofnews.com/news/2010/4/8/evga-shows-off-gtx-480-4-way-sli.aspx

Tom Petersen, Director of Technical Marketing at Nvidia stated that Nvidia will officially support 4-Way SLI designs coming from EVGA and ASUS.

Does this motherboard Or the Rampage 3 board comes with 4 way sli bridge?

DarthBeavis i know that you are in contact with Asus if you can gather info about this,i would be grateful.

I am asking this because as far as i know the 4 way sli bridges arent sold seperately.

Just because it doesn't come with a bridge, does not mean it is not supported. It is pretty easy to buy one.

candle_86
04-09-10, 04:29 PM
can it play crysis?

musman
04-09-10, 04:35 PM
can it play crysis?

Yes, 12fps with full AA enabled lol...jk

onmikesline
04-09-10, 04:38 PM
lol if you wait a few years, one card will own all 4 when they come out

kesker01
04-09-10, 04:45 PM
Just because it doesn't come with a bridge, does not mean it is not supported. It is pretty easy to buy one.

Any links to somewhere that sell 4-way SLI bridge? I didnt come across one:)

Muppet
04-09-10, 06:43 PM
lol if you wait a few years, one card will own all 4 when they come out

That is the same with any new generations that come out though.