PDA

View Full Version : 480 temps great on air with nice oc.


Pages : [1] 2

turdhat
04-18-10, 09:03 AM
My card has not hit above 90c with fan forced at 70% (which isnt loud to me at all) running extreme burn on furmark. Keep in mind my core is running at 806 (default 701), shader at 1612 (Default 1400) and to my surprise is rock solid.

The memory doesnt like being pushed very far however. At 970 (default 925) Heaven Dx11 bench would hard lock and throw crap all over the screen. Mem at 945 + 806core and 1612 shader =rock solid and very, very fast.

The card rocks, the heat is a non issue and it overclocks f&^king awesome with no effort. My case is a wind tunnel with great airflow. Ambient temps on air coming in to the case are about 73.5f at the moment.

Next step, I7 at at least 4.0ghz. Dont know for sure if that q6600 in sig is holding me back too much.

brunner
04-18-10, 09:16 AM
It's a bit surprising that that ram overclocked so little. Isn't the 480 already setting the memory speed at lower than it's rated for?

Yeah, that Q6600 is holding you back but it also depends on what games you're playing. When I switched to a I7 from a Q6600 that was similarly clocked as yours, I noticed that the framerate in many newer games became more stable. That was just with a pair of 280 GTXes so you should see even bigger results with a 480.

Toss3
04-18-10, 09:22 AM
Not really surprised at it being a good overclocker as it was clearly downclocked in order to draw less than 300w. :)
Eagerly looking forward to the refresh of these cards! The GTX 480 packs one hell of a punch when overclocked.

Arioch
04-18-10, 09:27 AM
I just upgraded my PC from a QX6700@3.3Ghz to a I7 930@3.5Ghz. I had my 2 480GTX cards in my old system for a couple days and I can tell you the new CPU did a lot for my minimum frame rates. I use 3D Vision and that really brings down performance. In games like Metro 2033 and Just Cause 2 I was having to turning off or drop down some settings to keep my minimum frame rates from impacting gameplay but now I can pretty much crank up everything to maximum.

turdhat
04-18-10, 09:29 AM
It's a bit surprising that that ram overclocked so little. Isn't the 480 already setting the memory speed at lower than it's rated for?

Yeah, that Q6600 is holding you back but it also depends on what games you're playing. When I switched to a I7 from a Q6600 that was similarly clocked as yours, I noticed that the framerate in many newer games became more stable. That was just with a pair of 280 GTXes so you should see even bigger results with a 480.

I have been hearing that if you have a q6600 at at least 3.6 that an I7 isnt going to net you a whole lot unless you go SLI. Then it is a must. Anyone else advise on this ?

Come to think of it, if my cpu was a bottleneck then I wouldnt see improvments across the board on GPU overclocking right ? I am seeing performance improvments from everything that I have tried when compared to stock clocks.

Dirt 2
Boarderlands
Fear 1
FLuidmark
Furmark
Heaven bench went from 49 to 54fps from the clock bump default dx11 settings at 1080p

methimpikehoses
04-18-10, 09:33 AM
Hmm, how is the noise on your card?

turdhat
04-18-10, 09:51 AM
Well I guess it is a little loud if you are right up on it but that is down to personal opinion. I dont hear it because I have a strange pc setup with everything intergrated in to my home theater and use wireless mouse +keyboard from couch. I sit at a desk all day and be damned if I going to do it when I want to relax with a game !

The pc is behind the black curtain which is a small storage area. See the dvd drive on top of the right speaker ?

http://s766.photobucket.com/albums/xx302/turdhat/

brunner
04-18-10, 11:18 AM
I have been hearing that if you have a q6600 at at least 3.6 that an I7 isnt going to net you a whole lot unless you go SLI. Then it is a must. Anyone else advise on this ?

Come to think of it, if my cpu was a bottleneck then I wouldnt see improvments across the board on GPU overclocking right ? I am seeing performance improvments from everything that I have tried when compared to stock clocks.


Not true. If you're most playing console ports like Resident Evil or Batman:AA, then yeah you won't see much difference because console games tend not to be very CPU intensive. However, for games like World in Conflict, Farcry 2 and Crysis, there's a big difference. I don't think that synthetic CPU benchmarks really show the edge that I7 has over the Q6600. On paper, their performances aren't that far off from each other at the same clock speed but in gaming, it's very apparent. I think that's just due to the X58 being a much better platform overall than anything the Q6600 runs on.

Slytat
04-18-10, 11:23 AM
Not true. If you're most playing console ports like Resident Evil or Batman:AA, then yeah you won't see much difference because console games tend not to be very CPU intensive. However, for games like World in Conflict, Farcry 2 and Crysis, there's a big difference. I don't think that synthetic CPU benchmarks really show the edge that I7 has over the Q6600. On paper, their performances aren't that far off from each other at the same clock speed but in gaming, it's very apparent. I think that's just due to the X58 being a much better platform overall than anything the Q6600 runs on.

Further to that, many RTS will benefit heavily from i7's as well.

sancheuz
04-18-10, 02:55 PM
How has your card not hit 90 degrees? My single 480 when playing crysis hits 95 with my fan at 85 percent. How long did you run test? What is your room temp?

brunner
04-18-10, 03:03 PM
How has your card not hit 90 degrees? My single 480 when playing crysis hits 95 with my fan at 85 percent. How long did you run test? What is your room temp?

Maybe you have to reapply the thermal compound on your GPU? Some people are reporting in forums that they have really messily applied TIM on their 400 GPUS which are causing heat problems.

Galvin
04-18-10, 03:14 PM
I'd like someone to do some tests showing the difference in temps on a 480 stock cooler. But changing the thermal compound to the standard paste that overclockers use. And was it just the gpu part the paste is applied to or did they change the paste for the memory chips and VRM's too?

