PDA

View Full Version : People say Dx10 is laggier, stutters more, etc. Try this.


turdhat
05-01-10, 01:47 PM
D3Doverrider comes with rivatuner. It is located in the tools directory. Load it up and turn on vsync and triplebuffering. This forces triple buffering in dx10. Fixes all the crap for me and has for a while under xp, vista and 7. Running a GTX 480 now and same deal. Without it SOME games feel just sloppy. This seems to fix it for me. Also I tend to use nhnacer and set prerendered frames at 1 as opposed to 3. Just dont set it to 0 or CRASH !!

|MaguS|
05-01-10, 01:53 PM
What you recommended would help in some games but other games could experiance more issues.

CaptNKILL
05-01-10, 01:54 PM
I've had this program load at startup, forcing vsync and triple buffering for several years now. Its an indispensable application IMO. :)

FearMeAll
05-01-10, 02:43 PM
D3Doverrider is one of the big reasons I like pc gaming.

t3hl33td4rg0n
05-01-10, 03:31 PM
For those of you who aren't familiar with the utility, heres a link to rivatuner (http://www.guru3d.com/index.php?page=rivatuner)

Hercules
05-01-10, 04:30 PM
Looks like a great application.
Does it work on ATI cards, and can it be used in all games with noticeable results?

CaptNKILL
05-01-10, 07:47 PM
Looks like a great application.
Does it work on ATI cards, and can it be used in all games with noticeable results?

The result is generally that your frame rate is capped to your refresh rate, and you get no screen tearing and generally more consistent frame rates.

If for some reason it doesn't work well (or at all) in a game, D3DOverrider actually has application profiles built in so that you can create ones for programs that don't like to have these settings forced on. Some older games don't like it, and some low budget or 2D games may have issues with forced vsync and triple buffering, but honestly I can't remember the last time I had to disable it on an actual game.

Just make sure to turn it off while benchmarking, or create profiles for your benchmark programs. It will cap your frame rates, which ruins benchmark scores.

Sgt_Pitt
05-02-10, 04:36 AM
Prolly only works in fullscreen, most of my mmo's and games i play in windows

What i would really like to see is triple buffer and vsync forced in windows 7 desktop since it's using dx to render desktop i think.

"Quote from another forum"
Actually, I'm pretty sure that buffer flipping in DirectDraw only works in exclusive mode (ie. fullscreen), and I think that is the only function that explicitly waits for Vsync.

I wish vsync worked in windows.

Sean_W
05-02-10, 05:11 AM
Prolly only works in fullscreen, most of my mmo's and games i play in windows

What i would really like to see is triple buffer and vsync forced in windows 7 desktop since it's using dx to render desktop i think.

"Quote from another forum"
Actually, I'm pretty sure that buffer flipping in DirectDraw only works in exclusive mode (ie. fullscreen), and I think that is the only function that explicitly waits for Vsync.

I wish vsync worked in windows.

WOW, I've only just noticed that since you said it, even Linux composting managers can use VSync. :|

The D3Doverrider does seem to work well in Just Cause 2 for me though.

TheANIMAL
05-02-10, 05:47 PM
Wait i though we weren't allowed to link to rivatuner (http://www.guru3d.com/index.php?page=rivatuner) what if the guy who made rivatuner (http://www.guru3d.com/index.php?page=rivatuner) finds out that rivatuner (http://www.guru3d.com/index.php?page=rivatuner) is being linked from NVNews?

Or that i've put lemonparty in the links instead. :bleh:

nekrosoft13
05-02-10, 09:22 PM
it is also important to mention that some anti-cheating systems can sometimes detect it as a hack

Dizzle7677
05-03-10, 12:53 AM
Sounds like you all just bought into the Vista/7 DX10/11 Microsoft marketing department.

Good luck.

Viral
05-03-10, 03:07 AM
Sounds like you all just bought into the Vista/7 DX10/11 Microsoft marketing department.

Good luck.

Have fun with XP then.

jeffmd
05-03-10, 03:18 AM
yea tell me how it goes for you when your new games don't even support dx9 any more..

Burnt_Ram
05-05-10, 09:56 AM
I've had this program load at startup, forcing vsync and triple buffering for several years now. Its an indispensable application IMO. :)i wish i could use it, but punkbuster see's it as a cheat :thumbdwn: however, Alexi told me that it would be fixed in the next RT. still waiting ;)

Sean_W
05-05-10, 10:38 AM
It works well for Just Cause 2 but crashes out GTA IV/EFLC.

Sazar
05-05-10, 11:04 AM
Wait i though we weren't allowed to link to rivatuner (http://www.guru3d.com/index.php?page=rivatuner) what if the guy who made rivatuner (http://www.guru3d.com/index.php?page=rivatuner) finds out that rivatuner (http://www.guru3d.com/index.php?page=rivatuner) is being linked from NVNews?

Or that i've put lemonparty in the links instead. :bleh:

:rofl

CaptNKILL
05-05-10, 11:19 AM
i wish i could use it, but punkbuster see's it as a cheat :thumbdwn: however, Alexi told me that it would be fixed in the next RT. still waiting ;)

What games catch it as a cheat? I've been using it for years without any punkbuster issues. :confused:

Burnt_Ram
05-05-10, 01:00 PM
What games catch it as a cheat? I've been using it for years without any punkbuster issues. :confused:

it boots me from CoD World @ War with a PB error, if i turn off D3D Overider i dont get kicked. the new RT will have an option to run D3D overider in stealth mode, Unwinder says that'll fix the issue.

ViN86
05-05-10, 02:09 PM
Sounds like you all just bought into the Vista/7 DX10/11 Microsoft marketing department.

Good luck.

What? No one here said they bought Vista/Win 7 for DX10/11. They are just saying ways to improve performance.

I am pretty sure everyone bought Windows 7 because it stomps XP into the ground. Vista was a stepping stone, heh.

DiscipleDOC
05-05-10, 02:56 PM
For those of you who aren't familiar with the utility, heres a link to rivatuner (http://www.guru3d.com/index.php?page=rivatuner)

:lol:

mailman2
05-05-10, 03:48 PM
Vista was a stone, heh.


Fixed.

jeffmd
05-06-10, 12:45 AM
Vista was a great looking/working os that traded up some performance for its eye candy, but win7 out shortly after is just proof they didn't work as hard as they needed to and so vista just turned out to be a sloppy execution.