PDA

View Full Version : Case fans

CaptNKILL
05-15-10, 02:54 AM
I'm thinking of adding some better fans to my new Cooler Master 690 II Advanced to try to keep the noise and GPU temps under control.

Basically, after using an Antec P180 and a GTX 260 for quite a while, I'm used to a quiet computer, so the ridiculously loud fan in the GTX 470 and a noisy 120mm tricool fan running maxed out at 2300RPM are just too much for me. The noise is just way too distracting. I think anything officially rated at under 30DBA should be good and I obviously want the highest CFM possible. I've never used one before but it looks like a PWM fan would be the best choice for the bottom of my case (to cool the GPU directly), so that it stays quiet until the GPU gets warm, at which point I want it to ramp up as much as it can since nothing will be as loud as the GTX 470 fan. :o

I need some recommendations for good fans though. My case will accept 120mm or 140mm fans all around. I only have two headers for 4-pin PWM fans on my board, and one would be for the CPU, but I wouldn't mind upgrading that fan either (its currently using a 120mm tricool). Any other fans would simply be 3 pin or molex powered.

I prefer buying cooling supplies from Jab-Tech because they aren't too far from here, so the shipping is pretty cheap (but its still out of state, so no tax ;)). So, my selection would come from here:

http://www.jab-tech.com/120mm-Fans-c-81.html
http://www.jab-tech.com/140mm-Fans-c-282.html
http://www.jab-tech.com/PWM-Fans-For-LGA775-Motherboards-c-273.html

I'm thinking of going with at least one Scythe Slip Stream (http://www.jab-tech.com/Scythe-KAZE-JYUNI-SLIP-STREAM-120mm-PWM-Case-Fan-SY1225SL12M-PWM-pr-4599.html) 120mm PWM fan, but I wish they made them in 140mm.

Any other recommendations or suggestions are welcome. :) My primary goal is to get the GTX 470's fan noise and temperatures under control without making my PC sound like a vacuum cleaner while I'm just browsing the web.