Bah!
04-18-10, 03:28 PM
I'd like someone to do some tests showing the difference in temps on a 480 stock cooler. But changing the thermal compound to the standard paste that overclockers use. And was it just the gpu part the paste is applied to or did they change the paste for the memory chips and VRM's too?

There was a DIY thread on Evga that showed about a 10c drop overall when switching from the stock thermal compound to some new stuff.

After seeing all the pictures of the default stuff and how it's globbed on like peanut butter and smeared all over the place I wanna do mine too, but my temps are good and I don't want to risk screwing something up until there is some stock to replace my card with.

Kaguya
04-18-10, 05:02 PM
There was a DIY thread on Evga that showed about a 10c drop overall when switching from the stock thermal compound to some new stuff.

After seeing all the pictures of the default stuff and how it's globbed on like peanut butter and smeared all over the place I wanna do mine too, but my temps are good and I don't want to risk screwing something up until there is some stock to replace my card with.

Is this vendor-specific, or are they all like that?

Those with good temps, what brands do you have?

sancheuz
04-18-10, 05:58 PM
Okay, i followed the tutorial on evga forum and changed the tim to artic silver 5 just as tutorial. I have a Zotac 480. My temps are the same, lower 80's for idle (dual monitor) and lower to mid 90's for load with fans at ~89%. Turdhat is your room temp like at the freezing point or something?

Slytat
04-18-10, 06:08 PM
Okay, i followed the tutorial on evga forum and changed the tim to artic silver 5 just as tutorial. I have a Zotac 480. My temps are the same, lower 80's for idle (dual monitor) and lower to mid 90's for load with fans at ~89%. Turdhat is your room temp like at the freezing point or something?

Sounds like your airflow is not ideal. I have 2 Zotacs side by side and they don't break 80c @ 70% fan speed. Room temp is 68f right now.

EDIT : Only just noticed you were using multiple monitors, that's a known issue.

Bah!
04-18-10, 06:16 PM
Is this vendor-specific, or are they all like that?

Those with good temps, what brands do you have?

That was an Evga card, but so far all the ones I've seen pictures of have the same horrible paste job.

I have two PNY 480's. They idle at 44c and 41c @ 45% fan speed and so far I've only had one game hit 80 or above and that was Crysis which hit 83c and 81c @ 79%fan speed.

Okay, i followed the tutorial on evga forum and changed the tim to artic silver 5 just as tutorial. I have a Zotac 480. My temps are the same, lower 80's for idle (dual monitor) and lower to mid 90's for load with fans at ~89%. Turdhat is your room temp like at the freezing point or something?

Have you tried running just one monitor? Might give a better idea of how hot your card actually is. Dual monitors is fubar with these cards and if I were a multi-monitor person I wouldn't own one.

sancheuz
04-18-10, 06:47 PM
Man I'm wondering if there is a difference between vendors.. my zotac is not performing well compared to other brands. Can I ask Bah what Bios version ur card shows?

Bah!
04-18-10, 06:54 PM
Man I'm wondering if there is a difference between vendors.. my zotac is not performing well compared to other brands. Can I ask Bah what Bios version ur card shows?

Well, we can't really know it's not performing well because of your dual monitor setup. Your temps are going to be higher due to that so looking at our temps isn't going to help you much. Did you try with just one monitor and seeing what they look like then?

If your temps were that high with just one monitor I could definitely say something wasn't right, but everything I've seen about two monitors shows them much, much hotter than with one.

My bios on both cards, as reported by GPU-Z, is: 70.00.1A.00.02

Edit: Saw your single monitor temps...seems excessive. I posted my temps above and it's generally 72-75f in my home, most days closer to 72. I wouldn't think a couple degrees would make that big a difference, though.

What kind of case and cooling do you have?

sancheuz
04-18-10, 06:58 PM
Update: I just tried single monitor preliminary and still running hot at games breaking mid 90's. My room temp is 76f right now..I'm wondering if that has something to do with it. I have the same Bios version as you Bah! I'm gonna do some more single monitor testing on it

Update 2: Okay did some further single monitor testing and still hitting 90's. Anybody else have a 480 hitting 90's or am I the only one?

Slytat
04-18-10, 07:07 PM
Update: I just tried single monitor preliminary and still running hot at games breaking mid 90's. My room temp is 76f right now..I'm wondering if that has something to do with it. I have the same Bios version as you Bah! I'm gonna do some more single monitor testing on it

Update 2: Okay did some further single monitor testing and still hitting 90's. Anybody else have a 480 hitting 90's or am I the only one?

Are you using a fan profile or leaving them on auto?

Arioch
04-18-10, 07:37 PM
I only hit 90s if I turn on everything in Furmark with my current 77% fan speed settings. In games I have seen it dip into the low 80s on occasion on the few games I have played so far. I actually lowered the ambient temperature inside my case with my new I7 CPU since it runs a lot cooler than my QX6700 ever did.

sancheuz
04-18-10, 07:41 PM
I have a fan profile....but if i run fan in games at anything under 90 percent, it quickly heats to the upper 90's F. In Auto it stabilizes under load in the lower 90's. Arioch, what is your room temp?

Slytat
04-18-10, 07:43 PM
I have a fan profile....but if i run fan in games at anything under 90 percent, it quickly heats to the upper 90's F. In Auto it stabilizes under load in the lower 90's. Arioch, what is your room temp?

Case/Cooling etc?

Arioch
04-18-10, 07:44 PM
I set my A/C in my apartment to keep things at 75 degrees but the thermostat is in the living room and my bedroom is always a bit hotter if I have my PC and television on, which is most of the time.