PDA

View Full Version : Nvidia GeForce 197.45 WHQL drivers


DSC
04-13-10, 09:55 AM
Nvidia has released new drivers for all older GPUs, these drivers DO NOT support Geforce 400 series GPUs, use 197.41 WHQL for GTX 470/480.

http://www.nvidia.com/object/win7_winvista_32bit_197.45_whql.html

http://www.nvidia.com/object/win7_winvista_64bit_197.45_whql.html

andrebrait
04-13-10, 10:42 AM
Are the problems with EVR fixed?

FallenAngel
04-13-10, 12:09 PM
Nop... It's still broken.. at least on my system...

Yaboze
04-13-10, 01:38 PM
Do these have the OpenGL stuff from .44?

newparad1gm
04-13-10, 02:54 PM
So NVIDIA drivers are no longer unified between the 400 series and the rest of the lineup?

namuk
04-13-10, 03:05 PM
Hdtv issue still there:thumbdwn:

degust
04-13-10, 03:08 PM
They'll be unified again pretty soon I think.

nekrosoft13
04-13-10, 05:54 PM
So NVIDIA drivers are no longer unified between the 400 series and the rest of the lineup?

driver structure is unified, you can take this driver open inf file add fermi info and it work fine.

.44 has all inf info, compare inf files to see what lines need to be copied over.

all drivers starting with 197.17 were unified with fermi, just everytime when nvidia releases a new series of cards, first few drivers are seperate (inf info removed) probably for testing purpose.

trivium nate
04-13-10, 08:12 PM
downloaded but will wait a week or w/e before switching to these to see if they are worth switching to or not

andrebrait
04-13-10, 11:39 PM
Nop... It's still broken.. at least on my system...

It's fine here. Are you using EVR Sync? If so, try changing to EVR Custom. DXVA works with it too, and EVR Sync was causing the video to lag a bit from time to time.

FallenAngel
04-14-10, 02:47 AM
Yes I use EVR Sync because I need it... it works best for me when watching stuff on my LCD TV... It worked fine until 196.34.

197.x also give me problems with Media Center watching 720p stuff (using default windows codec)... some weird hitchup from time to time... it worked fine until 196.34.

Looks like 197's are not good for HTPC stuff.... at least for me.

Yaboze
04-14-10, 08:14 AM
These seem the same as 197.13.

yakumo
04-14-10, 09:24 AM
These drivers have broken 120hz in a very weird way on my Iiyama HM903DT, nv 8500 GT

1024x786@120hz is my normal setting for FPS games, it's not entirely uncomon for a new driver to need the image to be moved/scaled a little again, but normally that alters the black border around the image, with these drivers the border stays the same, and the image is being squished, and the monitor settings dont reach far enough to actually get all the image visible. a good inch or so of the image at 1024x168 is missing from both sides.

The driver seems fine at higher or lower refresh rates, only 120hz is messed up :(#


dragging windows around there is noticeable distortion at the screen edges.

First time I've ever seen anything like this with WHQL or beta drivers for any of the nvidia cards I've had with this monitor.

EDIT: Bah, totally stripped out these drivers and tried the 196.34 beta's, they have the same problem, only at 120hz.

Tried the 195.81 betas rather than going back to the last WHQL and they are fine, it's only all the 196 series messed up so far.

nb. this is with NO EDID info being used (cable with no EDID pin) so it's not an EDID error.

same problem as ever. 800x600 @ 120hz is also massively distorted.

1024x768 @ 119hz, 121hz, 124hz, 125hz = no problem with screen, (but I don't want to use these as input feels lagged, 120hz syncing to USB is better.)

1024x768 @ 120hz - 195.81 or older driver = no problem

yakumo
05-14-10, 07:53 AM
I'd been happily using these rivers for quake2, quake3, quakelive, all openGL games at 1024x768 32bpp, then randomly tried quake4 :

...calling LoadLibrary( 'opengl32' ): succeeded
...640x480 is unsupported in 32 bit

...calling LoadLibrary( 'opengl32' ): succeeded
...1024x768 is unsupported in 32 bit

Fatal Error: Unable to initialize OpenGL

it absolutely wouldn't start, i reset rez. refresh when that failed removed all cfg files which defaults all game settings, reinstalled the game, patches, the 197.45 drivers it just wouldn't start till I reverted to 195.81 drivers again (anything in between 197.45 and 195.81 may work but I wasn't going to lose more time trying lots of them)

hemmy
05-18-10, 08:13 PM
Figured I would update to these from 196.21, and now BC2 all I get is a white screen, with the noise in the background :(